We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price--but hard to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo to your Saves list
Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cami de Can Gordi, 15 | Pol. Ind. Cañ Gordi - Can Català, 08403 Granollers, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Granollers
Fairfield
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Good value for the price--but hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is pretty much your standard European holiday inn express--so you should know what to expect.
We liked it for the value and the price, especially for the Barcelona area. I believe we paid 59 Euros per night for two adults and a teenager including breakfast and free parking, in a safe area, that's very hard to beat. Therefore, I would definitely stay here again.
To be more specific about our experience: Our biggest problem was finding the hotel. The directions given by the hotel are frankly entirely worthless. They make it appear it's right off the exit of the autoroute, it's not at all that simple. It's "hiding" in an industrial zone and can't be seen from any of the main roads in the area. We had googled directions but since none of the roads are marked, it was still difficult to locate. In 6 weeks in Europe, this was the most difficulty we had finding a hotel. There are no signs and few road markers, other than a tiny one close to the hotel. By the time I saw that sign, I could see the hotel itself. It doesn't help that everyone notes that it's right by the entrance to the racetrack, there are multiple exits to the racetrack. We found it eventually by going from entrance to entrance, trying to get back to our printed google directions.
Check-in took a long time, but this wasn't the hotel's fault since the party in front of us was holding things up by literally taking up a money collection to pay their bill. We had reserved on line and the hotel found our reservation with no problem. The front desk staff was very friendly and great to interact with.
We rented a room for three. You may want to note that in this hotel, all triples are on the first floor. I am not a big fan of staying on the first floor, since it's usually noisier. But voicing our concern, we were given the room at the very end of the floor, furthest from the reception area and facing the rear parking lot with only the linen room on one side, and it was reasonably quiet at night. The room was clean, the bathroom was nice and clean. Excellent TV with channels in all kinds of languages. The air conditioning was not very efficient, we could barely feel it. Internet is available for a price (not worth it in our opinion) Like other travellers have noted, breakfast was a bit underwhelming. The hotel ran out of some items, there was little service or clean up. But we still had yoghurt and a few different types of bread, meats and juices. We received a filling meal. For the price, I don't feel like I can really complain about breakfast. Close to the hotel was a fast food place called Viena that might have served the best fast food I have had anywhere. It was mobbed with people, even late at night and I could see why. I recommend the Bratwurst and the Iberian sandwich.
While the hotel is certainly a distance from downtown, I don't agree that it's hard to get to Barcelona from this hotel. We didn't find it hard at all. We purposefully stayed a little out of town, to avoid the Barcelona traffic and outrageous parking fees. We simply wanted to avoid the headache of taking a rental car into downtown Barcelona (and we were also concerned about having our car broken into or stolen after reading some of the horror stories on trip advisor). My husband was also thrilled to see the race track, he is a big Formula 1 fan. The front desk clerk had an excellent map of the immediate area (I wish I would have had that before I got there) and explained to us in detail how to get to the nearest train station in Granollers, just a few miles down the road. If you are not traveling by car, I believe you can take a bus there. She also told us where to park our car in town. We parked alongside local commuters at no charge, right outside the train station. It felt very safe. The train station was super clean, we bought a return ticket to Barcelona and the air conditioned train whisked us to the city center in 20 minutes. Tickets for 3 people were still considerably cheaper than parking in Barcelona. Trains run until late into the night from several stations in Barcelona and even though we speak no Catalan, we had no problem buying the tickets and finding the right train. It's all clearly marked and easy to do.
So to sum up--it's not a bad place to stay for the money. Just make sure you get directions on how to get there!

Room Tip: Larger rooms are on the bottom floor. Rooms in back, facing the parking lot are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
15
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Driving down from Calais to Torrevieja, a perfect stopover on route (I have used it for the last 3 years). If you are sight seeing you will need a car to get anywhere. Hotel was clean, functional and of a very good standard. The staff are friendly, courteous and really helpful, with the exception of breakfast there is really no food here, saying that Pizza can be ordered in and collected and paid for at the Reception Desk. The closest restaurant is Vienna about 800 metres away which is clean and good. For 40 euro's with free breakfast, the perfect stopover between France and Spain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Much too far from Barcelona. Not recommended if you are without a car. But having a car it can save you more than half of expensieve barcelona city hotels. On the other hand absolutely best choice if you came to see Formula1 race. Circuit of catalunya track is just few steps away. Typical ibis express. Not very spacious rooms, but clean and a free breakfast and free parking.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

When we came, we where served by a wery nice and helpful younger woman. She helped us ordering food, and she really tried to give us the best service. Also she could speek english! The room is ordinary, but they also come with a distinct smoke smell. The AC was not in function, it was terrible hot in the room. Of course we should have reported this but it was late and we didnt want to change room in the middle of the night. Also this is something the cleaningstaff should see and fix before customers come to the room.

