We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent All-Inclusive Short Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RV Hotel Ametlla Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added RV Hotel Ametlla Mar to your Saves list
RV Hotel Ametlla Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urbanizacio del Roques Daurades Cala Bon Capo, 43860 L'Ametlla de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Excellent All-Inclusive Short Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Having only booked the hotel 48 hours before arriving, I didn't know what to expect other than the hotel looked nice & offered a good range of services.

Yes, the hotel is quite remote, located a mile from the closest village. Yes, you might need a car for the transfer from the airport. Yes, the hotel is quiet and caters for families & the older generation. But, for me, that was the charm & exactly what I wanted - A safe, relaxing, quiet but yet fun environment for my wife & two children.

And the best thing about the hotel?! A complete lack of British people moaning about everything! Whilst communication wasn't always easy, when in Spain.... Deal with it!

From start to finish, the staff made our holiday relaxing. An easy check-in & lovely views from the balcony of a clean, functional room. No English TV?! Do the Spanish moan that they can't get Spanish TV in London?? If you want Sky, stick to Benidorm or Lloret de Mar, you're welcome to it.

Our all-inclusive package gave us three meals per day, where the buffet style presentation gave a nice range & plentiful supply of foods to suit all the family. The staff in the restuarant & bar were courteous and efficient, supplying drinks & ice creams throughout the day.

The garden & pool areas of the hotel are well maintained, clean and safe. A large swimming pool, a childrens pool & spa pool were permanently supervised by a lifeguard, and the Childrens Club (multi-lingual staff) and on-site playground gave my children a good variety of ways to amuse themselves without being reliant on their parents.

In the evenings, the large bar & entertainment area were a nice, civilised place to spend time with your family, basically the Spanish socialising with no 'beered-up Brits' rolling around.

Yes, the beach could be better, but with three pools, a playground and a childrens club, it didn't really matter and I've encountered far worse beaches elsewhere.

Overall, I consider the hotel to be a great 'find' & perhaps I shouldn't post a review for fear of encouraging UK travellers to try it, but credit where credit is due & I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    132
    158
    71
    65
See reviews for
306
98
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

A large, elegant hotel, splendid garden and direct access to small beach. Excellent bar facilities. All rooms have sea view. Noise well under control. Does look at first as it deserves its 4 star status.
You should however be aware of two bad experiences we (and others we spoke to) had:
- food lukewarm at best, never hot.
- an nauseating (sewers) smell in some (bath)rooms that they didn't seem to be able to cope with.
Not something to go back to.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

I would like to write about my experience with Hotel Amettla Mar located in Urb. Roques Daurades Cala Bon Capó 43860 L’Ametlla de Mar.
I was there in June, 10th-19th, 2009, with my son of 9 years and a group of friends (families) with their children, in total, 25 people out of which 12 where children with ages between 5 to 16 years.
The hotel is shown as 4*, but it is far away from this quality, at least in regards to the amenities they provide.
This is a hotel for old people, mainly retired, or for families with very small children (1-2 year).
Although the manager was listening to our complaints and she promised to do her best to solve some of them, she was, unfortunately not so empowered to do so.
The swimming pool should have had a bar opened, the sun beds were without umbrellas, we couldn't play too much in the swimming pool, not to disturb the old ladies sitting around.Also, no music was on and although she promised to start it, someone was keep shutting down the installation.
The beach was not very clean and with small rocks, same in the water. Ok, she said that the beach was not owned by the hotel, but the village City Hall was responsible for cleaning it. In my view, I don't care who is responsible to clean, just to have clean places and enjoy my vacation, not to go away from the hotel, just to find better ways of spending my time which should have been one for resting and enjoying the time with my son and my friends. I would've hated this hotel if was alone there, only with my son and husband.
The rooms were not very large, but the view was great. Also, the cleanliness was not very good and the TV had only few programs in Spanish, CNN and Eurosport being hardly to be watched.
We also requested to have some table arranged for our group for evening, but the restaurant Chef refused.
There are lot of other not so nice things to be mentioned, but simply said, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to people that want to have fun and good bath in the see. You also need a car to go there.
The city is kind of village and I don't have much to say.
They have some small shops, but don't have variety of products in there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

