We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE STOPOVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nord to your Saves list
Hotel Nord
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boschstrasse 6, 53359 Rheinbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rheinbach
strathclyde
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE STOPOVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

An excellent value hotel just off the autobahn. Rooms are large and modern and come complete with fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, sky tv and dvd player. Good shower and comfortable beds. We ate in the hotel and while the menu was simple it was well cooked. Breakfast next morning was 8 euros and was excellent value for money with a hot and cold buffet. There is plenty of free parking and a paid underground garage. This hotel offers great value and I would recommend it for a stopover.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed one night at the Hotel Nord on our way from Switzerland to Amsterdam. It's very well located for this trip - close enough to the Autobahn to be convenient, yet far enough that you wouldn't otherwise know it's there.

The hotel itself isn't much to look at. It's purpose built on an industrial (trading) estate on the edge of Rheinbach. I'm not sure if it's actually made from breeze blocks, but you get the general idea when I mention it. The good news is there's a good-sized car park out front, the surroundings are pretty quiet, and it's just a few minutes' drive into the centre of town.

All the staff we talked to (front desk, breakfast and cleaning) were very friendly, our room was a decent size, clean and offered everything we needed. For us the highlight was breakfast the following morning, being very much above our expectations.

All this, combined with the great price, means we'll happily stay here again and recommend Hotel Nord to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've stayed here for a night during a business trip - our partners' factory is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Everything was quite fine, the breakfast was ok. Internet worked without any problems, which made the stay more convenient

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here on the way to southern Germany on the motorbike. The proprietor made us all really welcome, and the standard of the hotel cannot be faulted for the price. Rooms were very comfortable and of a high standard. The beds were particularly comy, which is essential after a day on a bike !!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We first stayed at Hotel Nord in 2009 on the way back to the UK from Switzerland and thought it was great then and it is so nice to come back in 2011 and find it is just as good second time around. So good in fact that we have vowed to stay here as our preferred stopover hotel whenever we are travelling to Switzerland. Forget France! - we've tried it a number of times and the hotels never come up to this standard at this price. We tried Luxembourg - no way! In desperation one long travelling day last year, we tried a hotel on the German autobahn which was the price of a 5 star hotel! Who wants to spend a lot of money on an overnight stop when you just want to get your head down. Hotel Nord is so close to the A61, but in the countryside, 5 minutes from pleasant Rheinbach and although of the edge of an industrial estate, you don't really notice it (as long as you don't look beyond the sparkling white net curtains!) Besides, if you're travelling and want to make a quick getaway in the morning you can fill up with petrol before you check-in at the petrol station next door! Don't let this put you off. The hotel is very clean and has excellent staff. They have tried very hard to make the best of the outside areas and the restaurant serves good home cooked food - the best schnitzel I've had in Germany, Austria or Switzerland for a good price. Two main courses, 4 beers and it was 22 Euros. Kurt runs the restaurant with his wife Ildiko who does the cooking. They are extremely friendly and work very hard to make it a pleasant experience. Kurt even remembered us from our last visit! The rooms are a good size and very clean. They have a work area with WiFi. Bathroom is spotless and they have added little extras like tissues and a magnifying shaving mirror. It is obviously a popular hotel for regular business people who are en route to somewhere like Cologne. Apart from the traffic noise, the hotel is very quiet. The reception area has a help-yourself bar where you can buy snacks, a cold bottle of beer or wine and take your glasses from the cupboard to your room. The cost of the room was under £50 and for this standard why would you go to a cheap chain on the motorway? At the end of a long drive this is a real oasis! We love Hotel Nord! They need a gold medal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Great stop over hotel just off the Autobahn about half an hour from Cologne. Situated in the edge of an industrial estate so first impression not that great - it gets better once you're inside though. Very friendly welcoming staff. Good sized room, which looks recently refurbished. Noisy with window open, because it's close to the main drag towards the Autobahn, but roller blinds keep out noise and black out room. The hotel was quiet though, catering mainly to business people. Much better value than staying on an Autobahn motel as we did last time. And more comfortable. Complementary water on check-in and a well stocked beer and wine fridge in the lobby, reasonably priced.

Food home cooked to order from the restaurant inside the hotel - huge portions and like 'mama used to make'. Husband and wife team who have tried really hard and succeeded in making you feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Very clean, good buffet breakfast, free WiFi, free parking, not expensive.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nord

Address: Boschstrasse 6, 53359 Rheinbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Rheinbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rheinbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.