We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azura Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Azura Restaurant
60 Basil Hullet Drive, Salt Rock, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Salt Rock
Cuisines: African, European, Malaysian, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food was awesome! We weren't expecting much but the four of us tasted each others food and were amazed at how good it ALL was.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant experience we have had on the North Coast.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We start off by having to send cocktails done poorly with little mint no lemon (mojitos) 3 times. Then we had to take the children to the toilet and were upset. One father was trying to get all his children through one toilet, he said they couldn't use the mens toilet as it was too dirty. Dirty floors, no hygienic hand towels, only 2 soiled wet towels left for all to use. On return to our table, the waitress was balancing drinks for another table on my chair! She didn't seem to think it necessary to stop once I had returned so I had to ask her for my chair back so that I could sit! She gave me a look as if I'd done something wrong! Then our food arrived. A full portion of prawns at full portion turns out to be 6 prince prawns which would suffice as a starter portion elsewhere. Apparently they were meant to be queens. The kids ordered sushi and again the portion was so small it wasn't even enough for kids. All the while our table hadn't once had drinks cleared, not once did our waitress return to top drinks up, no basket or refresher towels given with the prawns until after the plates were finally cleared? Then she brings a basket for the prawn shells which already have been cleared! After telling the manager about the awful experience, no effort was made to compensate us. You leave with a distinct impression that the owners are trying to squeeze too much out while offering very little in terms of value and service. This restaurant should also be checked for hygiene, floors and bathrooms were filthy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bicester
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a good meal here: tried a 'prego' fillet and a chicken curry and both were good. Lots of friendly staff and prompt service

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The outside balcony is a lovely entertainment area. Food was good, we tried the steak with blue cheese sauce, which was delicious. Sushi is also freshly prepared. Espetada, fish, and full chicken also recommended. Nice vibe, good service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Easy going family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Decent food, well enjoyed by all. Kids enjoyed the sushi. Service can be a lot better and more attentive, with waiters having to be flagged down to order. Owner was friendly and welcoming and really keen on motivating kids to eat with offers of ice cream and sweets. it worked

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azura Restaurant also viewed

Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Azura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azura Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.