The breakfast was a complete joke! It is absolute not a hotel breakfast. Almost everything was empty, and we have to tell the staff to fill up, bad service! Also the older one of the two had a bad attitude and looked liked she hated her job. It was a complete mess around thebreakfast, dirty, wet on the floor and blood. The staff didnt cleaning this up, it was absolute the worst breakfast experience we have on a hotel! At the end the older woman give us a trail and said something in spanish, she obviously wanted us to clean up ourselves, you pay for hotel service but it is more like cheap hostel. The older staff lady should not work with customers at all, she does not understand the meaning of service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Dear Abakus99,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am glad you had a good experience at check in. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced at breakfast. I will follow up with the staff to ensure incidents like this won't happen again.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked this hotel as the hotels in Barcelona city were way to expensive, plus you can't go wrong with a holiday inn right? wrong!!
Don't get me wrong the hotel was spotless & exactly what you would expect from a holiday Inn..
The staff that were prepared to help couldn't do enough for us..but 1 or 2 soo let the side down. Maree was the most helpful, she not only gave us a bus & train timetable, but organised taxi's from Granollers to get us home when we got stranded in montmelo.
The absolute worst thing about this hotel is the location..Yes it's quiet, but thats because its in the middle of Nowhere & would definitely benefit from even an indoor pool.
There's a bus, that runs every 30mins costing 2 euros to montmelo town, where you catch a return train to Barcelona, for 4.40 euros, although getting back after 10.30 pm at night is a hike as the taxis & bus from montmelo stop at 10..so realistically I hope you enjoy walking Alot!!
The breakfast is a cold spanish continental, it basic but very fresh & you can have as much as you like..Yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses, bread, tomatoes...Perfect for us, but hey we didn't go to eat English food.
Normally we gain weight on holiday, but because of walking back & forth to the hotel almost every day...well

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible (at least floor 5) on the south of the hotel for a great veiw of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

10 MINUTE WALK to train that takes half an hour to barcelona

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear bairdy1985,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you liked the overall cleanliness and value of our hotel. However, we are sorry to read that you did not find our hotel in a convenient location for your needs. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

To be honest, the only reason I stayed at this hotel was to get the Priority Points! Don't get me wrong, the room was fine. No problem there. It was everything else. The only food available for late arrivals was from a vending machine & as it is located in an industrial estates, there was nothing close to. However, we (I was witha coleague) did manage to find an Austrian theme restaurant about 15 minutes walk away.

Next morning was even worse though. HI Express hotels have the worst breakfasts - bar none! It's included in the price of the room, of course, which means they think they can get away with serving any old crap. Apart from the minimal & cheaply-sourced choice, the little fridge meant for yoghurts was empty & there was no fresh fruit,at all. I mentioned these to the person on reception when checking out. All she could say was, "Oh, you should have asked someone & they would have brought some for you"!

Unsatisfactory customer service, poor value for money... & just not good enough, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear GreenGuy101,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your room accommodations. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with the breakfast during your stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27694501
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo

Address: Cami de Can Gordi, 15 | Pol. Ind. Cañ Gordi - Can Català, 08403 Granollers, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Granollers
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Granollers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes from the AP-7 highway, our family-friendly hotel is a handy stop on your drive from France to southern Spain. Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Montmeló is 40 minutes by car from Barcelona El Prat Airport, separated by woodland from Formula 1 races at the Circuit de Catalunya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express By Holiday Inn Montmelo Hotel Granollers
Holiday Inn Barcelona
Holiday Inn Montmelo
Express By Holiday Inn Montmelo Province Of Barcelona/Granollers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Express by Holiday Inn Montmelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.