We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get together” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Salmons

The Three Salmons
Bridge Street, Usk NP15 1RY, Wales
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 21 restaurants in Usk
Cuisines: Welsh
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family get together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Saturday 16th November : 4 of us had a wonderful evening meal in the restaurant at the Three Salmons.

Service was pretty good considering they had a large party in shortly after we sat down. The Menu choice is excellent , and we all struggled to choose, with 3 or 4 options high on the list. Food was delicious, beautifully presented and generous portions- with the exception of the scallops. My son ordered this as a starter and he felt the portion was a little mean, but the flavours outstanding.

All in all we had a lovely evening. We have eaten there on many occasions and this one needed to be particularly special - and it was. Thanks to the team.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    26
    25
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Usk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Customer service training required”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I've lived in this area for a long time and the Three Salmons to my mind had always had a good reputation so I was surprised to find average to poor service and food quality when I did dine there on a Friday in July.

I ordered a rump steak rare (> £16) and was disappointed to be served a shrivelled and very well done steak. When I challenged the waiter, his sharp and verging on rude response was "have you tried cutting it open? - it should be red inside"

How disappointing. Fortunately there are other places to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool Wales uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just spent 40 the wedding anniversary at 3 Salmons. Room was lovely and cosy with queen sized bed and very clean. Staff could not have been more attentive. Restaurant had lovely atmosphere and had been updated since last visit. The food was of a very high standard and cooked to perfection. Very good service all round and we were made to feel really special. Reasonably priced for superior room, dinner and breakfast package. £160.00 .
Thankyou to all the staff who are professional and friendly .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The superior rooms are nice. We liked the beds and the bath.

The staff was a little cold.

The food was good but a bit expensive. The Indian down the street was very good and quite cheap.

It was a little pricy for what it was. We stayed in a fabulous, beautiful hotel in Bath for less. This isn't special enough to pay that much for.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Expected More”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked for the restaurant and expected it to be busier (being a saturday) but there was only one other table occupied. The bar area was quite full and therefore I think we got forgotten in the restaurant as we had to attract the attention of a waiter to remind them we still had had the drinks we ordered!! The food was mediocre and overpriced. With hindsight we should've stayed in the bar area where there was more atmosphere and the same menu was available.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Salmons also viewed

Usk, Monmouthshire
Usk, Monmouthshire
 
Usk, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Three Salmons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Salmons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.