We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Car Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais to your Saves list
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 191, Loc Spoiano, 50028 Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Sussex
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
“Scenic Car Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed a couple of weeks ago for 7 nights on half board, as part of the scenic car tour.
We really enjoyed our week, and it was nice to have fellow companions each evening to share dinner and the days adventures with.
The hotel is very nice, and the food and wine exceeded our expectations, even eating in the same restaurant for 7 nights in a row. The pool area is beautiful, and the views spectacular across the valley. As many others, we had a problem with the bed being too hard, and we didn't sleep well at all. Also, wifi is available in reception, but not in many of the bedrooms, so we had to change rooms as we needed to work during the week.
Clearly this is a regular wedding spot, and there was a wedding on Saturday and Sunday during our stay. This didn't particularly bother us, but during the week it is much quieter and more relaxed.
Things worth knowing. You can walk into the village from the hotel. There's a pavement and it takes about 10 minutes. From the village you can take the bus to Florence. I think its suppose to take 45 minutes, but it took a lot longer due to roadworks and traffic, but at least you don't have to park. There is a bus to Sienna as well, but you have to change and we thought that was too risky. The bus times are usually one an hour and are displayed in the hotel.
Trying to park in some of the more popular towns is a nightmare. Go early.
If you want to visit a nice winery fairly nearby, go for Casa Emma. It was 10/15 minute drive from the hotel. The location and wine was very nice and they will provide lunch if you book.
If you're going with the scenic car tour, beware if you have a low profile car. We grounded twice in the hotel car park. Likewise, if you're precious about your car, take out the additional insurance for the motorail. All of our alloys were damaged getting on and off the train.
Overall, we had a great experience doing something new to us, and it was very good value.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgodiCortefreda, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment, we are happy to hear you was good during your stay at Borgo di Cortefreda!

We are sorry for hard bed and we will check to find some softer mattresses!

We are waiting for you in the next future !
A big hug from Chianti!

Greetings from Chianti!

Nadia Mangiavcchi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    104
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
77
181
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The rooms were lovely, the pool area was great, the restaurant staff and food were top notch. Would definitely recommend it. The guy on reception was OK but could have been more helpful with advice on local wineries etc. We was aware there was a free winery tour at the hotel, so we were looking forward to that because as 2 couples who had travelled from the UK and Australia for a reunion, we just wanted to relax, drink some wine, eat some delicious food and not worry about driving but were told it wasn't on due to a wedding. The alternatives were "here's a map of the wineries near by" with little advice to go with it. So we ended up having to drive 30 minutes to get to the vineyards in Chianti, so one person couldn't drink very much because they were driving. In hindsight, I probably would have booked a hotel nearer the vineyards. ps... as per other reviews, yes the beds are hard

Room Tip: Definitely recommended but if you're going to enjoy the vineyard experience, do your homework 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgodiCortefreda, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are sorry that you have not adequately considered in the search for wineries to visit, but usually when we don't have our wine cellar available suggest the nearby wineries.
We apologize for the misunderstanding and the inconvenience of having to take the car, next time we will arrange with us a wonderful tasting ... a you will have a great time!

We wait for you next year!

A big hug from Tuscany!

Nadia Mangiavcchi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our room with balcony had lovely views and was very comfortable; despite previous comments on the hardness of the beds we had no complaint. We woiuld agree with all the previous positive comments.
We stayed 7 nights as part of a small group of drivers who had arrived from Livorno having travelled to Italy by motorail. The hotel is idealy located for touring Tuscany without clocking uo too many miles; we even took the bus from Tavenelle into Florence to avoid the city's notorious traffic. All this provided plenty of time to lounge by the lovely pool, soaking up the wonderful view, and anticipating another delicious meal washed down with quality local wines.
Hope it is not too long before we return.

Room Tip: Reception has times of buses into Florence (tickets from the bar next to the Tourist Information Cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgodiCortefreda, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks! We will do the best to satisfy our nice guests and read so nice words it is a great gift for us!

We hope to see you again very soon... in order to give you nicer moments!

A big hug from Toscana!

