We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, service could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais

Save Saved
You added Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 191, Loc Spoiano, 50028 Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is situated in a beautiful place, with a nice view. Rooms are spacious, however bathrrom not ver comfortable, only one towe per person and no place to hang clothes or bags. The food was good, but the service in the restaurant was relapsing. We have stayed set in a table for 40 minutes until we have our order taken. One of the waiters was snoby and unpolite. The next day, despite the good food we did not want to go back to the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    95
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
75
175
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fabulous restaurant and lovely staff. The Hotel is set in pleasant well maintained gardens and is in a good central location for visiting a host of interesting towns. The countryside is very pretty. The Hotel is quite shabby and is nowhere close to 4 stars, however it is comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda for seven nights and it was most enjoyable. We ate dinner in the restaurant on four nights and it was of a very high standard. Emanuele was warm, enthusiastic and knowledgable and shared this with diners. He has the the right touch. But all the staff, from the waitresses at breakfast to the room cleaners, were friendly and efficient, though never 'familiar', which is testament to their training and the hotel management. The range of choice at breakfast was extensive and everything of high quality. Local wine, olive oils, meat and produce featured in the restaurant. A three course a la carte meal with wine cost around 65 euros per person. There some excellent alternative restaurants locally, within walking distance. The hotel is set on hill amid wonderful countryside, with spectacular views at every turn, both from the room windows and beyond. The pool is quiet and relaxing and big enough to get a decent swim. It has superb views and sunsets. Bar prices are very reasonable. We shall return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this amazing hotel! My wife and I stayed there for a few days during our honeymoon in Italy, and it was definitely the highlight of the entire trip. Perfectly nestled in the Tuscan hills, the location is gorgeous and secluded. The restaurant is delicious, and the free wine/olive oil tasting offered is great as well. What really sets this hotel apart, however, is the staff. Every single employee we encountered was simply wonderful and went above and beyond in every way to ensure that our stay was memorable. They were definitely the nicest, most accomodating staff I have ever encountered at a hotel, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel is very nice, very nice location, nice rooms, nice pool, nice view.
There is only one drawback: the food. We had lunch, and was not good, very basic; breakfast is also basic, service is poor. Restaurant needs to be drastically improved, sorry to say.
Apart from this, a very nice hotel, that I would go back to willingly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very nice location with easy access to Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Monteriggioni, etc. The restaurant there was fantastic! Food and service were wonderful and the staff was very knowledgeable about local wines. We ended up canceling another nearby reservation to get in a second wonderful dinner there. Also, great breakfast buffet w/ multiple cappuccinos included with hotel stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had an amazing time at this hotel in the Chianti wine region in Tuscany. The hotel is about 30 minutes out of Florence by car (you definitely need a car to get to know the region!). From the hotel you have a beautiful view of the wine region, especially the sunset seen from the pool is stunning! The room was nice and clean with everything you need, make sure you get a room on the back of the hotel since they are nice and quiet and have a better view. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They helped us to book horse riding, a private wine tour in Greve in Chianti which was amazing and recommended us a restaurant (La Castellana) where we had the best meal of our entire stay. The restaurant of the hotel is also very good, although the price is a bit high for the ambiance of the restaurant (= breakfast room). The only real downside of this hotel was the breakfast. It was ok, but nothing spectacular at all, but at least the coffee was good. Thank you for an amazing time in beautiful Tuscany! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais

Address: Via Roma 191, Loc Spoiano, 50028 Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 units (double rooms/Junior suites) with bath, telephone, TV satellite, safe, frigo-bar, conditioned air, Internet, american bar, restaurant, hall for conferences from 10 to 100 persons fitness and sauna, parking, swimming pool, idromassaggio Jacuzzi type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais Hotel
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.