We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lengthy waste of time in our opinion.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pudacuo National Park

Pudacuo National Park
Shangri-La County 674400, China
0887-8224338
Website
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks
Attraction Details
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A lengthy waste of time in our opinion.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Maybe it was because we didn't opt for the boat tour or do more hiking by foot, but for all the hype and promotion of the many species here, all we saw were Yaks. Also the bus that carries you around the massive grounds is blasting Mandarin music so loudly that even those who understood it seemed annoyed. They also drove so fast around curves we were worried we would flip over. It is a nice park, but if you've been to other national parks anywhere in the world, it's beauty is nothing notable. The explanation for our dismal experience may have been that we weren't there at the peak season for either the floral blossoms or bird migrations.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    49
    19
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurants inside park closed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lovely scenery. Reminded me of Scottish highlands - but think that may have been due to the time of year. It was off-season, flakes of snow and food only available at park entrance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Price Deter You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

190RMB!!! What?? The price is high, but the park is absolutely beautiful and worth it. Seasoned hikers may be put off by the flat and "touristic" trails, but these exist because they really want to preserve this place (gutting the lake boat would help too). If you aren't too put off by the "organized" travel involved inside this park eg hopping on and off a bus provided in your ticket, then this place is worth it. It is quiet, serene, and absent of tour groups with loud speakers.

We got a taxi to the park and back for 120 including some stop overs on the way back. When they ask you if you have oxygen just say yes its in your bag. If you really feel the need to join this oxygen scam your hotel has some or you can buy it cheap in Shangrila town.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great park at high altitude (3000+)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

One thing that will never stop to amaze me: the tibetan plateau looks very much like the alps, but the alps 2000m higher than they are in Europe. This national park is a great place to spend a day to see the gorgeous scenery. Lakes, hills, herds of yaks, it all looks like the european alps... just that it is well above 3000m where in Europe you would not see trees anymore but just rocks and small vegetation. Here it is very fertile and wet terrain, with beautiful mountain flowers, trees and in autumn you gonna get the great colours of autumn. Lovely for a day, there is a service of bus in the park (it's unrealistic to consider walking through it without the bus) but there is already enough to walk. You'd better take food and water with you as there is little available in the park (though that might change in the future as they were some work going on when I was there).
You should be aware of the high altitude which might cause altitude sickness to some.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went on a beautiful autumn day in late Oct. Blue, very blue sky and nice temperature with different shades of green and orange. We walked 1.5 hrs on the first route, and 2 hrs along the lake. Wish we could be there in spring, summer with beautiful flowers around. The only thing I can say is no English translation on the bus but one can gather information ahead of time and sure will enjoy the walk as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pudacuo National Park also viewed

 
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 

Been to Pudacuo National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pudacuo National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pudacuo National Park to your Saves list