We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Spicciano 7, 50028 Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Clemmons, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Castello del Nero was one of the best finds ever! The property is beautiful. The entire staff was very attentive to our needs and called us by name. My boyfriend was celebrating his 50th birthday and was treated like royalty. The services provided was well worth the price. This is a "must stay" if you are visitng Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Experiences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    34
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
158
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was unsure about booking at this hotel as it's fairly new (2006) and unknown. When you talk about Tuscany, everyone raves about Villa San Michele in the hills above Florence, or other higher profile establishments such as L'Andana by Alain Ducasse. But I decided to "go for it" and combined a stay at Castello del Nero with a break at Villa La Massa. That way I could hedge my bets!

But in truth, I didn't need to do any hedging.. both hotels are members of the Leading Hotels of the World, and thus both have high standards (not like Relais & Chateaux properties which can be very unreliable in standards nowadays..). Yet, it is Castello del Nero which truly outshines all the competition in Tuscany (and even most of Italy!). It's a stunning hotel which has been painstakingly renovated and enjoys one of the most beautiful locations on top of a hill surrounded by the rolling hills of Toscano....

The hotel itself is a cross between an old Italian palace and a countryside resort. Many of the original features have been retained to give this place character but all the modern amenities are there. The heated swimming pool is truly a joy to swim in, the hotel bar is quaint but efficient, and the spa is delightful (my only criticism is that the Spa, which is separately managed, will charge an entrance fee of Euro 35 pp unless you stay in a Suite!).

We booked an Executive Suite but were upgraded (as I am a member of the Leaders Club - well worth joining!) to the Deluxe Suite with high ceilings and amazing fresco'd walls . This suite is totally romantic, spacious and divine. We did view some other Deluxe Suites in the outhouse but they didn't have the same character as ours.. nevertheless I am sure that all the accommodation is of very high standards and there is superb attention to detail. My only gripe was that the maid service was probably too intense as we constantly found our belongings rearranged and sometimes hard to find...

Yet over-enthusiastic maid service was probably a reflection of the most impressive characteristic of this hotel = the service! The staff in this hotel go out of their way to meet your needs. Everyone is genuinely motivated to assist you: from Francesca who brought us an ice bucket to our room within 5 minutes, to Nihtil who will happily cut your cheeses for you at breakfast.. everyone is ready to serve. Perhaps the most amazing service came from one of the concierges, Fabio, who managed to get us a reservation in one of the hottest new Michelin stars in Florence (even though we were dining there AFTER our stay at this hotel!). Truly devoted service!!

In my opinion, this is one of the great hotels in Italy. It is in the same league as Villa d'Este, which is one of my eternal favorites! Go and make your reservation at Castello del Nero - you will love - it embodies much of Tuscany in a single resort. And if you bring your precious Ferrari, as I did, you will also find ample and comfortable parking!!....

Room Tip: Save up for a Deluxe Suite with frescoes in the main building.. super romantic and very Tuscan!! But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our Deluxe room was beautiful. The scenery from high on a hilltop was amazing the vineyards and olive trees were beautiful. The staff provided 5 star service without question. My wife took an “All about Pasta” cooking class there hosted by the executive chef who was wonderful. We even got to eat the pasta she made at dinner. The spa was fabulous and not to be missed. Their private wine label is delicious as is their olive oil. If you have the opportunity, take a wine tasting tour. If you are planning a visit in Tuscany stay at the Castello Del Nero you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a Deluxe Room is you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Good morning,
we would like to express our sincere thank you for a so nice review, our Staff is the most important part of our Hospitality, Exceptional People for delivering Exceptional Exeriences.
Hope to welcome you again soon.
Thank you
Fabio Datteroni and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I absolutely loved our time at Castello Del Nero. The entire stay, the staff was super helpful from explaining the 12th century castle's history, arranging for wine tours in the area, dinners out, and even putting together a bagged breakfast for our 6AM departure. They really went above and beyond what we have experienced at other luxury hotels in Italy, Greece, and Asia.

The maid service was the best we've experienced - all the fine details in their work showed their care for the guests.

The restaurant on site was a great fine dining experience, and the food very good.

Finally, the spa service was excellent. Take plenty of time to prepare in the thermal baths and relaxation room before the most personalized spa service we have experienced.

We could go on, but if you want to truly get away and enjoy pampering, relaxation, and exploring Tuscany, there is no better place to do it from than Castello Del Nero. We can't wait to return!

David & Sarah P.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Good morning from Castello del Nero,
can we only and simply say THANK YOU for a so nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in the Chianti Wine Region and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Fabio Datteroni & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The entire staff was hospitable, courteous, and attentive. The property was impeccable with luxury updated rooms with first class amenities. The spa was a 10 and I had one of the best massages I ever had. We did not eat at the restaurant but the room service was also a 10. The staff set up the entire room for dinner and came by shortly after to clear up. The grounds are breath taking with views of the 100 acre property, vineyards, and on-site vegetable garden. Restaurant recommendations were first class, with the best mix of local and fine dining. I will definitely be back. Castello del Nero met all of my expectations.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house on the second floor and it was fantastic; we had views of the vineyards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host you at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Castello Del Nero for 6 nights in Sept., 2012. It is a very impressive hotel, restaurant and spa. The service in all areas and spa were outstanding. The views from the large heated swimming pool of Tuscany were spectacular. We enjoyed many visits to the welcoming bar. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts at La Torre restaurant. Castello Del Nero is located a short distance from Florence and Siena. We also enjoyed the trips we took to San Gimignano for touring and dining and the incredible medieval upper town of Colle val d'elsa. We would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Tuscany. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon to Italy starting 9/18 - 9/23. The hotel is stunning and the grounds are spectacular. The service and staff were incredible and extremely accommodating in providing places to visit, restaurants in nearby villages, and things to do. This hotel is very difficult to top - truly a slice of heaven.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FABIO D, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Good afternoon from Castello del Nero,
thank you for your kind words, it has been a great pleasure for us to host at our property and we really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Have a nice day
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Strada Spicciano 7, 50028 Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, the perfect place for an Authentic Tuscan Experience where the best of local Food and Wine, high end Spa treatments and panoramic splendour awaits you in the middle of the Chianti Wine Region and its gorgeous vine yards and olive groves.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel And Spa
Castello Del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.