We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lake view opposite the monastery is more interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sumtsaling Monastery

Sumtsaling Monastery
Zhongdian, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Improve this listing
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The biggest monastery in Shangri-La.
KL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The lake view opposite the monastery is more interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Don't get me wrong with the above title. For someone who is interested in temple, it is a great temple to explore; checking out the statues in the halls, drawings on the walls.etc. I also noticed there are lots of on-going construction on the way to the temple. Tourists are required to get down at designated stop place to purchase entrance ticket which inclusive shuttle bus to the temple if you are taking public bus No 3 instead of purchasing the entrance ticket upon arriving in front of the temple.

Personally I prefer the walk around the lake opposite the temple, which is more serene and beautiful. You get to see the temple reflection in the lake if you are there at the right timing. I even sat down by the lake for few minutes just to capture the great scenery in front of me through my eyes and send to my memory!

All in all I visited the temple at the right time of the year; Mid Oct 2012

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    71
    20
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Big rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's a mesmerizing sight from afar... Golden steeples, imposing presence. There is a bus that runs between the monastery and Shangrila for 1 yuan but you will be required to get off at a guarded gate, pay 120 yuan and take a different bus to go to the monastery parking lot. From the parking lot, it is a very long uphill trek to the monastery. Then you will be at a level with more Tibetan temples similar to the ones on the ground near the parking lot. You get a good view of the surrounds but cannot even take a good picture of the golden stupas. However if you had a private car and are disabled, you can avoid the horrid climb and be deposited at a different level where there is more to see.
The monastery complex is quite tranquil. Soothing Tibetan music is played by some of the trinket shops manned by monks. Entering the temples even at the ground level is interesting. Unfortunately there are no signage in English to enlighten me as to the significance of the banners, religious statues, etc.
in short, big disappointing trip.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great monastery complex to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This monastery is the same as Songzanlin / Songzailin Temple so check out the posts there. Fantastic place to wonder around and get lost in, monks were very friendly and no one trying to flog things to sell. Nearby villages also a good walkabout with some houses open for visits.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Awesome sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great place to wonder and explore. The whole complex is mesmerising and we had a chance to meet two senior llama's whom made us butter tea and shared their experience with us. Spend a whole day there if you have the time!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“An interesting sight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Ganden Monastery outside Lhasa was more spectacular but this one was a great first stop in the "monastery tour". Especially nice in that it was not in the major tourist swing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumtsaling Monastery also viewed

 
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 

Been to Sumtsaling Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumtsaling Monastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.