We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carbis Wharf

Carbis Wharf
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roche
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carbis Wharf
Save
You added Carbis Wharf to your Saves list
Carbis | Roche, St.Austell, Roche PL26 8LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Roche B&B and Inns
Munich
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

My Daughter & Son-in-Law booked this place. As we had never been in Cornwall before,
arriving at this place, another B&B type - having seen them all over Europe, did not know what to expect. But my wife and I where VERY pleasantly surprised. It was well appointed and CLEAN
and spacious. Its of the beaten track, yet very central and we traveled right round the coast for a good week, using Carbis Wharf as a base.
Thanks to the owners for a lovely stay. HIGHLY RECOMMENDABLE!!!
Otto Ehrensberger - Munich

Room Tip: Discuss with the owners who are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Last chance saloon!! Should've booked something, but - then I wouldn't have found this place.
Tucked away in the backwater behind Roche, near St Austell, it's a lovely conversion of an old mining works. Lots of wood and new fittings make it clean, new and welcoming.
The only downside is the noise transmission through the walls etc; but it's not unbearable and not over intrusive.
Breakfast was a delight.
But even more of a delight were the people running about making sure the guests were happy and settled. The atmosphere was brilliant with great banter.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I stayed as a B&B guest in Sptember, I have also stayed in the holiday cottages, and will return next time I'm in Cornwall. The rooms are of a very high standard, and the family who own the business are always effecient and friendly. I had a very comfortable stay and recommend Carbis Wharf to anyone staying in Cornwall.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

My family & I (parents, husband and 2 young children) had to find accommodation in the area at very short notice (at 9.30 at night after having to leave the hotel we had booked as it was too appalling to stay in). Anne provided a twin room for my parents and a unit (double room and a twin room) for us which catered perfectly to our needs. The rooms were beautifully finished and reflected the sympathetic renovations the 'wharf' has undergone.
Breakfast was lovely, and served in a beautiful dining room.

A true family concern, Carbis Wharf proved a real hidden gem. Thanks to Anne & family for taking us in at such short notice and averting a disaster!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

A great spot - a little out of the way but so central to everything in Cornwall. Anne, the host, is delightful and we felt very welcome and comfortable.
Recommend a trip down the road to the Bugle Inn for a pub dinner... and only about 15 minutes to Padstow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Ideal location for Cornwall's main attractions. Fabulous accommodation, exceptionally clean and very well set out. We had a double bed with a single bed in the room and an en suite (huge) bathroom together with the usual; tv and hospitality tray, table & comfy chairs. Lovely communal lounge area upstairs with dining area for breakfast. Breakfast was varied (from fruit, cereal, yoghurts etc., to full english) and was delicious. The outside has been renovated to a very high standard and provides a different place to wander around and have a seat outside. We had a lovely stay over 2 nights and would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone considering visiting Cornwall.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

After reading the reviews on trip advisor and doing some more research I decided to book Carbis Wharf for two nights for myself and a friend as it has the most history.

The building is absolutely stunning and the rooms are beautiful. Our room was extremely spacious, spotless and very well decorated. The beams in the ceiling and wroght iron bed added to the charm even more. In the morning the breakfast was well cooked and the hospitality of Mrs Coad and her family was fantastic. They helped us immensly with planning our trip to the Eden project.

I would highly recommend this B&B.

One point to note - if you are feeling quite active then you can actually walk to the Eden Project from the B&B. It is 7 miles there but the walk is absolutely beautiful as you follow the Clay trails and see some fantastic scenery.

  • Liked — The beauty and history of the building
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carbis Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carbis Wharf

Address: Carbis | Roche, St.Austell, Roche PL26 8LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roche
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Carbis Wharf Hotel Roche
Carbis Wharf Roche, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carbis Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.