We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget accomodation with 5 star location and staff :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Palma Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Palma Apartments to your Saves list
Villa Palma Apartments
Sehit Ahmed Benler Cad. No:2, Armutalan 48700, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Armutalan B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“budget accomodation with 5 star location and staff :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

villa palma is budget accommodation, we paid 288 quid for a week, you couldn't get a caravan in skeg for that!! I did expect the worst after reading the reviews but was pleasantly surprised, the apartment was absolutely massive! two bedrooms, two toilets, a huge living room, huge kitchen and two balconys! this is my first visit to turkey, after holidaying in Greece for years I found the Turkish standard to be much higher. Osman and his staff were welcoming, polite full of local information and would make me recommend villa palma to anyone. The location is beautiful, very quiet but a short dolmas ride away from the madness and brilliance that is marmaris!!. best holiday I have ever had, a fabulous mix of serenity ( the call to prayer was beautiful), mad nights out and scenic boat trips. thankyou Osman and staff for my first introduction to turkey, you have ensured my return!! xx

Room Tip: ask for a two bedroomed apartment, at least two balconies and absolutely massive!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    3
    1
    9
See reviews for
17
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

do not go here.
when I arrived at villa Palma, I was disgusted to the point where someone I was with spent the entire night trying to find somewhere else to stay, the condition of the rooms is absolutely outrageous. The floors were dirty, the bed sheets and mattresses were stained from previous customers, the doors to the balconies did not lock, and the electrics were temperamental, we all felt incredibly unsafe staying here.
The owner came and went, only stopping for an hour or so to sunbathe and swim, and was of no help when we asked him about to locks in our apartment, he was also very rude to the bar staff, gettin g them to do things like put away his laptop and put it in his car for him, bring him whatever he wanted at a click of his fingers, stop whatever they were doing to serve him, his wife or his very young daughter, there was just no respect what so ever. We also booked a trip through his friend, and ended up with something completely different to what we paid for- this was unacceptable.
on a couple of the days, a huge group of people were invited to use the pool by the owner, and there werent enough sunbeds for the people actually staying at Villa Palma
people were overcharged at the bar, and orders were ignored

This is not just "basic", it's a health risk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just returned from hell woops I mean villa palma. had the worst two weeks of my life. dirty apartments live wires hanging everywhere ants and rough cooking facilities. the small oven had a foot missing. the only cup had no handle the saucepan was dirty the shower was dirty and full of hairs. the toilets did not flush properly the floors were dirty and dusty. two glasses one was cracked the pillow case was ripped the bed cover had blood on it. on the whole this place should be closed down. the pump by the pool stopped working so the pool got dirty and as for Osman he was only happy when you paid twice the price for food and drinks at his bar. there was also a young child working there that served up the cocktails he looked about twelve. he became the local spy checking on us in case we bought our own water to the pool side. my bed was changed only once in two weeks and only because I was able to catch the cleaner. who never cleaned at all. one saucepan three plates one cup one glass this was meant to be self catering. also observed Osman picking his nose and wiping his hands on the swing chair.his wife was moody and very unhelpful.she had just found out she was expecting another girl this put her and Osman in a rotten mood all week will never stay there again. in fact its put me off turkey for life!

Room Tip: don't go to villa palma unless you are on a death wish and feel the need to commit suicide
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the dodgy electrics to the filthy floors it is a struggle to find anything positive to say about these apartments.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in August 2013, after reading the previous year’s reviews we knew to expect basic but what we didn’t expect was filth and neglect. You don’t usually expect your first purchase from the supermarket to be bleach and cleaning products.

The floors were un-swept and I doubt they had been mopped in weeks, the sheets and towels were only changed once, one toilet was unusable due to the dubious stains and broken seat. The bathroom floor was disgusting and the shower tray mouldy (don’t look at the photos if you haven’t eaten yet!!) The kitchen was not in a fit state for cooking and the fridge had definitely seen better days and struggled to do its job. All the furnishings were shabby and worn, missing handles and broken catches. The central light fitting in the bedroom had come away from the ceiling and the mattress was bigger than the base so you were quickly dumped onto the floor if you happened to sit on the wrong side.

More worryingly, none of the balcony doors locked and more than once, blue flashes came from the light switches and water flowed from the AC onto the dressing table.

There was a cleaner, but she obviously struggled to keep the place clean on her own but managed to remember to turn off the air conditioning units daily. On a day to day basis the place is run by 3 young boys who did try to please and worked hard but complaints made to the owner were not rectified and passed back to the boys. I would also say, check your bill as maths didn’t seem to be a strong point!

On a positive note, the pool area is adequate, although shabby and the pool (mostly) clean, the local area was nice and quiet but within a short walking distance from shops and restaurants and we met some lovely families from all over the UK.

