We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like fungi...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nangalarruni

Nangalarruni
Via Delle Confraternite 10, 90013 Castelbuono, Sicily, Italy
+39 0921 671228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Castelbuono
Price range: $30 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“If you like fungi...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

...this is the place for you. Even if you don't, plenty of great alternatives though it is famous for its fungi especially the porcini that grow round about (mainly October/November time I think) . Great, intimate, atmosphere, and although rushed off his feet this December lunchtime, excellent service - with "a smile". We were there with some friends and had a variety of dishes, both antipasti and mains (primo/secondo) and all were excellent in terms of presentation and taste. Good selection of wines. Sweets were fine, though perhaps limited, but cannoli, though not on the menu, was available for the asking!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    107
    39
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asti, Piedmont, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great food, service and wines. Try the pork with orange sauce!
It has so many recommendations, Slow Food, Michellin, Gambero Rosso, too many to count!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmushrooms......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I was determined to eat here after reading good reviews, but we struggled to find it, tucked away on a side street off a square. It didnt really look open, but once we found our way in there were a few other people enjoying a weekday lunch. My mushroom starter was huge - also containing spinach and topped with some delicious local cheese. When my main course came, I had to ask for a container to take most of it away to enjoy it again for my tea. They even apologised for the 'lorry driver' portions! But this isn't quantity over quality - this is really top quality stuff, you just need a hearty appetite. Lots of fresh local ingredients, combined into wholesome tasty dishes. Its in a scenic town in the mountains too, so well worth a trip out from Cefalu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A memorable lunch while on the road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

En route from Taormina to Palermo, we made a brief detour from the autostrada for lunch at Nangalarruni in Castelbuono. The service was attentive and the atmosphere was very Old World, but it was the food that was most memorable. We had the wild boar with a pistachio crust, which was excellent, as was the spaghetti with mushrooms and sweet onions. House red wine was a perfect pairing. Worth the detour if you are traveling Sicily's northern coast.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Interesting Sicilian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This charming and cozy spot services up some lovely dishes. The services is very friendly and the menu is packed with dishes made from locally grown vegetables and more. The offer a fixed price selection and individual plates --everything we tried was wonderful and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nangalarruni also viewed

Castelbuono, Province of Palermo
Castelbuono, Province of Palermo
 
Castelbuono, Province of Palermo
Castelbuono, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Nangalarruni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nangalarruni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.