We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place and a hidden gem in Wales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Usk Castle

Usk Castle
Castle Hill, Usk NP15 1SD, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Usk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Magical place and a hidden gem in Wales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Simply magical and one of my favourite places anywhere. Not part of Cadw so keeps its charm. Owned by a local family who open up their gardens for the locality, charities, church and weddings. If I won the lottery I'd be knocking on their door but is so lovely I think I'd know the answer. A real hidden gem.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    16
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
537 helpful votes 537 helpful votes
“Usk Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This castle is privately owned and this makes it quite special.The views of the town are amazing from the turrets.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a fantastic place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We live very near so pop up to the castle regularly with our children. It is a hidden gem and a great place to visit. They have events on, art exhibitions, concerts but we mainly go for a run about and to let the children explore. Its donation only so we always take some change for them. And there is a fish and chip shop nearby, so can even take your dinner (or a picnic) with you and eat whilst enjoying the view.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A castle like no other...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Forget the usual English Heritage or Cadw castle presentation style (good though they are)--this is something different! A privately-owned castle with quirky features at every turn: wood sculptures, sheep wandering round, chickens--the place is really informal, the only castle we've visited that has a family atmosphere. Add to that the beauty of the site and the great views over Usk and the surrounding countryside. Worth a detour. Entry by donation, which is generous and trusting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great place for a visit and events are good too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Been to Usk castle a couple of times, most recently for an opera event held to raise funds. It was a cracking day out with a picnic in the lower courtyard and a great performance by the entertainers - recommend you check their website for anything being held at the castle if you are in the area.

The castle itself provides great views of the Usk valley and has a wonderful sense of history. Don't miss.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Usk Castle also viewed

 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Usk Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Usk Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.