We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss La Toppa in San Donato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Toppa

La Toppa
via del giglio, san donato, 50028 Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Italy
+390558072900
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss La Toppa in San Donato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have been here on 3 seperate trips over 10 years and it has always been delightful. The food and atmosphere are everything you would want in Tuscany. The freshest pasta and simple, delicious sauces. Amazing steak florentine! We had a group of 12 on two occasions and let the restaurant suggest the meal. The owners - father and son are the most friendly, warm, engaging people. The place is buzzing with activity but they always take a little time to connect with their guests. You will be wowed by the food and feel very much at home. 4 experiences on 3 visits over 10 years and each one better than the last. They take care of your every need! Don't miss it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    113
    51
    20
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The food was fresh and flavorful! The owner was very friendly and inviting. You must try the tiramisu!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a great meal here. Highlights included bruschetta that was served with olive oil that was only three days old and both of the pasta dishes we tried. As others have noted, the owners are very nice. We felt very comfortable there even though our Italian is awful. If I ever return to the area, this will be high on the list of places to revisit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must visit restaurant in San Donato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The food here is fantastic and made more so by the charm of the owner, Ottello, and his son Luigi. Ottello doesn't speak English but conversing with him is easy anyway, and he's a real charmer.
On our first of many visits to the restaurant, we arrived late in the evening after the celebration of a festa, and were told that there was no more food. As we walked away, Luigi came after us and told us that Mama would make some pasta and some soup for us. We naturally agreed, and were soon partaking of a multi-course meal! Ottello took over the ordering for us and it was tremendous. I don't remember the specific courses that we enjoyed, but it doesn't matter. The entire experience was ideal.
We make a point of returning to this lovely place each time we visit Tuscany. The restaurant is large with several rooms. Ottello has many pictures commemorating the famous and not so famous people who have eaten there. Son Luigi does speak English. The restaurant is on the right as you walk down the main street of Centro Storico of San Donato.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Food was good but pricey. Nice ambiance, quiet, staff friendly. They DO charge a cover fee of 2 Euro each person.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Toppa also viewed

Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
Tavarnelle Val di Pesa, Province of Florence
 

Been to La Toppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Toppa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.