It is a shame, as the size of these apartments is great and if money were to be spent, they would have the potential to be fantastic, but it seems that the lack of any concern by the owners and overall neglect has led to what are the worst apartments we have ever stayed in.
I would urge you to stay elsewhere or pack industrial cleaner!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Having just returned from a 2 weeks holiday from Villa Palma I would just like to say how filthy the apartment was. Our apartment was on the 3rd floor. On arrival in the early hours of the morning, we had to wake up the young lad who was fast asleep on the hammock. When shown to our apartment the floors were absolutely filthy and full of hair. The kitchen light didn't work, the toilet roll holders were hanging off the wall, the shower tray was full of mould. During our 2 weeks stay the floors were not swept or mopped once. The maid only seemed to mop the ground floor apartments and did not venture upstairs with her mop!! Our sheets were changed once during our stay, bath towels changed once, (but only had 3 towels for the 5 of us). My daughter had a tea/coffee stain(hopefully) underneath her pillow, this was not changed and the sheet just turned round to the bottom of the bed. The 2 bedroom apartment itself was absolutely huge and had such potential if only it was cleaned and maintained.

The pool area itself was lovely and kept clean with no problem ever getting a sunbed. This was the one redeeming feature of Villa Palma. The only advice I can give is go elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Don't go above ground floor if you want your floor cleaned!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

"We are all going on a summer holiday, no more working for a week or two" ......... As we thought. We were so excited our two week holiday was about to begin. After travelling 12 hours, its midnight..... So looking forward to seeing our apartment.. When.... HORROR.....DISBELIEF.....SHOCK.....TEARS.....greeted us. The three of us couldn't speak, we didn't know what to say. I felt so gutted for our 15 year old daughter, she was so looking forward to her bedroom and holiday.
The young lad, all of 17, who greeted us was nice enough, but we felt how can you moan and complain to him. The owner left him to do everything.
The apartment, don't know where to start....... Stay away unless you like public toilets and dirty showers etc. i had to use the toilet in the dark as i didn't want to look at the room. I had to buy bleach and other cleaning products to clean apartment myself... Good first day of holiday!!
The shower was disgusting, my husband had to unblock the drain and pull out mass of hair...sick.
It did the job and shower stopped flooding the tray and floor. The tiles were rotten throughout, the cubicle doors didn't close, mould everywhere....disgusting again.
The kitchen.....not quite a kitchen, no way tailored for self catering, lack of crockery etc. yes you have a fridge, just lift door and close and pray it stays closed. Never used the tiny hotplate or dangerously looking kettle.
Front room was large, but lacked any furniture we could confidently use as all were fit for the skip.
Such a shame the cleaner didn't clean properly, the light switches were filthy....just needs a wipe with a cloth love....she knows how to make a bed, she did this everyday but little else..
Swimming pool area had health and safety issues..

Residents were great.....area great..... Shame apartment gave wrong impression of Turkey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just arrived home from a 2 week stay at Villa Palma Apartments.Where do i start!Firstly we had a great time because of the people we met there,the family from stoke,the family from the midlands,and the family from london,and most of all minty,many thanks for your company.Now for the apartments,we arrived late at night early morning to be greeted by a teenager who showed us to our room,the room was filthy,.There was 3 of us and only 2 beds,bed linen was at a premium had to resolve this the morning after.Maid service was a joke,towel and bed linen changed at best once a week,apartment had hairs on the floors in all rooms, shower tiles were filthy and that obviously went for the shower basin too, the shower wasnt cleaned at all in two weeks, the kitchen area was grotty as was the fridge, ants on work surface, If you want budget stay here,if you want budget but clean,go elsewhere, basic is fine its only to sleep in and shower in we have no problem with basic thats all you need in a hot country but cleanliness is the issue, by all accounts our appartment was luxurious compared to another familys, and one family barred the use of one of their toilets it was that bad and the other was loose and rocked when you used it. be careful at the bar too, try not to keep a tab, there were issues with being overcharged. Now the pool area was ok, but they seem to have a reoccuring problem with the pump on our last full day it was removed and the pool became filthy, it was rectified by next day, i guess thats bad luck really not a fault with apartments. The Armatulan area its in is lovely its quiet and away from the noise, but its not too far away if you want the town center and the bars. Our advice, look elsewhere, its a shame as it has so much potential but its filthy.

Room Tip: ground floor, as by the time the maid reaches second floor and higher, dont think she can be bothere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Palma Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Palma Apartments

Address: Sehit Ahmed Benler Cad. No:2, Armutalan 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Armutalan
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Armutalan
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Villa Palma Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Palma Apartments Hotel Armutalan
Villa Palma Apartments Turkey/Armutalan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Palma Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.