We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff. Frustrating in some areas.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Grand Milan

Save Saved
You added Starhotels Grand Milan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Grand Milan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Varese 23, 21047 Saronno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Saronno
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff. Frustrating in some areas.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

First visit for an overnight on business. I flew into Malpensa and was picked up from there so cannot comment on the train service.

Efficient and friendly check in. Both receptionists had good English - thank you.
Room nicely appointed - comfortable beds, nice furniture, good size desk, well appointed bathroom including freeheld magnifying mirror as a nice touch. Spotlessly clean. Views uninspiring and windows high up, however, I really do recommend the quality of the rooms.

Bar just off reception gave excellent service and fresh bar snacks for lunch. I enjoyed that. Again, excellent English - thank you.

Room service was delivered absolutely on time and as ordered - including lovely fresh fruit salad. Very well presented. Only an additional 'delivery' charge of 5 euros applied, which is very encouraging.

Frustrations:

Very small TV - could hardly read it from the bed and since it does not swivel, awkward to watch from the side chairs. Also, fiddly system to move and select options. I appreciate people on holiday may not want to watch it, but on business, it can be a good distraction when travelling on your own.

The films were good and they offer Pause facility. Film prices good for hotel charges, however, there is no mention that I could see every time you pause and re-start you are charged 5 euros! I paused and re-started twice! They need to have clear information on that in the rooms.

No instructions in the room about internet/wifi connection. I had to go to reception to be shown a convoluted process with awkward log in and password codes. Even there, it did not work and the receptionist had to print off the details at reception and give me to. Remember to write them down because I was disconnected several times and had to re-enter the information. 6 euros per day.
When it works it is good. As a business user of the hotel, it is unnecessarily complicated and time consuming to organise. And no information in the room to advise. Perhaps a clear instruction sheet would help?

Door key stopped working. It was suggested that my iphone had affected it - so keep your door key and phone apart. So, again, down to reception to get it changed.

Taxis. Normally hotels have an arrangement with local taxi firm for priority. After 20 minutes and several attempts with 3 or 4 taxi firms no taxi. We were advised to walk to the train station and get one there - which we did. No taxis turned up for a long time. by then we were almost an hour late for a business dinner reservation. One of the guests had to leave to come and get us. Completely unacceptable for a hotel of this standard. I have never experienced that in many years of business travel.

We had a meeting room booked. 2 mid-sized small bottles of water for 3 people. No sweets. We had to leave the room to go to order coffee. No obvious way to order anything. The business centre / area is quite sterile in colour and it is not easily signposted to find the toilets which were a bit away from our meeting room. We did appreciate that our logo had been used on direction stands to direct us to the room. Attention to detail is missing - as if they have little or no understanding of a good business conference/meeting service. I would be hesitant to recommend a conference there for that reason - or it would be necessary to be clear in fine details what is required.

So, yes, it is worth staying there and there were many travellers on holiday. It is close to train to Milan and Lake Como.

I think it would be friendly if you stayed regularly on business and you got used to the foibles and understood the unwritten pitfalls. For a first time, it is frutrating and time-wasting to get things sorted out - unnecessarily so.

I would like to thank the receptionist (and I am so sorry I do not know her name) who worked to resolve all the niggles, spoke English all the time with me and tried so hard to get us a taxi.

Try it - be aware of the niggles and they may not seem so bad. Overall a lovely hotel.

If staying try the Cantina Manuela in Avenue Furla I think. - inside and garden restaurant. Lovely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    108
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
49
16
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It had everything we needed for our stay in Milan, easy access to the train which had direct links to the malpensa airport (20min) and central Milan (25min). A supermarket and nice pizzeria close by. Our main reason for visiting Milan was for my husband to attend the Fair, the hotel had a shuttle direct to the fair and back which was great Overall it is a nice modern hotel with all facilities you expect of a hotel of this level.

A general comment about location. We went to central Milan most nights, so it was a little further to get there and back again and we had to be careful not to miss the last train home, but we new this was the situation when booking the hotel, we just had to factor it into our plans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed one night at the Starhotels Grand Milan in Sarrono arriving from Venice and Milan on the Malpensa Express (Airport Train). From the Station it is only a short walk about 400 metres to the hotel and it is relatively easy to find if you get the directions.

Check in was fast and efficient although the staff did not speak much English. The room we were given was modern, clean and comfortable the sheets clean and crisp. The bathroom while modern and the linen fresh was not so clean there were hair strands on the floor and the vanity top had ring marks from glasses etc and soap marks on it that had not been cleaned off. This was the only downside to an otherwise great hotel.

Breakfast was fine however again we struggled to get fresh fruit which was surprising given the varieties that were available in the markets etc.

There are several restaurants nearby if you choose not to eat in the hotel.

For our needs it was ideal close to Malpensa Airport (15 minutes by train) and the express train. if I were flying out of Malpensa in the future I would use the Starhotel Grand Milan again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Unfortunately we spent only one night in this hotel and since it was the last night in Italy after two weeks traveling by car, it was a great ending to our trip. The hotel is located close to the highway (towards Switzerland), which was very convenient and has guarded garages underneath (free at the weekend, 6 EUR/night during the week) but also free parking spaces in front of the hotel.
Rooms are spacious and you can even ask for a pillow of your choice at the reception. I would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Starhotels will be my choice whenever I travel. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel itself and its friendly, professional staff. This hotel near Milan (train station with train directly to Milan is a 6 min walk) is not only well priced, but it is brand new and has every amenity you could ever ask for. The rooms are huge and extremely well appointed, with a very large 'desk' area, comfortable chairs, great bed, spotlessly clean and spacious bathroom. The lobby bar has 'happy hour' which includes great hors d'oeuvres. The included breakfast buffet is nothing short of fabulous, with several juices, coffees, teas, eggs, bacon, ham, breads, fresh pastries, fruit, yogurt and on and on. Free WiFi and free parking round it all out, making for a WONDERFUL stay. The front desk provided a MAP and directions to the train station with instructions on which train to take to the hotel. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: After trying some hit and miss hotels for 'ambiance', I am absolutely sold on the corporate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Welcoming staff despite us checking in at midnight. Spacious and nicely furnished room. Good breakfast in the morning and excellent location (apparently you can easily walk to the train station and get a direct train into Milan). Did not have a chance to spend much time. Internet access is a bit cumbersome (need to register, get complicated username and password) and free only for 30 minutes / day. Will definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Saronno is not a tourist destination, but is the ideal place to visit Milan and Como. The trainstation is jut 10 min walk and singel tickets to Milan or Como cost about 2,70 EUR and a trip to both places takes less then 30min. The hotel is typically business traveller oriented. Everything is functional; the rooms are spacious and well equipped. Bed quality is fine, bath amenities as needed, including slippers. WiFi connection of excellent quality. For Itlay is has a relatively 'rich' breakfast buffet. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Underground closed parking available for a modest daily fee.
I found the foodquality of the restaurant in front of the hotel better then in the restaurant of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels Grand Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Grand Milan

Address: Via Varese 23, 21047 Saronno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Saronno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Saronno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Grand Milan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Grand Milan in Saronno. Our location is exceptionally convenient beside Ferrovie Nord train station, only 20 minutes from Malpensa airport and the new Milan Exhibition Centre and 20 minutes by car from Como Lake.Our beautiful avant-garde design offers you everything you need. There are 248 chic spacious rooms and residences for long stay; 14 flexible meeting rooms with an overall capacity of 1,000 delegates; Hostaria restaurant and bar; a Cigar Room featuring some of the world's finest luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Starhotels Grand Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Grand Milan Saronno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Grand Milan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.