We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in great surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ulriksdals Wardshus

Ulriksdals Wardshus
Ulriksdals slottspark, Solna 170 79, Sweden
+46 8850815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 90 Restaurants in Solna
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in great surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

It has become a yearly tradition to have our christmas dinner here (the swedish julbord). I have yet to find a restaurant that does a better job.

Recently we also tried their regular menu and it was a great experience with good quality food and wines. The service was as always at a high level.

The restaurant is located in the garden of a castle, next to a lake. It takes some time to get there (about 20-25 mins from downtown Stockholm, easily reachable by public transport though) but it is worth the trip!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Swedish dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A visited this restaurant with my wife for a romantic dinner for two. The setting is beautiful and the a la carte dinner was really delicious and well presented. The service was very good. I cannot fault the restaurant, food or service, but I have given a rating of 4 because it is quite expensive. Don't even think about the Ulriksdals Wardhus if you are on a budget.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Traditional place out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had dinner at Ulriksdals Wardshus with a group of business acquaintances. Our dinner was pre-ordered, so we did not choose off the menu. There was salmon (most people had that) with a creamy sauce, and a filet of some sort of meat (perhaps venison). For a starter, we had the traditional shrimp toast, which was very tasty.
This is an old-school kind of place, but it provides for a nice drive out of the city, and overlooks Lake Malaren.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Surviving on location and fame from days long gone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

A marvelous location, a beautiful garden setting and a magnificently charming villa yet the kitchen do not keep the promises of the pricey menu. The food is truly well prepared and sometimes inspired but rarely spectacular. The prices are the main problem in this establishment, they simply are not justifiable. Apart from that, atmosphere is wonderful and the service good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Smörgåsbord”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Very Very disappointing. I took my French-Italian wife and some other Swedish friends here for the Smörgåsbord I remember. So disappointing I was almost chocked when I saw how small it was. I thought first it was only a starter and that the real smörgåsbord was somewhere else. The staff was friendly and service was good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ulriksdals Wardshus also viewed

 
Solna, Stockholm County
Solna, Stockholm County
 

Been to Ulriksdals Wardshus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ulriksdals Wardshus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.