We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rural location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pomara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pomara to your Saves list
Hotel Pomara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Vittorio Veneto 84, 95041 San Michele di Ganzaria, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely rural location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Located in a small town about 30 miles from Catania, with great views of the countryside. A car is probably essential, though driving in Sicily can be an 'interesting experience' for drivers from other European countries such as the UK. There is plenty of free parking at the hotel. The hotel has large, though basic, clean rooms. The rooms all have air conditioning, which is vital in August. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is fine. The week I was there had a private function on six of the seven nights, but this did not disturb me in any way. The best asset is the swimming pool. It is large, clean and in a great setting with plenty of sun loungers.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    38
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
25
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Our family based ourselves here to tour Eastern Sicily and found the Hotel Pomara very suitable. Rooms were large and clean if a little Spartan. We had some problems with noise from the corridor outside, but solved it with a towel stuffed into the crack. But aside from these quibbles we found the staff friendly, the large outside pool wonderful and dinner (we went the fixed menu) in the restaurant one of the best on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

This is a good value mid range hotel in a small village not far from Caltagirone (well worth a visit in its own right).

The rooms were large, very clean and had a large balcony with extensive views over a verdant valley. The bathrooms were functional rather than luxurious. Likewise the room.

There was a major celebration the night we stayed with the sounds of very enthusiastic and happy children playing late into the evening. I cannot imagine this is a nightly occurance, but it does highlight the popularity of this hotel and restaurant in the locale.

We ate at the hotel and had an excellent meal, very reasonably priced. Our meal was cooked in a wood fired oven and was cooked to perfection. The breakfast, which was included in the rate was good - again nothing "fancy", but more than met our needs.

We enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel represented excellent price value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Hotel is signposted from the town which makes it easy to find. It’s up quite a steep hill with its own car park. The hotel is also used for Sicilian functions which included a Fist Communion celebration on the night we were there making it rather noisy till latish at night with children running round. Our room was of a good size with clean comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet was adequate. Staff and reception were friendly. Another couple tried the hotel restaurant for dinner and said it was very good and they felt good value for money (€40 for two as of May 2011).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

We heard about this hotel from the manager of another hotel we stayed at in Sicily. This hotel is quite nice; clean and quite; and a good value. It is well situated to visit the mosiacs near Pizaaz Armerina and the wonderful town of Caltigirone and it's great ceramics. Our room was clean and quiet. It was a bit "sterile" but certainly quite fine. Nice bathroom. Nice staff.

The high point is eating at the restaurant run by this family. It's right next to the hotel and is the Pomara also. Fantastic food in a warm friendly atmosphere.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pomara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pomara

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 84, 95041 San Michele di Ganzaria, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > San Michele di Ganzaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Michele di Ganzaria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pomara 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the civilization of the eastern Sicily meet the western, there rises the Pomara Hotel, a few kilometres from Caltagirone, "City of Ceramics", and Piazza Armerina, famous for "Villa del Casale" mosaics". The Hotel Pomara, modern in its structure, elegant in its figure and full of comfort, has 39 bedrooms, all with private bath, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, air conditioning, cable radio, color TV, mini bar. The hotel Pomara has also a swimmig pool and a very good Kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pomara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pomara Sicily/San Michele Di Ganzaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pomara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.