We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really boring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shudu Lake

Shudu Lake
North-east of Xianggelial, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Improve this listing
Type: Mountains, Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Paw Paw, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really boring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A lake with some fields around it, pretty but not worth the drive. Take the time to see the monastery at Samsteling.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great scenery, but similar to all other lake areas. Not really anything special. Very controlled environment.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but not spectacular. And the entry procedure is terrible.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We do not regret having gone there, but... The National Park is nice and the lakes beautiful even though there are more spectacular places on this world. It is visited by thousands of people every day - meaning the park management has introduced very strict rules. The entry procedure is very poorly designed: First you enter the premises (we came with a hotel car), sbd writes a number of a piece of paper. Then you buy the tickets (do not be fooled by very short queue and the English-language capability of the sales clerk). After this you enter a large room and are surrounded by hundreds of other tourists. In the middle of the room a few young men in uniform, military appearance and not very friendly: They shouted numbers in Chinese. As their pronunciation was not very clear and the room really noisy, everybody was trying to push closer. Our impression was that some clever Chinese people tried to negotiate with the men - we do not know whether they were successful. The atmosphere was slightly aggressive because nobody knew what was going on and many had the notion that he/she were the last to get on the shuttle bus. After 40 min (!) our number was called and we were seated in a shuttle bus that brought us to the first lake. We were allowed to walk on wooden trails only - whenever you leave the trail a person with a megaphone will address you. You walk surrounded by dozens of people. For the average tourist used to the freedom US-American or Australian National Parks provide shocking. But you are in China, and I think the park management does a decent job to protect the environment while allowing the visitors to see some very nice lakes. And the connection of shuttle buses and flat trails allow also older visitors or people with physical impairments to enjoy the beautiful landscape. We would recommend to improve the entry procedure however and to get rid of the megaphones.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Located in a beautiful national park, approx 40km from shangri-la. From the visitor's centre a special bus takes you to the start of the walk around the lake. Beautiful scenery. Easy,flat walkway. Approx 3km to pick up bus stop. Bus will take you back to visitor's centre, with extra stops for picture taking. We enjoyed it very much.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shudu Lake also viewed

Shangri-La County, Yunnan
Shangri-La County, Yunnan
 

Been to Shudu Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shudu Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shudu Lake to your Saves list