We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very good hotel on our trip aroound Sicilie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ypsigro Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Ypsigro Palace to your Saves list
Ypsigro Palace
Via Mazzini 2, 90013 Castelbuono, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castelbuono
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very very good hotel on our trip aroound Sicilie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this very good Hotel. It is close to a very nice centre which very worth to visit.
Very nice personel and a very good breakfast.

Good restaurants and a good atmospheer certainly in the evening.

Comming from Trapani airport this is a good place to be (2,5 hour driving) on your round trip on Sicilie.

Visits can be made to Cefalu which is 23 km from CasteBuono.

Room Tip: front view with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    92
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
104
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were travelling through Sicily for 10 days,and usually spent 2days in one place then move on,we have had our share of hotels in that time.
When we got to our room the floor was dirty,dead flies and dust bunnies all over parts of the floor,my husband was going to go back down and tell them,to see if they would brush up,but we done it .
The room was lovely and had a balcony,and was spacious and light.
The breakfast started off with a good choice,but as the time went on,each morning there was less and less,they left trays and plates empty,did not take them away and refresh them.
We did stay in better hotels,but this was only our story,you will have your own I hope it is a good one here,the town and people are lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks at the Ypsigro, which I think was a surprise to the staff, as most people seem to stay one or two nights and move on......well more fool them!! We used the hotel as our base to explore the region, and could not fault it, we had a great room (405) with a balcony overlooking the castle, the breakfast was really good with a good choice of breads jams, yoghurts, fruit, cold meats, cheese etc, certainly not as we expected, given some of the negative reviews. The staff were always friendly and helpful, and it was kept spotlessly clean.
Then of course, there's the location......Castelbueno......it's such a beautiful little town, bustling with life, especially at the weekends, the people so welcoming, that after 2 weeks we felt like locals. Will we visit again?......you bet we will, we fully intend to go back next year, and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else, but the Ypsigro Palace.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a balcony, as those without one seemed a bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Ypsigro Palace is a great hotel! Our room was huge, fantastic shower, balcony and easy parking on the street. The hotel is located right below the castle and from there it is easy to walk all over town. Breakfast was bountiful; yogurt, juice, cornetti, ham and cheese, marmalades and cold cereal. Very clean and the staff is fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Ypsigro Palace. Despite previous negative reviews, the breakfast was really nice, with a relatively large choice of beverages and food. The food was of quality, comparing with other hotels we stayed in. It was easy to park in the street in front of the hotel. Castelbuono has several good restaurants well rated in gastronomic guides and several shops selling interesting local products. The room of the hotel was what you could expect from a 4 star hotel, clean and cosy. Internet was working in our room at the second floor, despite the fact that it was supposedly only working in the lobby. Service was attentive and friendly. Overall, we would return there easily.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor if you want internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st julians
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is an excellent base for those wanting to explore The Madonie region. It has easy parking and is situated 5 minutes walk from the village core. Lots of good restaurants in the area. The rooms are modern clean and warm in winter. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is average. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

i am rather late in writing this review as we stayed at ypsigro palace last summer during our tour of sicily. it is a very pleasant small hotel, right on the edge of castelbuono, therefore it is very easy to walk into and around the historic little town. the hotel is very clean, and the simple rooms are well maintained and comfortable enough, with very new and modern bathrooms. there was a buffet breakfast provided, with a fair variety of cold food available. we were able to park the car on the road opposite the hotel without any difficulty.
i can reccommend the small pizza place across the road from the hotel. the pizzas were huge, delicious, and very cheap. there are also many other restaurants and pizza places in the town, although we didn't use them.
overall, i would reccommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the area. we liked being in the authentic, old town as a base, in preference to the busy, and more commercialised costal town of cefalu. however, anyone choosing to stay here will definately need a car.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ypsigro Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ypsigro Palace

Address: Via Mazzini 2, 90013 Castelbuono, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Castelbuono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castelbuono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expert Tip. The town of Cefalu, 22 kilometres away, offers one of the best beaches in Sicily, with umbrellas and beach chairs for hire. Climb La Roca (the rock) above the town for a fantastic view of the city and to visit Diana's Temple. Porter/bellhop 24-hour front desk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Ypsigro Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ypsigro Palace Castelbuono, Sicily, Italy
Ypsigro Palace Hotel Castelbuono

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ypsigro Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.