We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starhotels Grand Milan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Starhotels Grand Milan to your Saves list
Starhotels Grand Milan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Varese 23, 21047 Saronno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saronno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It had everything we needed for our stay in Milan, easy access to the train which had direct links to the malpensa airport (20min) and central Milan (25min). A supermarket and nice pizzeria close by. Our main reason for visiting Milan was for my husband to attend the Fair, the hotel had a shuttle direct to the fair and back which was great Overall it is a nice modern hotel with all facilities you expect of a hotel of this level.

A general comment about location. We went to central Milan most nights, so it was a little further to get there and back again and we had to be careful not to miss the last train home, but we new this was the situation when booking the hotel, we just had to factor it into our plans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    135
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
61
20
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed one night at the Starhotels Grand Milan in Sarrono arriving from Venice and Milan on the Malpensa Express (Airport Train). From the Station it is only a short walk about 400 metres to the hotel and it is relatively easy to find if you get the directions.

Check in was fast and efficient although the staff did not speak much English. The room we were given was modern, clean and comfortable the sheets clean and crisp. The bathroom while modern and the linen fresh was not so clean there were hair strands on the floor and the vanity top had ring marks from glasses etc and soap marks on it that had not been cleaned off. This was the only downside to an otherwise great hotel.

Breakfast was fine however again we struggled to get fresh fruit which was surprising given the varieties that were available in the markets etc.

There are several restaurants nearby if you choose not to eat in the hotel.

For our needs it was ideal close to Malpensa Airport (15 minutes by train) and the express train. if I were flying out of Malpensa in the future I would use the Starhotel Grand Milan again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Unfortunately we spent only one night in this hotel and since it was the last night in Italy after two weeks traveling by car, it was a great ending to our trip. The hotel is located close to the highway (towards Switzerland), which was very convenient and has guarded garages underneath (free at the weekend, 6 EUR/night during the week) but also free parking spaces in front of the hotel.
Rooms are spacious and you can even ask for a pillow of your choice at the reception. I would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Starhotels will be my choice whenever I travel. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel itself and its friendly, professional staff. This hotel near Milan (train station with train directly to Milan is a 6 min walk) is not only well priced, but it is brand new and has every amenity you could ever ask for. The rooms are huge and extremely well appointed, with a very large 'desk' area, comfortable chairs, great bed, spotlessly clean and spacious bathroom. The lobby bar has 'happy hour' which includes great hors d'oeuvres. The included breakfast buffet is nothing short of fabulous, with several juices, coffees, teas, eggs, bacon, ham, breads, fresh pastries, fruit, yogurt and on and on. Free WiFi and free parking round it all out, making for a WONDERFUL stay. The front desk provided a MAP and directions to the train station with instructions on which train to take to the hotel. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: After trying some hit and miss hotels for 'ambiance', I am absolutely sold on the corporate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Welcoming staff despite us checking in at midnight. Spacious and nicely furnished room. Good breakfast in the morning and excellent location (apparently you can easily walk to the train station and get a direct train into Milan). Did not have a chance to spend much time. Internet access is a bit cumbersome (need to register, get complicated username and password) and free only for 30 minutes / day. Will definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Saronno is not a tourist destination, but is the ideal place to visit Milan and Como. The trainstation is jut 10 min walk and singel tickets to Milan or Como cost about 2,70 EUR and a trip to both places takes less then 30min. The hotel is typically business traveller oriented. Everything is functional; the rooms are spacious and well equipped. Bed quality is fine, bath amenities as needed, including slippers. WiFi connection of excellent quality. For Itlay is has a relatively 'rich' breakfast buffet. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful. Underground closed parking available for a modest daily fee.
I found the foodquality of the restaurant in front of the hotel better then in the restaurant of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Saronno is not a tourist destination, but has obviously enough business. The hotel is typically business traveller oriented and fulfils its purpose almost perfectly. Everything is functional; the rooms are spacious and well equipped. Bed quality is fine, bath amenities as needed, including slippers. WiFi connection of excellent quality, though free use is limited to 20 minutes only. Rich breakfast buffet. Reception staff was very friendly and helpful, although I arrived very late in the night. Underground closed parking available for a modest daily fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starhotels Grand Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Grand Milan

Address: Via Varese 23, 21047 Saronno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Saronno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Saronno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Grand Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Starhotels Grand Milan in Saronno. Our location is exceptionally convenient beside Ferrovie Nord train station, only 20 minutes from Malpensa airport and the new Milan Exhibition Centre and 20 minutes by car from Como Lake.Our beautiful avant-garde design offers you everything you need. There are 248 chic spacious rooms and residences for long stay; 14 flexible meeting rooms with an overall capacity of 1,000 delegates; Hostaria restaurant and bar; a Cigar Room featuring some of the world's finest luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Starhotels Grand Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Grand Milan Saronno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starhotels Grand Milan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.