We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Santa Anastasia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Santa Anastasia to your Saves list
Relais Santa Anastasia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Contrada Santa Anastasia | Autostrada A20, 90013 Castelbuono, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Castelbuono
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Incredible views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The morning front desk staff was very accommodating.
The property was expansive and very scenic, make sure to bring your camera.
Spent some time poolside, very refreshing.

The road to the property is a bit curvy, but well worth the drive.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a deluxe room...request the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    62
    35
    10
    1
See reviews for
56
138
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I feel a little mean giving this an average score. Perhaps 7/10 would be fairer. First impressions were excellent. Wonderful views,a peaceful haven, helpful receptionist who spoke at least 4 languages fluently. Our superior room was well below expectations, dark, dingy and dated and lacking anywhere comfortable to sit. There are no coffee/tea making facilities and the TV is small and ancient. I agree with other commentators that the hotel is in need of refurbishment. It is not 5 star. The pool area is very good and not lacking in service. The dinners are OK. Service is old fashioned and it's a bit like being on a cruise ship the way that 4 courses are so swiftly delivered. The wines are outstanding. Breakfast was also OK but you were not encouraged to order anything cooked. Indeed we only found out that you could order an omelette for example when we saw someone else eating one. The nearest towns (Cefalu and Castelbuono) are actually 20 minutes away by car and a taxi costs 30 euros each way. We stayed for 5 nights but I think 3 would be enough if you are travelling round the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good points. Lovely, peaceful location high up - should be great in height of summer. Lovely wine - try the more expensive bottles - worth paying for the better bottles here if nowhere else in the world. Interesting tour round the winemaking facilities with very good guide.
Not so good. Prior to trip we upgraded to a suite (this was the last stop after walking holiday, so we were looking forward to relaxing), but it had no views and small windows - just pay extra for additional room which for a couple is pointless as the room is not one you want to retire to or sit around reading or drinking in (I think it was the Syrah room.) The swimming pool had no water. Although they could have done grouting anytime in the months prior to opening, they picked a time when we were there. So we didn't want to sit by the empty pool and watch workmen grout, and the bedroom was not conducive to sitting around in, we were annoyed. The hotel reception staff could only say that they had to do the work sometime (so tough luck that it was when you were here). They were given no guidance by the higher management for how to compensate any guests for the inconvenience and disappointment. It may be 'agriturismo,' but they charge top whack prices and claim to have 5 stars, so how can the management not think of a policy for those guests that are staying. The hotel reception did the best they could and they were as nice as they could be in the circumstances; we got a trip down to the town for the day and a lift back in their hotel vehicle, but really they should have had a response ready to go, not be negotiated with - whoever owns the place gave no guidance to them. Also - small point - but if they want to put 5 stars on their badge, you cannot provide only 'hair and body' wash in the shower. Surely anything that claims 5 stars has separate shampoo, conditioner, body wash etc (this was my wife's point I might add. I wouldn't notice these things)

Room Tip: Not really the Syrah. It has two bathrooms, but the additional room is really so a family of 4 could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

love it , went on honeymoon in july 2012 and it has to be one the most relaxing experiences of my life ! the rooms were well equipt with a bath, shower, bede and toilet complete with robes and slippers. the vineyards and scenery outstanding ! recommend the pony trek through the grounds this was a lovely way to spend the morning and the pool side / area is just lovely . its only downside is it is out of the way a bit you will need a car to explore all that sicilly has to offer and the food at this hotel although very nice can be a bit samey ! the wine especially the litra is gorgeous and the wine tour is worth doing if only to gain a deeper apreciation of the craft and taste . All in all one of the best places we have stayed in . perfect for couples and honeymooners ... would be a bit boring for children .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We just got back after 2 weeks in beautiful Sicily. The first week was a self-guided hike arranged by Inntravel.co.uk. Our long hike (over several days and inns) terminated at the Relais. We walked into heaven as the gates swung out for us as we entered the courtyard. We stayed for 3 nights in a lovely, spotless room overlooking horses grazing and terraced vineyards. The desk staff without exception was outstanding, warm and helpful. The food was downright remarkable (OH! and the WINE! Fantastico!) and abundant (good thing we did all that hiking!). The views from the pool were utterly restorative - as was the pool. I went horseback riding for 2 hours around the vineyard with 2 Sicilian cowboys that were a joy to ride with - despite language shortcomings. Chasing wild pigs and laughing in the light. We'd return in less that a heartbeat. Just go.

