We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely remote hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Ringha

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Ringha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banyan Tree Ringha
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hong Po Village, Jian Yang Town, Shangri-La County, Shangri-La County 674400, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 100 hotels in Shangri-La County
surrey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely remote hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

An unusal hotel with each "room" comprising an original reconstructed Tibetan house, with balcony and small yard/garden. The rooms are in typical colourful Tibetan style - right down to heavy quilted curtains to keep out the cold. The hotel is attached to a farming village in the hills some 8 kms from Shangri-la town - very remote and peaceful, with the animals roaming around freely. Short of travelling into Shangri-la itself which is (very unbeautiful, far removed from the place made famous in the book "Lost Horizon") there's nowhere to eat except at the hotel - food was enjoyable without being outstanding. I imagine running a luxury hotel in such a place is quite a challenge, and we thought Banyan Tree had done rather well. I visited the Spa, and had the best pedicure and facial ever.
Staff are more Tibetan than Chinese - smiling, friendly, always trying to be helpful even if their english is limited.

Room Tip: We had a standard room ("Tibetan suite") which was on two floors with enormous bathroom/wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    52
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
58
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

we enjoyed a lot with this stay after long travelling in china. It was such a great experience that staff were so polite and sametime they give the most valuable service to everyone that we saw during our 4 nights stay in April. Though the weather was still cold but we really enjoyed it a lot and we are going to come back soon to see the different seasons of the place.
Would like to thank to all the team who took care of us.

Room Tip: the rooms are large and for couple tibetan suite is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Lovely hideaway with unique Tibetan Houses. As always Banyan Tree lives up to it's name in terms of hideaways and this one is really hidden - a 7km unlit dirt road off the highway leads you to a secluded Tibetan village surrounded by rolling hills, yaks, sheep and pigs (that roam freely around the BT compound). Trekking around the village brings you to a temple on a hill or yak meadows overlooking a creek. However beware that getting to the old town or anywhere else is quite a journey (takes 15 mins just to hit the highway). The spa is excellent as always. Food in the hotel is mediocre and you're better off getting a local meal in the old town if you are already out there

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Banyan Tree is a wonderful hotel connected to a Tibetan village. If you are looking for somewhere peaceful then Ringa is for you, but if you are looking for a clean, efficiently run resort with great food, then Banyan Tree Ringa isn't your cup of tea.

Staff management is poor, and often things justj happen without any planning or respect for their customers.

The silk cushions are stained, we had holes in our bedsheets, dusting and vacuming are not high on the agenda, and the resort is extremely expensive.

I don't mind paying if I am getting value for money however it really is a million dollar view.
however when you get fed up with the food it will take you 45 minutes to get to town!

A beautiful concept, but too many small things let it down.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

After a 4 hour drive from Lijiang we arrive to this hidden gem. It was very cold and snow had arrived just before we did so we were not prepared for the weather. This hotel is a series of Tibetan houses that have been bought from the villages and rebuilt on the top of this hill.
You must first drive up a long narrow road through a very poor farming village with pigs and yak on the road. When you entr the gate you will be met by a person to guide you up steep steps to the reception area. There was very little heat in this building so everyone was wearing a heavy coat. We were each taken to our beautiful rooms. Each suite is two floors so you beds are upstairs with a large sitting area. You decend a steep set of stairs to reach you bathroom and dressing area. ( tough climb in the middle of the night.)
We had dinner in the dining room and shared the most beautiful hot pot I have ever eaten. The next day after touring we returned to a 2 hour hot stone massage, a must after how cold it had been all day. I think the best time to go is after mid April and before the rains come.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I love the Banyan Tree Hotels.

Have stayed in many different ones and for me these are the worlds leading hotels.

Rooms are big and amazing, great service, just amazing. We had dinner on the riverside, were picked up with horses.

the only problem is that its very high (altitude...many people get sick). and its quiet high priced, but the banyan trees all are...

Would love to be back soon...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Our family of five (2 adults and 3 kids under 7) spent 2 nights at Banyan Tree Ringha (after spending the earlier 2 nights at Banyan Tree Lijiang). The location is stunning, and the cottage we stayed in was an experience in itself - the furnishings, the furniture, the wooden bathtub ... all of them gave a really wonderfully rustic feel to the stay.

The staff were extremely helpful, and understanding of our needs, including those of our children. Warmth was not in short supply in this cold place!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banyan Tree Ringha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Ringha

Address: Hong Po Village, Jian Yang Town, Shangri-La County, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 100 hotels in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Ringha 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most secluded hideaways in the world, Shangrila is a remote paradise hidden in a Tibetan valley. Surrounded by snow capped mountains, Banyan Tree Ringha is nestled within this fabled valley, offering awe-inspiring views and experiences within a tranquil retreat. Leave the modern world behind and step into a land of great beauty and peacefulness. At the Banyan Tree Ringha, the feeling of exotic isolation converges with all the comforts of a pampering resort stay. Discover all that Ringha has to offer with the "Spirit of Shangrila" program. Designed as an all-inclusive package, the program covers the best tours and treks in the area. With transport, meals and accommodation taken care of, as well as a local guide to show you around, all you have to do is to relax, enjoy, and take in the beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip DaoDao, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Banyan Tree Ringha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Ringha Hotel Shangri-La County
Banyan Tree Ringha Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Ringha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.