We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to know” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Jarva Krog

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Jarva Krog to your Saves list
Scandic Jarva Krog
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vallgatan 2, Solna S-17067, Sweden   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Solna
Brussels
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good to know”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hotel does seems old from outside, but the room looks more recent. I like the black and white deco with a purple touch. The badroom is small but very clean, only the shower is not well thing and you've water everywhere( I don't like that).
Restaurant is nice and you eat very well, the breakfast location looks more than a school cantina, but you will find what you want.

Staff is pleasant and helpfull.

This hotel is next to the Broma airport and at 40 min from Arlanda airport. So good for business in Solna, for family trip you will find better location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    30
    33
    14
    4
See reviews for
15
12
4
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This hotel is locaded off a 6-lane Motorway North of Stockholm. Nothing to see, nothing to experience, nothing within walking distance. You need very expensive taxis to get you any where. I ended up here by mistake, and will naturally never ever come back. € 130/nigh is discustingly high for this location. The hotel it self is not bad, but there is a huge difference in the standard of the rooms. I got quite a nice room, while my colleague got som left-over from the 80's.

Staff is friendly, Restaurant is avarage.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

For the businesses in Solna and Kista, it's a well located hotel, and if you are going to Kista, then you have the advantage of going against the traffic in the morning (i.e. it's quick, no traffic jams). The hotel itself is a bit soulless, but for a night or two it's fine. It's right beside the motorway, but I guess unless you are on a low floor facing the motorway the noise level is not too bad (the windows are triple-glazed of course, so make sure they are properly closed). I've stayed there several times and never had a problem. Not a home away from home, but reasonable value, and a comfortable bed for the night. If you are going into Stockholm, the cost of taxis to and from the hotel, plus morning traffic jams into the city will probably outweigh the cost benefits of staying here; I'd advise taking the train into the city and getting a room there for convenience, but otherwise, a good, basic hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid lower rooms facing the motorway, and make sure the windows are closed properly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a good place to be for businesses in Solna and Frosunda Port. I really like the act I can walk to my company's offices from here. A taxi to the same place will cost anything from 70 - 110 SEK.

I've had three stays and on each occasion had a comfortable, pleasant room. You get a flat screen tv, working space and two single beds. The bathrooms are basic, with only a shower (ie no bath) in 2 of the 3 rooms I had. Enough space to hang and store clothes, and ironing facilities seem to be standard. There is some road noise and if you need a window open it would probably be too noisy. I didn't find it intrusive. Wifi is free and I always get plenty of bandwidth for laptop and iPad. Your login works anywhere in the hotel.

The people are all wonderful, and willing to take time to explain stuff in English.

There is a small gym, with only two CV machines (bike, treadmill), free weights and a basic multi-gym. There's also a sauna and hot tub.

The restaurant is nice enough, but if you're staying regularly you might find the menu a bit limited. Not much for vegetarians either. You will find that a single course dinner and a beer will set you back between 180 and 280 SEk.

You can also get snack food (salads, sandwiches, coffee, cold drinks) at a shop in reception. But there is no room service.

Breakfast is included in the room rate and is a Buffet service. Masses of yoghurt, fruit, cereal, breads plus a hot option if you need it.

If you want luxury, forget it. If you want gourmet dining, forget it. If you want endless facilities as home from home, also forget it. But as a place to rest between working days, it's good value and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Listen if your a light sleeper in anyway and you are in a room facing the motorway forget about it. It is now 05:33am and I have not being able to get any sleep. The windows do not fit correctly or they are of an old design thus allowing a large amount of noise in, apart from that, the room is clean, the staff are nice but the road noise is just not worth it. They did not have any other rooms free so I am stuck here. It will be a long day tomorrow.

I am giving the bad review due to this awful noise level.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the motorway and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Pros: the hotel suited for my purposes very well. I stayed in a very quiet corner room in the 9th floor, the room did not have any neighbors and I could not even hear the lift "bling". Good breakfast. It also had quite good jogging routes nearby.

Cons: the room temperature was quite hot.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Nothing good to say about this hotel. My room was on a floor that was being refurbished, so there was bare concrete in the corridor and lift areas. I waited 1 hour to get a meal in the restaurant and I am still waiting for the second beer I ordered. The rooms are dull and very noisy, I enjoyed the sound from the TV set in the next room most of the evening and first thing in the morning. (the walls are very thin!)
And to top it all it cost around €180.
I am not picky about hotels, but this is one of the worst I have stayed in. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Jarva Krog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Jarva Krog

Address: Vallgatan 2, Solna S-17067, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Solna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Solna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Jarva Krog 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel located on Highway E4, 5 km north of city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Jarva Krog reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Jarva Krog Hotel Solna
Scandic Jarva Krog Stockholm County/Solna, Sweden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Jarva Krog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.