We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the Huntsman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Huntsman Inn

The Huntsman Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Huntsman Inn to your Saves list
The Huntsman Inn
Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Falfield B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at the Huntsman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Excellent lunch menu and very friendly service. Extremely attentive, especially to our grandson. Recommend a visit. Haven't had opportunity to try evening dinner, but I'm sure the same standards would apply.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
12
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Booked as a result of Internet search for an overnight journey stop. Local pub, very convenient for M5. Proved to be excellent choice and will stay again next time I need an overnight in this area. Rooms are well designed, clean and good value. Food is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The 5 or 6 Rooms are very noisy (thin walls u can hear everyone in the other rooms, not to mention loud M5 traffic which gets busy as early as 5am!!
The sirloin steak i had was one of the best i've ever had anywhere .....and i eat ALOT of good quality food!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Whilst staying in the area, we decided to call on Friday afternoon 14th June 2013, the pub was quiet but very warm and welcoming. We decided to book a table for the evening in the restaurant.
I was promised a nice table for myself and my wife.

We came back at 7.30pm, well what a transformation the pub was busy, plenty of atmosphere we had the best table in the pub. To top it all the food was divine, the wine cool and fruity. The staff were very polite and welcoming. Will be calling again. Excellent

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visited the Huntsman today for a lunchtime meal. On the outside the Inn looks very pleasant and welcoming.

Entered the bar, collected some menus and choose a table near the kitchen door.

As we were sitting down, we noticed that the table was crawling with ants!!! This was in the actual restaurant and next to the kitchen. We decided not to order anything.

On speaking to the landlady on our way out, she kindly told us that the ants, "wont hurt you". Not the response i expect from a restauranteur who is displaying a 5-rating for cleanliness!

The shockingly poor attitude towards the hygiene problem means that we will definitely not attempt another visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great welcome at this pub. Having served us drinks the barman gave us menus and told us if we sat down down he'd come over and take our order. The substantial meal was adequate to good pub grub. I'd go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lovely warm welcome on arrival,meals were Luke warm and Land lady was rude and unapolagetic when we found a red layer of meat on our pork dinner, just to be told it was cooked. Will not be goin back and will recomend no one else go there. Very disappointed..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Huntsman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Huntsman Inn

Address: Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Falfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Falfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Huntsman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Huntsman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.