We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner is an excellent man. Great waterfall tour... well worth the price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Ecologica Cerro la Vieja

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penonome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada Ecologica Cerro la Vieja
Save
You added Posada Ecologica Cerro la Vieja to your Saves list
Corregimiento de Chiguiri, Penonome, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Penonome B&B and Inns
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The owner is an excellent man. Great waterfall tour... well worth the price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

My recent visit to this hotel was one of the best hotel experiences of my life! I went with two of my colleagues and friends. We drove "the scenic route", which I highly recommend, going through Anton's Valley (El Valle de Anton), past Chorro El Macho, left turn past Las Nubes and follow that breathtaking road through all it's ups and downs, through the low clouds, across several small rivers (4WD required) and finally we arrived to our destination, which was far more beautiful than we ever imagined.

We were informed by the hotel's front desk that the fee for visiting the waterfall was $3 per person. It sounded reasonable at the time but it was not until we arrived to the waterfall that we realized what a bargain we had received. The hotel has built a path complete with railings for a safe walk through the forest to a landing where we observed one of the most beautiful natural waterfalls that we had seen. There are benches for comfortable sitting and you can swim in the beautiful waters beneath the waterfall. The mist coming off the waterfall is charged with negative ions, the breathing of which helps the body to detoxify itself (since most toxins are positively charged, they marry together with these negative ions from the waterfall and the newlywed couple are easily flushed from the body). The area is kept immaculately clean by the hotel staff.

After swimming and lounging in and around the waterfall for about two hours, we hicked back up the path to the large gazebo that overlooks the falls. The gazebo contains a wet bar and two bathrooms, and several hammocks. We spotted some rare fruits near the hammock and we asked the hotel staff if we could pick some and taste them. The staff member was happy to help us pick the ripest ones and we delighted in the flavor that we had never before enjoyed.
We then spotted an herb garden filled with fresh basil and oregano and rosemary and several other varieties of culinary and medicinal herbs. The staff was happy to offer us a sample of each one. Just then a gentleman calmly approached and identified himself as Alfonso. He was extremely polite and kind and very humble. We would not have guessed that he was the owner of the hotel because he made no arrogant show of authority nor did he act in any way annoyed at the fact that we had only paid $3 to enjoy such a beautiful piece of paradise, built and maintained by himself and his staff. On the contrary, he offered us beverages, use of the gazebo's bathrooms and hammocks, a tour of the grounds, and best of all, a pleasant conversation in which he shared his knowledge of organic farming and best construction practices, which are both interesting topics to my colleagues and I, since we are in the same business as he. He even spoke very highly of other hotels and hotel owners in Anton's Valley.

Alfonso's staff showed us the spa at the hotel and Alfonso himself took us on a tour of the two suites near the gazebo, which overlook the waterfall. Each of these decadent suites has a private kitchen and a private shower that looks directly to the waterfall. These are my favorite hotel rooms in all of Panama! I like them even more than my own hotel!

If you have the chance to visit the hotel, please do so. You will not regret it. You most certainly will not forget it! It is an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We went there to have this wonderful adventure at this so called eco hotel. There were eight of us in two vehicles going up to the mountains to explore this so called wonderful place that a childhood friend had been talking up. He happens to be a high ranking member of the Province's Public Defender's office, along with his mother, a retired school principal, a department of education administrator, a national bank manager, family and friends.
Upon our arrival the manager started yelling at us (Not talking) not to walk around the grounds of the hotel, and so on. It was not only embarrasing but extremely humiliating for my friend who wanted this place to be a highlight of outr trip; we had been traveling all over the country. This was one of the last stops and by far the worst treatment we recaived during a week of travel.
In addition to the supreme rudeness of the hotel management, we observed local patrons being chanrged ($3 per person) for sightseeing a naturally occuring water fall and brook that the hotel clearly did not own. This is very wrong in multiple lev els because the formation is natural and they had no right to charge anyone for what is rightfully not theirs. This hotel brings nicle and diming of the guests to a new low.
Personally I do not like to see people taking advantage of guests the way this hotel clearly displayed thoughout our visit. This place was far and away the biggest disappointment we had while traveling across the wonderful country of Panama.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed here during the rainy season, and for two days had the place to ourselves!
Getting there was very interesting, and the location is really off-the-beaten-path. We did a lovely hike to a waterfall, and it was very cool to see the locals and how they lived.
The resort has a restaurant. It was certainly not the best food, but it did its job of nourishing us after hikes, etc. I'm a vegetarian, and they had a very acceptable tofu dish.
Since it was off-season, the spa services didn't seem as plentiful as indicated on the spa menu..although the spa location was nice, looking out at mountain scenery.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

