We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hol thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Falfield
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hol thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here during this year's Balloom Fiesta and had a great time.
Lovely clean and airy rooms and fantastic food. All staff were very polite and looked after us very well.
We were here to visit the Fiesta and celebrate a 50th Birthday and really enjoyed our stay. Please pass on our thanks to your restaurant staff who had to deal with 5 women determined to have a good time!! Josh and Joshua were very polite and nothing was too much trouble.
Recommend gettting a dinner bed and breakfast deal through Best Western-great value for money and lovely food.
Thank you very much.
Only downside-a little noisy from the A road but ..........

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main A road-very noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay. I am extremeley pleased you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff concerned. I do hope we are able to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    84
    37
    10
    8
See reviews for
34
100
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night en route to Devon and were extremely pleased with every aspect of the hotel.

Room was spacious with a nice bathroom and breakfast buffet was excellent! Location was fantastic and perfect for an over night stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

stayed over with family on way to cornwell rooms were clean and pleasent towels nice and big and soft good tv, shower very good, breakfast was very nice plenty of choice even for little ones service very good and polite

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

A very nice friendly hotel. We liked our room, had a lovely meal and service was very goodt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is the second time that I have stayed here and I have found it to be a good hotel in a handy location close to J14 of the M5. Very handy for Bristol with plenty of parking and reasonable facilities. The staff are very pleasant and clearly well trained. The hotel is generally in good order although I anticipate that it will require some redecoration work in the not too distant future. Having said that it is clean and the room has the usual amenities - tea/coffee making, tv, shower gel, etc. The food for dinner and breakfast was quite reasonable, It is close to a busy road and so light sleepers may want to ask for a room on the east side.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for posting a review and for your kind comments. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I recently stayed at The Gables to attend a family wedding. The reception area was very nice and the staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room appeared nice at first glance although very small for a double. However after a second look the paintwork was chipped and cracked, the carpet was badly stained and the stitching on the blind was coming undone. First impression of the bathroom was disappointing. The bath panel was cracked, the toilet required flushing at least thee times and the large bore pipe (in full view) under the wash basin was covered in dust and dirt. Also the staff car park was right outside our bedroom window with staff coming and going at odd hours making sleep difficult. On the plus side, the food was excellent. I would not consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for posting a review about your recent visit. Please be assured that all your comments, particularly in regards to the bedroom will be investigated and I apologise for any annoyance and frustration this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice. First time was in 2010 and second time June 2012. Both experiences were directly comparable. The hotel has ample parking, it is clean and has a nice bar. The hotel was clean and rooms comfortable. Incredibly squeaky floorboards in upstairs room.
Food in restaurant was very 'ordinary'. I had deep fried breaded brie which was OK, but the lasagne was a small portion and very dry and unappetising. I didn't complain because I was with a group and a fuss would have been inappropriate on that occasion.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel

Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Falfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Falfield
Falfield Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.