First the bad points-Hotel in the middle of nowhere. We walked an hour before finding any shops, and then there wasnt much. Hotel shop rarely open. Rooms not as described. No iron or ironing board, very basic with no tea/coffe making facilites. Beds large but very hard like sleeping on a pile of bricks. There was nowhere in the hotel that you could get a drink until breakfast opened and you were not allowed to take drinks from the restaurant out, so if you wanted tea/coffee after breakfast on the patio you couldnt. Hotel staff would serve Spanish before us and we were the only Brits in the whole place. One time with just two people waiting to be served before us it took 20 mins for us to be served our drinks as they served the Spanish as they came up to the bar. No snack bar, even if we wanted to pay and lots of things not included, in fact is was more like fullboard and not allinclusive. Beach looked dirty and the rules were very strict in the pool, so if you have children who like to take the large rubber rings or lilos in the pool be warned they are not allowed.
Now for the good points-the hotel caters for the Spanish and at night you can hear a pin drop as it is very quiet. We were quite amused to see all the OAPs rushing for the lifts at 10.30 with only a handfull of guests left to enjoy the Spanish version of line dancing. Only Spanish music played. Plenty of sunbeds and we didnt have to rush to put our towels out on the beds. Plenty of choice in the restaurant, but food all completly Spanish and sometimes difficult to know what you were eating, and wasnt very hot. Hotel very clean and rooms spotless, sheets changed daily. If you are looking for a peaceful holiday (although they do talk loudly around the pool) typically Spanish in the middle of nowhere then this is the place for you. If you have a young family, or teenagers or want to party, then choose somewhere else. It suited us as we were a group of 4 40ish mums celebrating Jackies 40th birthday and wanted a complete rest doing nothing, I wouldnt go back to this area as I found the Catalans quite agressive and there wasnt anything close to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanley Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Stayed here with the teenage children aged 14 and 12 .
The hotel was basically in the middle of no where.The beach was not sand it was nasty gravel.The pool was freezing .The food was cold ,it had to be microwaved at every meal time .
The reception staff spoke no English and were quite rude and unhelpful.The rooms were very basic ,not the star rating it shows I did not think .Entertainment was poor no english speaking entertainment whatsoever.We had to drive daily to Salou for a beach and an atmosphere.I would not recommend this hotel to anyone with children or looking for a nice beach.There was no where to walk to either.Will not be returning .

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the hotel
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

Stayed for 4 nights during April 2007. Rooms and amenities were excellent. Geared more towards Spanish guests, which was a bonus as no drunks etc. Offer various packages B+B, half/full board and all inclusive. Lovely balcony overlooking beautiful bay, which is lit at night.

  • Liked — Amenities
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RV Hotel Ametlla Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RV Hotel Ametlla Mar

Address: Urbanizacio del Roques Daurades Cala Bon Capo, 43860 L'Ametlla de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Terres de l'Ebre > L'Ametlla de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in L'Ametlla de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — RV Hotel Ametlla Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover in Costa Dorada this privileged beachfront resort, situated in a magnificent environment perfect for families, surrounded by wide gardens and with direct access to a small cove. The hotel offers you, daytime and nightlong entertainment for adults and children all over the year. Direct access to the beach from the gardens of the hotel, Spa with jacuzzi, indoor swimming pool, sauna, Turkish bath, gym, and massages, in an incomparable environment, perfect for enjoying the best holidays of your life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your RV Hotel Ametlla Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ametlla Mar Hotel
Hotel Ametlla Mar
Ametlla Mar l De
RV Hotel Ametlla Mar Spain/Tarragona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RV Hotel Ametlla Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.