Perched overlooking a stunning vista of jungle covered hills, Posada la Vieja is a relaxed and welcome retreat.
With warm and friendly staff, comfortable rooms and good food, not to mention an excellent spa, will delight local and foreigner alike.
In the area there are a few attractions including a waterfall and organic farm, but for those just wishing to relax in the cool of the highlands, there is no better place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

I stayed at Posada La Vieja over the Easter weekend and once I got to the grounds, was taken aback. The hotel is beautiful, very clean, views are spectacular no matter where you find yourself. I especially loved that there were no phones or tvs in my room so it makes it more like a get-away and you find yourself wanting to explore of this great country (there is a rec. room with a tv, dvd player, pool table, ping pong table, books, ect, in case you prefer this type of entertainment). You also have access to free wifi in the hotel "lobby". The only complain I have is that the only restaurant in the area, the one in the hotel, has no "a la carte" menu. It is a one meal buffet style thing for lunch and dinner and if you don't like what they serve at that moment, you're stuck. The prices of the meals are $12 per person and isn't bad if you had a choice of what you want to eat, but to be forced to eat something you don't want for that price is not something I enjoy. One day I had to drive to the city of Penonome, which is about a 30 minute drive, just to be able to have find something to eat....to find choices. One night, the restaurant buffet offered spaghetti with either meatballs or chicken (I don't eat spaghetti), the other day they offered chicken in white sauce with rice. I think the hotel would highly benefit by offering choices in the only restaurant...this would make the hotel the PERFECT get-away.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

This is nice spot for a relaxing few days - some hiking, birding, a few spa treatments. Like being at an adult summer camp.

We had a great room on the second floor of one of the new buildings. I think it was one of their premium rooms. A great king bed, spacious room, and lovely balcony overlooking forest. We watched a sloth just beyond our balcony one day. The staff was very nice.
The dining room was summer camp - and food was tasty local buffet. Nicely cooked. We enjoyed a spa services. Unfortunately our am hike with on site guide was a bit of a bust because it was wet and muddy on the local trail. Nevertheless we managed to see lots and lots of birds just walking the road from the lodge to the little town (Chiguiri?).

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
347 hotel reviews
Reviews in 346 cities Reviews in 346 cities
717 helpful votes 717 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

This place used to be known as the Trinidad Spa, and that's how it still appears in most of the guidebooks. They still offer some great spa services at decent, but less fantastic prices (a massage is about 50 bucks).

The lodge itself is quite atmospheric, perched on a hill overlooking the rainforest. Rooms are large, basic but comfortable. I found the food to be a little disappointing, but quite inexpensive given the remote location (a complete dinner was $12). The lodge offers some nice private tours at very inexpensive prices. Don't miss the opportunity to see and swim in their cascada (waterfall), which is exactly as you might imagine a jungle waterfall to look.

The road to the hotel is now completely paved (with some decent sized potholes) and is a fairly easy ride if you have a basic map and general sense of direction.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Ecologica Cerro la Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Ecologica Cerro la Vieja

Address: Corregimiento de Chiguiri, Penonome, Panama
Location: Panama > Cocle Province > Penonome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Penonome
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Posada Ecologica Cerro La Vieja Hotel Penonome
Posada Ecologica Cerro La Vieja Panama/Penonome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Ecologica Cerro la Vieja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.