Room Tip: They all looked good. But choose a higher floor on the corner - always a good bet. We had "Dolc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hesitated a little before giving five stars. Remember, this is an agriturismo, or speciality lodging, not a hotel! With that in mind, just go there! This is a true gem, very romantic with its beautiful surroundings, wonderful ambience in the historic buildings, fantastic staff - all very helpful, good food. So, now on to more details. We stayed at the Relais Santa Anastasia for 11 nights. Arrived in the evening and started with a late dinner at the restaurant. Actually, there are two. One open for breakfast and lunch, and one for the evenings. Both often arrange meals for people celebrating weddings, anniversaries, birthdays. It is a popular place for a lunch, with the stunning views over the coastline and the islands in the distance, surrounded by mountains and vineyards. We found the meals in the restaurant good, but not excellent. It is convenient, so you don't have to drive anywhere in the evening, and while good, even better food can be found elsewhere. The wines come from the Abbazia Santa Anastasia - this is agriturismo, so the relais is part of the wine company with cellars next door and vineyards all around. We had a nice room, all have names of grapes, ours was perricone. Room was spacious, equipped with an extra bed/lounge. From some of the other rooms (there are 29) there are views over the coastline, while ours overlooked the garden and courtyard. Bathroom was well equipped (photos tell you more). Room was clean, of course, as were all other areas of the relais. Noise from neighbouring bathrooms is a slight drawback. There was a terrace with pool and several lounges. Staff at reception were very helpful, giving us driving directions, restaurant recommendations in nearby Castelbuono, Cefalù and also in Taormina (great!!), maps, assistance in making reservations, doing the internet flight check-in etc etc. Most of the employees speak English and/or German, and there is especially one lady, working in the reception, who is fluent in five languages! Breakfast buffet is OK - but you have the possibility of getting fried eggs, scrambled eggs, omelette, freshly squeezed orange juice and all kinds of coffees, espresso etc free of charge, but you have to order it. Most order coffee, and never realize that there are so many other choices available! Sometimes, there is a menu placed on the tables, but often not. On the grounds of the Santa Anastasia it is also possible to go for a couple of hikes. However, they are also helpful in providing maps for the surrounding Madonie mountains, so the really experienced hiker have something also for them! A visit to the wine cellar is also possible, and remember, they are not only ecological wine producers, they are also one of the top 10-15 of Sicily! Treatments like facials, manicure or pedicure can also be booked (in advance). Horse riding can also be arranged. In the summertime, the relais can offer entrance to a beach club in Cefalù, or you can stay by the pool. This time of year, we could spend some time by the pool and a couple of days on the beach (beach club opens in season, which approx is from June 1). If we weren't married already, we would celebrate our wedding there - maybe we'll come back and celebrate a future anniversary?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We spent 4 days at Relais Santa Anastasia, as part of a Spring holiday in Sicily. What a wonderful property – an absolute gem in Castelbuono!

From the first moment we entered the relais (an old abbey – very tastefully rebuilt), we felt very welcome and relaxed. Everything is very clean inside and around the relais, food quality is superb (both breakfast and dinner), and wine quality is very good. Service is friendly and very helpful, both at the reception and in the restaurants. The views over the Castelbuono hills are superb, and the relais is hidden away amidst acres of olives and wine fields.

This is by far the best place ever we have stayed at in Sicily. Only one minor comment: room walls are rather thin, so ask for a room in a quiet location if you want absolute silence during mornings/evenings.

Highly recommended relais!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Santa Anastasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Santa Anastasia

Address: Contrada Santa Anastasia | Autostrada A20, 90013 Castelbuono, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Castelbuono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Castelbuono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Santa Anastasia 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais Santa Anastasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Santa Anastasia Castelbuono, Sicily, Italy
Relais Santa Anastasia Hotel Castelbuono

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Santa Anastasia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.