We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Spicciano 7, 50028 Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Stony Brook
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Visited Castello del Nero in mid November and can't wait to go back. Deluxe room was huge, immaculate and comfortable. The service from every department was exemplary. The dining experience is not to be missed as the menu is seasonal and local. The Chef is outstanding. The surrounding countryside is magnificent as are the views from every window. Trying to think of somthing negative but can't come up with anything. The hotel is central to Siena, Florence, San Gimignano and Greves. Don't miss the Spa, that too is fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    34
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
158
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is countryside retreat, it is not Florence: the hotel is 21 km away from Florence ring road, almost half way to Siena. We used rental car; a free bus to Florence is, apparently, also avaiable. The good side: beautiful scenery, quiet, excellent setting for walking in the Tuscan countryside. Chianti region is nearby, with all its attractions. Two Michelin restaurants within reach, good own restaurant. Very helful staff, friendly service.

Rooms quite basic given how expensive the place is. No wifi, and a EUR20/day charge for internet surprising. Palestra building is more like a country house, be prepared to swat an occasional centipede.

Spa area is nice, but limited capacity. Again, facilities are fairly basic for the price.

In summary, very pleasant, but expensive. By Florence standards value for money is average, but would probably disappoint most international travellers. Still, a very good choice for a short trip to the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Exeriences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Now this is a true 4 star hotel. Exceptional service, spotlessly clean, attention to every detail. From housekeeping to the waitstaff, this place did not disappoint. Breathtaking views. The spa and spa services were great. The food is excellent. Close drive to Siena, Florence, and Chianti. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a relaxing, beautiful place in Tuscany, this is THE place. As most have said, the service at the hotel is outstanding. Rooms very comfortable and nicely appointed. Ample parking. Amazing spa. Tennis court and heated pool. We stayed three nights and ended coming back for a fourth night at the end of our trip. Can't wait to come back to Castello del Nero.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

excellent front desk, service, room, housekepping, breakfast and so on. we did dinner once that we arrived and menu is ok. acceptable for the value. location is perfect. only difficulty is that mobile phone and wifi is no strong even in the main building. no more cable wifi should be in the room. anyway the hotel is really god.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Exeriences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What an amazing visit We had! The hotel is a unique blend of old castle and fabulous 5-star resort. From the moment you walk through the double doors you feel like you've been transported to a different world. The mysterious little hallways and stairways throughout the structure stirred my imagination- what must it have been like so long ago? The concierge staff was unbelievably helpful, the attention of the staff in the bar and dining room made us feel like we were the only guests there, housekeepers, grounds-keepers, everyone was so attentive. The room was beautiful- pristine and comfortable. The views from everywhere were magnificent! Breakfast was delightful complete with an amazing view, and dinner in the dining room was absolutely delicious! The visits to the spa were heaven- another incredible staff! The spa was beautiful and relaxing and the body products like no other. I will definitely return to Castello del Nero and recommend it to anyone who asks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The hills of Tuscany ARE just as beautiful as their pictures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

There is no bettr place to stay.... Everything from the way you are greeted to the rooms and the food was first class. Chef Giovanni was the highlight of the trip.......If you want to find a little bit of heaven this is the place........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Experiences.
Our Executive Chef Giovanni Luca sends his personal regards.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Strada Spicciano 7, 50028 Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, the perfect place for an Authentic Tuscan Experience where the best of local Food and Wine, high end Spa treatments and panoramic splendour awaits you in the middle of the Chianti Wine Region and its gorgeous vine yards and olive groves.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel And Spa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.