We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by the austere facade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Combourg

Chateau de Combourg
23 rue des Princes, 35270 Combourg, France
+33-299-732-295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Combourg
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
skichick09
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the austere facade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The childhood home of a famous French novelist does not mean much to the average English tourist. The chateau appears very gloomy and austere from the outside, but do not let this put you off. Included in the entrance price is a guided tour (available in English) around the inside which reveals a softer home and interesting stories - I will not give anything away just make sure you stop by if in the area.

You can combine the visit with the weekly Monday market in the village all walking distance from the chateau.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but...........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Combourg Chateau is a pleasant place to spend an hour or so, but I have to echo what most contributors say in that the guided tour offers little to non-French visitors.

The story of the chateau is largely based on the life of one its inhabitants, François-René de Chateaubriand who apparently was a romanticist writer. Probably of great interest to the francophone world but (and not surprisingly if the translations of some of his work are anything to go by) not much to many others.

Pity....its a nice looking chateau.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Herded tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Chateau is very impressive but we found tour a little oppressive and too controlled. I accept that the tour guide will conduct tour in French (we are in France), but small leaflet in English is not much help when in tour. Would have liked to be able to make our own way round and pick up info from leaflet in our own time. Too many in our group for confined areas, was happy to get out at end of tour as I hate being cooped up with other humans and told when to come and go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Chateau de Combourg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Found the picturesque small town on market day which was quite pretty. Went back to look at the Chateau a couple of days later. It has limited opening hours and is not advised to take small children. There is a conducted tour of the interior, which is interesting, but the guide did not have much patience with those who had lost interest!!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Enchanting Castle"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I was surprised to read these reviews, I loved the Chateau de Combourg, it was the highlight of our day to visit castles, I thought the history was very interesting and I especially enjoyed the paintings in the rooms along with the furniture. The town is very pretty too.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau de Combourg also viewed

Dol-de-Bretagne, Ille-et-Vilaine
Bazouges-La-Perouse, Ille-et-Vilaine
 
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine
 

Been to Chateau de Combourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Combourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chateau de Combourg to your Saves list