Nadia Mangiavacchi
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at Cortefreda. We went as part of a classic car motorail holiday with 12 other couples. We arrived to find designated parking for the classic cars. We arrived on a Saturday and discovered there was a wedding in the hotel that day and the next. Despite worries that this would affect our meal quality everything was fine that night and the next. Because we sat as a group at three tables the service was not always as efficient as you would expect for a table of two but on the whole the food was excellent and the local wine choices were fantastic. The staff were very friendly although I would recommend to the very nice restaurant manager that he improve his complaint handling skills and try to take any criticism a bit less personally.! The swimming pool area was clean and attractive . The pool for me was too cold but other hardier souls swam happily including Juliet a very special person. Tuscany itself is beautiful with lots of beautiful local produce. I would love to return to a self catering villa to get the best from the local markets. Siena was the most fantastic city. If like me you are a bit arthritic beware everything is up a hill but take it slowly and it's worth it. Everywhere was very busy even in September and car parking was a nightmare. Go early and see the sights then settle down for a long relaxing lunch during the heat of the day. We missed Florence and Pisa. Too busy for us. We preferred the smaller places especially Montepulciano and Radda. Would certainly go back. The hotel was very attractively situated and the rooms comfortable and air conditioned. Only disappointment was that we tried to book the cookery course on the Tuesday and were informed that we could not be accommodated till the next Monday. The course was also advertised as being able to cater for between two and twenty people. Only two couples were accomodated on each cookery course that week. This is not made clear in the advertising material so if you wish to book I would probably advise you to book ahead or find out availability on arrival to avoid disappointment. If you go to Siena park in St Katerinas car park just outside the Walls. If you go up the hill 100 metres you will find an escalator which takes you all the way up to the Duomo. Saves a lot of hill climbing!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the front of the hotel. View of the Tuscan hills is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgodiCortefreda, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for your nice comments, we are happy you had a great time at Borgo di Cortefreda.
We are sorry you didn't attend any cooking classes but for next time we can arrange before your arrival in order to get the prioruty to somebody else, because September it is a busy period!

About restaurant misunderstandings we are sorry to have created troubles but we do the best everyday to satisfy our clients, we invite you to come back you will live great emotions! Trust in us!
About traffic in cities, September is crazy...choose another month like October or May...they are nicer and quiter!
Greetings from Borgo di Cortefreda's staff!

Nadia Mangiavcchi
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spicciano
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

beautiful hotel, grounds around lovely,swimming pool, all clean, rooms ideal- we got the 2 floor room with 2 king size beds, Emma from the reception desk was lovely, charming, efficient, big smile always on her face,what ever we asked for she said:" no problem "and 2 min later it was done. the staff in the dining room were professionals, food out of french/italian cuisin.
great location to start through toscana villages.

Room Tip: if with kids ask for the 2 floor room.balconey in these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgodiCortefreda, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks a lot for your nice words!

We are happy you found our Staff ( especially Emma) professional and nice, we do the best to satisfy our guests.

We are waiting for you on next summer!

Greetings from Emma and from all the Staff.

Nadia Mangiavcchi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

This summer we had a very enjoyable stay at Borgo di Cortefreda at the turn of the month between July/August.
We celebrated our son-in-law´s 40th birthday. We were 12 people in total and one of us was using a wheelchair, so it was handicap friendly which was a great relief. Each and everyone of us loved the place.

The weather was lovely with +38C and everyday was very warm and sunny. Easy to say, we used the pool everyday.

The rooms were very nice and clean, the staff were fantastic, charming and always helpful.

The breakfast was very good and when having lunch, we had the choice to either outside by the pool or inside. The view from the pool was breathtaking.

Absolutely exquisite food was served every night for dinner, and we noticed that the locals liked to eat at Borgo di Cortefreda which is a sign of good quality and service.

The winetasting we had at the hotel was a lot of fun and most of us bought several wines to bring home to Sweden, to keep us warm through the harsh winter.

We loved this place and will gladly recommend it to anyone who is planning a visit.

We will surely visit again!

M & B
Stockholm

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgodiCortefreda, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for your comment!

We are happy you had a great time we are waiting for you on next summer!

A big hug from Tuscany!

Nadia Mangiavcchi
Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

On behalf of the new Mr and Mrs Mitchell, we would like to thank all the staff for the great service and attention we were given over our period of stay. This hotel has great rooms that are very clean, hot showers, lovely white fluffy towels and comfortable beds.
The 50 or so wedding guests that we were with, were fully catered for, group meals were provided at late notice and a lovely reception spread was provided for at the area beside the swimming pool.
The drinks and meal costs are very reasonable and all staff were polite and extremely helpful.
The hotel is situated in a quiet area that provides breath taking views and is just a short walk away from local restaurants that serve traditional Italian food.
The wine tasting organised by Max was informative, where along with numerous wines we were able try different oils, vinegars and jams as well.
We apologise for any noise that our large group may have caused and would fully recommend this hotel.

Thank you for a lovely stay........

Room Tip: 305 is an excellent room with a balcony, where there are great views of the pool and the Tuscan coun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais

Address: Via Roma 191, Loc Spoiano, 50028 Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 units (double rooms/Junior suites) with bath, telephone, TV satellite, safe, frigo-bar, conditioned air, Internet, american bar, restaurant, hall for conferences from 10 to 100 persons fitness and sauna, parking, swimming pool, idromassaggio Jacuzzi type. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais Hotel
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais Tavarnelle Val Di Pesa, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.