We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely! Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaestehaus Gerold

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gaestehaus Gerold to your Saves list
Gaestehaus Gerold
Hauptstrasse 18, 82433 Bad Kohlgrub, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Bad Kohlgrub B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely! Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Breakfast is fantastic! Andrea and her mother are lovely! Room is excellent! And region is very beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, new south whales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Our stay was just wonderful... We were made to feel so welcome, and the hosts went more than the extra mile to ensure we had a memorable stay.

Since then, we have referred others to this place and they had the same, awesome experience.

A perfect getaway for couples, friends, family or anyone after a truly satisfying holiday. I would pay double and still come back again and again!

Room Tip: If you want to do your own cooking, get a double room with a kitchen, but any if the other rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

From the minute we arrived and were greeted by the owner, we knew it was going to be a great holiday. The owners mother is just a fantastic hostess (with amazing love for what she does) and her daughter (who speaks fluent English) did everything to make us feel at home immediately. We travel a lot and this place is definitely unique in its offering, value, and hospitality. After a full day of skiing, it was just wonderful to look forward to getting "home" - truly 6 six stars! 2 nice restaurants near by, and would definitely recommend finding the Bavarian one - just brilliant!!
Definitely one of the very best places I have stayed at around the world!

Can't wait for our next European trip at Gaestehaus Gerold!
from Sydney, Australia

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My wife and I and my cousin stayed in this wonderfully located bed and breakfast for 2 nights. The rooms were bright, airy and modern and the hospitality of the owners and their daughter were very much appreciated. Andrea speaks English if needed and their friendliness was very evident. Their hotel is perfectly located near all the major attractions, including Garmisch and the popular castles of the area. Breakfasts were very good and plentiful and the price could not be beaten! I would strongly recommend this Gasthaus and would certainly return on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I traveled with my parents and stayed only for a night here but the rooms were gorgeous and the family were extremely hospitable. We wished we could stay longer. We have traveled quite a bit in Germany but have never come across such a warm family. They were very kind and helpful. I would recommend this BnB to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This is one of the best bed and breakfasts we stayed at while in Bavaria. The owners - Thomas, Andrea and their mother are very friendly and extremely helpful. Every morning, after breakfast, their mum would allow us to pack sandwiches with the left overs. We enjoyed the warmth of this family. This is also a very convenient location, close to Oberramergau, Ettal, Castle Linderhof and Garmisch Partenkirschen. I would go back there again. Thank you Thomas, Andrea and your mum for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My stay at Gaesthaus Gerold was wonderful. An old friend and I were traveling Bavaria for a weekend and found this reasonably priced b&b. The location was central to all area sites, Neuschwanstein, Linderhof, Garmisch, Munich, etc. The room was just as their photos showed. Modern bath, clean and bright rooms, great breakfast (take away's encouraged) and a family atmosphere..
I live in Bavaria and travel 2-3 weekends per month.
No doubt about it, I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaestehaus Gerold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus Gerold

Address: Hauptstrasse 18, 82433 Bad Kohlgrub, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Kohlgrub
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bad Kohlgrub
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gaestehaus Gerold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaestehaus Gerold, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.