We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naxi Family Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shangri-La County
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naxi Family Guesthouse
Save
You added Naxi Family Guesthouse to your Saves list
Zhongnuoyu Village, Changsheng Village, Hutiaoxia Town, Shangri-La County 674400, China   |  
Hotel amenities
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is the first guesthouse along the trail. The rooms are comfortable and relatively clean. The bathroom is ok but there is either extremely hot water only or cold. The food is very good and the owners friendly. I recommend the bitter melon with chicken.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Naxi guesthouse is the first one from Chiauto if you are hiking Tiger Leaping Gorge. Very friendly owner and staff. Rooms are very reasonable and the views are terrific. The food was excellent and cheap. Rent a room with a private bath. Well worth the extra money and you get hit showers

Room Tip: Get a room with a private bath and western toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This is such a friendly place... It is full of character and the family that run the place really are very friendly... They serve decent food at reasonable prices. It is worth stoping here for the views alone. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I can only echo all the good reviews already on here - this is an outstanding guesthouse, run by a lovely and welcoming family. Don't bother staying in Quaotou the night before you trek Tiger Leaping Gorge, leave your heavy luggage there and trek the 1.5 hours to this place, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our expectation about this place was high as we saw its rating and reviews on Tripadvisor. However the guesthouse has exceeded all our expectation. Our aim was not to walk through the gorge, but to have an easy stay with good view. So we went to the gorge just to stay here. And we were very happy after all.

What we love: "view view and view". With only CNY120 a night (double bed and private bathroom), we had the best view in the world. Our balcony was right in front of the snow capped mountain. It was so stunning so we kept looking at it and taking pictures of it many many times a day. "Food" was so simple yet so good. Our favourite were pancake, dried beef stirfry with capsicum and spring onion, apple pie and the best and fresh ginger tea. The owner and staff could speak English. They were very helpful, polite and friendly. We had a chat with the owner (Dragon) and learned more about the region and the culture of some ethnic group including his Naxi.

It was simply the BEST place during our entire trip in Yunnan region.

PS: If you don't want to walk, you can just get a taxi at the beginning of the track for CNY150.

Room Tip: The balcony at our room 201 was right in front of the snow capped mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My first day in the gorge was a short one and I stayed at Naxi Family, which is about 2 hours from the start of the trail. The people who run it were friendly, the food was cheap and delicious. The ginger tea was a yummy warm up in the cool evening and chilly morning. The window in my dorm looked out onto the view of the mountains which was great to wake up to as the sun shone from behind them. And it was great to start from here on the 2nd day and tackle the 28 bends in the morning instead of the hot afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We starting walking to Naxi Family GH at 4 pm, spending two hours going there. We recommend the walk in the afternoon since the sunshine will brighten the Yulong mountains facing us.

The hostel is like a big family house. It made me feeling like living in a friend's home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naxi Family Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naxi Family Guesthouse

Address: Zhongnuoyu Village, Changsheng Village, Hutiaoxia Town, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Naxi Family Guesthouse Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naxi Family Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.