We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zuider Zee Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Zuider Zee Guest House to your Saves list
Zuider Zee Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   55 Fairway Drive | Near Ballito, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Salt Rock B&B and Inns
Algarve, Portugal
1 review
“Brief stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Zuider Zee was an ideal location for our last couple of days in South Africa. The room was comfy with easy access to everywhere we needed to go and walking distance to beaches and restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mtunzini
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The service was excellent - friendly and very accommodating, we were made to feel at home. The room was clean, but it's might be time for an upgrade on linen. The view is stunning seaview. It is ideally situated in close proximity to the beach and only 4km from central Ballito and restuarants!The security of the property was a comforting factor that it is remote controlled.Will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the Zuiderzee Guesthouse. We received a warm welcome from the owners. We had a great view on the Indian Ocean from the Tree tops cabin and we were able to relax and wind down during our stay. It's a great place for self-catering and they serve an excellent breakfast as well,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My Fiance and I were very happy with our stay. The room was beautiful and clean. The breakfast was fantastic. We will definitely recommend Zuider Zee Guest house for our guests at our wedding and we will definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pta
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The view on the ocean is very nice

* on a request about pre-prepared extra bed (for a late arrival), the reply was "you get what you pay for"
* no clue about allergic pillows
* no.of cups, forks did not account for a paid for extra guest

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonandtjitske, Owner at Zuider Zee Guest House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Unfortunately the guest informed us the day before arrival that the third person was an adult not a child, and the policy on the sleeper couch in this unit is children under 12 only. We do not make up the sleeper couch as it is in the lounge area and normally guests watch TV before sleeping! compounding the situation was the fact that the guests arrived extremely late at night. All our pillows are allergy free and on booking the guest did not refer to any specific allergies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a good, well equipped, log cabin; and we enjoyed a good breakfast; all in quiet and pleasant surroundings; but our hope of having a morning on the beach disappeared in the rain; and we had to move on to visit family in Howick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful views of the Indian Ocean, good service, clean room and warm attention of the owner. The breakfast is good, self-service buffet with variety. This Guest House has its own parking lot. I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zuider Zee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuider Zee Guest House

Address: 55 Fairway Drive | Near Ballito, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Salt Rock
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Salt Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zuider Zee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zuider Zee Guest House offers four Comfortable Private Guest rooms with en suite bathrooms, B&B or Self catering, and two Self catering Log Cabins. Enjoy the panoramic sea views overlooking the valley below and the beach of Salt Rock embracing the warm Indian Ocean. All the Rooms have their own individual character in style and decor, DSTV, Ceiling fans, fully kitted out Kitchenettes and verandas with Braai/BBQ facilities, Serviced daily , and offering home-away-from-home’ European Hospitality. WiFi Hotspot. .English and Dutch spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zuider Zee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zuider Zee Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.