We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty setting for pub grub.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant at The Greyhound Inn

Restaurant at The Greyhound Inn
Llantrissent, Usk NP15 1LE, Wales
+44 (0)1291 672505/673447
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Usk
Price range: $0 - $74
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty setting for pub grub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty place with really nice grounds. When we arrived there were a lot of people sat outside enjoying the weather. It was quieter in the bar and we received a nice welcome. We ate food in the dining area which was small but offered lovely views outside. The food is your typical pub menu: lasagne, fish and chips, sausage and chips etc. but is of a high standard and obviously freshly cooked. Everyone in our party thoroughly enjoyed their meals and at no point did the staff rush us to finish, we were allowed to take our time and chat for as ling as we wanted. After food we asked whether it would be possible to have a look at the rooms available and this was no trouble at all. The rooms were clean and pretty and offered views out on to the gardens. We will definitely be back here again to spend a night!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    16
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Truly Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Bank holiday Monday, well kept beer, home cooked meal. Lovely atmosphere, excellent service. Food slightly spoiled by oven chips and under cooked peas but the overall flavour is well seasoned and dances on the palate.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This pub serves excellent meals using fresh ingredients just like your mum used to make. Not fancy but good wholesome food, one visit will not be enough for you. The chef proprietor Nick is supported by a friendly and efficient staff who will look after your needs. If you do over indulge you can always book a room to sleep it off.
Well worth a detour to sample the food here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly atmosphere, good food, comfortable clean accomodation .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I last visited this pub a couple of years ago , just for a meal but last week I returned with a friend for a short weekend, very pleased with the room , twin bedded as requested, everything as specified, ground floor room with a patio area. A nice clean bathroom and good shower, always important , plenty of hot water,breakfast was included, a breakfast menu was provided with a full choice. There's a very nice dining room, but we chose to eat in the comfy bar area in front of the roaring fire .A very cosy stay! We were very grateful to the friendly, helpful staff.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great setting and log fires”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

stayed here last weekend with my wife
the rooms are great with plenty of room at a good price
the food was excellent having had the patte for starter and the gammon horse shoe for mains
the wife had mushroom starter and had the sirloin beutifully cooked
the breakfast the next morning was also first class

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Greyhound Inn also viewed

 
Usk, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Restaurant at The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at The Greyhound Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.