We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Azura Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Azura Restaurant
60 Basil Hullet Drive, Salt Rock, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Salt Rock
Cuisines: African, European, Malaysian, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wilderness
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We enjoyed the food very much but found sitting on the patio a little unsettling as my sister is 85 and prefers sitting in a cosy restaurant. We could of asked to sit inside though so it really was not the fault of the restaurant. Waited a little longer than usual but the food was worth the wait.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Portuguese food,very well priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our trip to Azura was a spur of the moment decision.I had read good reviews on the place in the local papers So we chose Azura to catch up with some friends.We were a table of 6.When I made the reservation,Ivan the manager informed me that there was a private birthday party scheduled for the evening.That was very considerate of him.As a result the loud music did not bother us.In fact it just added to the evening as the DJ played some great music.
The staff were friendly,the service good.The booking was handled efficiently.
The sushi was average,we are big sushi eaters so that makes one more critical. 2 of us had the Peri peri chicken.The chicken was succulent and done to perfection.My friend had the chicken & prawn combo and the guys all had the 6 Tiger prawns peri peri.All the meals were fingerlicking delicious.The ladies all chose not to have the chips and we were informed veg was an added side portion but the waitress thought that she could " make a plan".Not certain what she did as the tab was picked up by one of our friends.
Corkage was reasonable so we took along our own wine.Hence I did not look at the wine list.
We will definitely go back to Azura.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have been here a few times, tried a few items in the menu and have always been satisfied. The butternut soup special is not to be missed and their service is very good. The staff are friendly and the sushi is impressive. The venue itself has a casual feel and the sea view is very relaxing. Try the chicken and the curry, you won't be disspointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Good fish dished, you can sit both inside and outside

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spareribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

While staying in Salt Rock we were advised to have dinner at the Azura Restaurant. We were well advised, we sat outside on a lovely evening and enjoyed great spareribs.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azura Restaurant also viewed

Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Salt Rock, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Azura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azura Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.