We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noah Cafe - Should not miss!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noah Cafe & Inn

Save Saved
You added Noah Cafe & Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Noah Cafe & Inn
No.11 Cangfang Street, Shangri-La County, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 114 Shangri-La County B&B and Inns
USA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Noah Cafe - Should not miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I did a 4 day stopover in Shangri-la when I was backpacking through Yunnan. It was a pleasant surprise to find western and mexican food at Noah Cafe for an extremely affordable prices(20-35rmb, USD 3-6 per dish). The portions were generous (a little too much for me tho) and the the food pretty authentic. The owner was a lady from the Mosuo ethnic group with over 30 years of varied culinary experience! I spent the afternoon lounging in the cafe as it was pouring cats and dogs. There was free wi-fi and I used their computer to skype with my fiance from the US for free (most cafes / hostels charge up to 1USD per half hour). A must stop for anyone coming through Shangri-la!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We just popped by with no reservation and we weren't looking for anything fancy. Literally just want a place to sleep for the only night we were in Shangri La. Price was very good, can't complain for what you get at what we paid for.

Staff was great, you can tell that they are kind hearted people. We had both dinner and breakfast here. While by international standards the food nothing to crow about, its actually very decent food while in the Yunnan province. Simple food found in a well cooked meal like crumbed chicken breast, spaghetti bolognese and american style breakfast were more than welcome after a lot of the more 'exotic' food found in Yunnan.

Only complain I would make are the mattresses were hard. But at the price, I won't say its a big deal.

FYI, there's a hairdryer available at the shelf leading to corridor of rooms. We didn't realize there was one until leaving.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

We were in Shangri La for 2 nights and Noah's was a good "base" to work from. The room was clean, bedding warm and cosy. The bathroom was modern and very functional and the staff friendly and obliging. There is a large range of dvd's if your bored and a well stocked bar and refrigerator if your thirsty. Food was not an option, the guesthouse and the restaraunt are two different places. Noah's Cafe is just out of the old town and the Inn well inside the old town. The staff told me that the plans to serve food at the Inn were well on the way and that they hoped meals would be available within a couple of months.We were ther around early April, so if the plans are going to schedule, a meal won't be far away.
Cheers, Graham.
PS Watch the stairs....they are steep!!!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Friendly staff, new clean room, bathroom with warm water, all was working and new, heating & beg heater...all was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

My husband and I are on an extended holiday in SE Asia and were in Shangri la for a few a days. We ended up walking in to Noah's Inn one night after not liking our hostel room that we had booked online. We were very impressed. The service here is great. It is very homey and comfortable. The rooms are clean with luxurious bedding and electronic heating blankets. The bathroom is clean and doesn't smell, which is rare for a room under USD$30 in China. What a blessing that is!

On an extended trip like ours, we sometimes look for a cosy clean place to take a good rest before heading out to the next back country bare bones trip. This place has an excellent location and is great value for your money. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Noah Cafe & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noah Cafe & Inn

Address: No.11 Cangfang Street, Shangri-La County, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Noah Cafe & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noah Cafe & Inn Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noah Cafe & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.