We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Keys Inn

Cross Keys Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cross Keys Inn to your Saves list
Cross Keys Inn
24 Bridge Street, Usk, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Usk B&B and Inns
CARDIFF UNITED KINGDOM
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding just down the road, what a lovely cosy pub as soon as we walked in we loved it, as we wasnt staying long we didnt find out very much about it but definately will be returning to find out more. anyway when we first arrived we were greeted by a nice warm welcome and smile which was nice and started the day off good because that goes a long way in my opinion, the B&B was clean & tidy. the bedroom was comfortable with Tea & Coffee available and to be honest plenty, the staff were very friendly throughout our stay, Breakfast in the morning was one of the best we ever had. we will certainly be visiting this B&B in the near future. Thank you once again for making us welcome see you soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
15
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Only just got around to taking pen to paper, keyboard whatever. Having spent the day fishing the river Usk is just stunning. I retired to the bar lots of locals very friendly, Had a great night and super breakfast Bri & Nic thanks very much. I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I visited Usk earlier in the year for the day with a view to visiting the Cross Keys Inn for lunch. The reason being that as a child, my father used to bring us here fairly regularly from Cardiff for Sunday Lunch. On that particular day, we stopped in for a drink and then went for a wlak around the few shops before returning for lunch....alas, when we did return an hour later, the place was packed with people eating!! So, we left with a view to returning again another day.

My sister had booked us in to a hotel not far away for NY Eve and we visited the Cross Keys on NY Day for lunch. 2 of the party were hungover.....say no more....but we all ordered food and it was absolutely delicious! Plenty of it and hot and tasty and homecooked.

The fire was roaring and it was just a nice reminder of our childhood over 30 years ago. Despite my sister not finishing her meal - one of the 2 hungover - even she declared how nice it was!

All in all, TOTALLY RECOMMENDED and we have vowed to return in the New Year some time. Great service in an Olde Worlde pub full of character and charm.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The room is nice, but this is by far the loudest accommodation I have ever had. Our room is right over the pub- it feels like we're sharing a room with 50 people. The walls are paper thin, so we can also hear everything going on in the rooms next to us. Stay somewhere else if you want some quiet. Horrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went in (Saturday 12 October) because they were advertising evening meals. We ordered three beers, one "Bob" two Moorlands "Speckled Hen". But when we asked at the bar for food they told us that they weren't serving food.

We enjoyed the beer in front of the blazing log fire, but left because we really needed some food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This nice little pub is right in the middle of Usk The bedrooms are small but full of character with the old beams still in place The breakfast was cooked fresh and
the staff very helpful and obliging The price of drinks was very reasonable and a good atmosphere in the bar Our room was a bit small but we were only staying one night so what the heck bit noisy up until closing time but you have to except that would return again good choice of ales

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a very pleasant 2 night stay in this pub. The pub is very old and full of character and the staff friendly and very welcoming.

Our room was spacious with a flatscreen TV and leather settee. However, not all the rooms are the same size. The rooms was full of character with beams and charming stonework on the ceiling.

The carpet on the stairs was dirty, which alarmed me on arrival, but our room itself was lovely and clean.

Overall a very pleasant stay, we would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Keys Inn

Address: 24 Bridge Street, Usk, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Usk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Usk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cross Keys Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Inn Usk, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Keys Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.