We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiger Leaping Gorge (Hutiao Xia)

Tiger Leaping Gorge (Hutiao Xia)
100 km (62 miles) NW of Lijiang | Hutiaoxia Town, Shangri-La County 674402, China
Improve this listing
Type: Canyons, Outdoors
Attraction details
surrey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We hired a car and driver from lijiang (450RMB) for the day. We were warned that it would take over 2 hours to get there and it seemed impossible that a 60km trip according to the guide books could take so long, but it did! The roads in some places are vey rough and windy, but a new road is being built and will considerably cut down the time. It is a lovely drive there through rural parts of China and you see lots of interesting sights. On the lijiang side of the river there is a flat walkway to a viewpoint where you get quite a good view of the gorge but it is not at it's deepest there. It took us less than 2 hours to do this and so we wanted to go on the road on the other side of the gorge but taxis from Lijiang are not allowed over there. So we had to walk across the bridge and get another car to take us along the gorge on the Shrangri-la side. The views this side are much better as you can see the mountains. He took us beyond the viewpoint on the opposite side and we were able to see better views of the gorge. Doing this you have to pay twice to enter ( about 60RMB each time I think). This took 1.5 hours and we returned to our original driver for the journey home. Although this is not as good as the trek for those with limited time you do get some great views of the gorge. There are places to buy food but not a lot so it is best to take your own for the day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    126
    30
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Top notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

One of the best river gorges in the world!

Very nice walkway and tunnels to reach the end, I would like to spend a few more days here in the future

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Givat Olga
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had no time for two days trek, and our guide promised us 3 hours trek, but it was simple walk on the right bank of the gorge, 2hours top. The views are gorgeous but luckily we insisted on visiting the other side

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Take your time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We did a 2-day 1-night trek here in end-March when the weather was still cool. The challenging part of the trek was the 28 bends just about 30 minutes into the trek. This was a serious of uphill climb of 28 bends on rocky terrain. The temptation of taking up the local Naxi's offer of a donkey ride up the bends was always present. The climb was worth it as along the way you were rewarded with beautiful scenes and wonderfully fresh air. Of course, the summit was not a disappointment. There was an elderly woman who parked herself at the strategic spot, sold drinks and tidbits and charged RMB8 for you to access the photography strategic spot.

Downhill after the summit was quite uneventful by comparison. The trek was through a forested area with spots where you could view the surrounding mountains.

We spent the night at Tea-horse inn. Quite basic but adequate for our needs. Hot water shower (took some time for it to get going), heated blanket and mountain view.

On the second day, we trekked through some very scenic places. Get your cameras ready. We even had to walk under a waterfall.

The climb down to our destination at Zhang lao-shi's house was a bit tough as the sun was out. The trail was rocky and hard on our knees sometimes. There were wild mountain goats along the way.

I heard that in summer the trail is packed.

This is really worth doing. If fitness is a concern, the local guide can tailor a walk that is suitable for your fitness.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“stunning gorge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I love the story of tiger leaping gorge and the big rock in the river is the baby tiger...everything in China means something else. Nice walk way and well worth the splendour

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Leaping Gorge (Hutiao Xia) also viewed

Shangri-La County, Yunnan
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 

Been to Tiger Leaping Gorge (Hutiao Xia)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiger Leaping Gorge (Hutiao Xia), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.