We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Really Deserving of One Star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kersang's Relay Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kersang's Relay Station to your Saves list
Kersang's Relay Station
No.1 Yamenlang Jinlong Street, Old Town, Shangri-La County 674400, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 147 Shangri-La County B&B and Inns
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not Really Deserving of One Star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Did you ever see a place with a lot of very positive reviews, but perhaps as many negative ones? We usually tend to give a hotel the benefit of the doubt and discount the negative reviews as the result of a guest's bad luck or the product of habitual whining. We did that in this case and learned, to our dismay, that the negative press was spot on.

It's true that the hotel has a great view of the Golden Temple. Beyond that, by every other standard, it's absolutely disappointing.

1. The rooms are filthy. We're talking mold, clumps of hair, stains and dirt on every surface, a toilet desperately in need of scrubbing, etc.
2. We noticed that the sheets were dirty and obviously had been used by someone else. The management insisted that the sheets were clean and advised us they had no other sheets when we pressed the point. Not a good sign....
3. The walls are paper-thin. This is handy if you enjoy listening to events in adjacent rooms, but otherwise it may detract from whatever small pleasure you find in your stay.
4. There is no heat. The owners attribute this to the fact that the premises are in the old town, but there are in fact numerous well-equipped accommodations with heat.
5. We had two rooms--and were offered one electric heater for our comfort. We later saw a couple of heaters in the reception area and simply comandeered them (though they were filthy too). We slept in our coats to try to stay warm.
6. The staff is singularly unhelpful.
7. There was no water in the morning. Oh, and the place doesn't provide any bottled water either. Of course you have the option of drinking the boiled water the hotel will supply--if you aren't troubled by the unsanitary-looking thermos it's delivered in.

As our other reviews indicate, we aren't inveterate complainers. We're simply "calling a spade a spade."

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moshav near Netanya
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The location is very nice and quiet (which can be an issue in Shangrila), but the rest is rather basic. The previous night we spent at a high end hotel in Diqin, so we didn't feel "dirty enough" to shower... the breakfast room was very nice, with a great view. But overall rating for this guesthouse remains average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We arrived late one winter evening and the Tibetan Uncle picked me up from the main square in Shangri-la. I was really hppy that I could find a place like that on the internet, for most Guesthouses are closed in Shangri-la during the off aeson time in winter. My room was on the second floor and really spacious, heated blakets and a soft (!) matress. After arrived we stayed until late in the nice upstairs Cafe with a traditional fire place, which made us almost sweat - a welcoming change to freezing Shangri-la. We just loved the interious of both, the cafe and the rooms. Later we got to know the German manager and his Tibetan wife, who really care to make the place nice and cozy. They invited us for glas a homeade Tibetan whiskey and we enjoyed chatting. We can really recommend this friendly family place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Well, I got to know this place through a leaflet provided to me by a staff in the Chalet where I stayed in Lijiang. I had no idea this place was under "B&B" and not "Hotels" in Tripadvisor. Since I had no idea where to stay and only arranged the trip to Shangr-la last minute, I trusted the reviews.
Although the beds are comfortable and the view is not bad, I was shocked to find there was no TV in the room. Though this is not very important, but to find the shower cubicle full of molds and dirt was the most disgusting ever in my travels. I am not the B&B nor back packer type of traveller, so I do not expect to experience this kind of accommodation although I understand unless you opt for the 5-star hotels, you could not expect much. There were no glasses nor cups so you don't even know how to brush your teeth!! The shower cubicle and the dirty bathroom + the hot water boiler as mentioned by other reviewers were more than enough to put me off staying here. We tried to hunt around for other hotels but it was already very late so we had no choice but to put up with it. I ended up taking the quickest shower in my life without even applying any shampoo nor shower gel!! No shave in the morning either. The curtain between the room and the bathroom is so small that you could see your partner using the toilet. No kettle. Water boiler and cups/glasses mean you cannot even enjoy a coffee when you wake up in the morning.
We had enough that we could not even be bothered to go and hunt for another hotel so my friends and I had to cut short the trip and returned to Lijiang the next day to take a heavenly shower. Depends on what type of traveller you are, but I certainly could not accept this type of "accommodation" although in a place like Lijiang, I only expected to have a clean room and a nice hot shower, but this place certainly failed to provide this very basic. I certainly do not recommend this place. The dirt in the shower cubicle makes one sick!!! Having said all these, the room is warm enough with electric blanket and a rotating heater, and the bed is comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are not bad. Saw a few rooms and they all have one double and single so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife & I stayed at Kersang's Relay Station during our trip to Yunnan in mid October and generally we found it only average at best, despite the rave reviews seen here. This was our first time in Shangri-La and the bookings were made by our agent and guided from reviews we had read about in Tripadvisor.

Maybe it was because the owners were not there when we arrived or things had changed since the last review posted in Sept, but generally the place was not living up to the ratings unlike other places we stayed in Yunnan. Bearing in mind the weather condition is cold (mid teens daytime, very low / arctic at night) which affects a lot of our observations, our comments to share are :

1. Kersang's location is away from the main square area and needs a bit of a hike to get to, so bear in mind if you have heavy luggage. The path there can be very slippery.
2. Despite being away from the main town area, there is a bar/club next door which plays thumping techno / tibetan pop music up to 11pm, and the noise is very evident in the rooms. We found it funny that Kersang has a sign posted warning guests know to keep noise down past 10pm yet the music next door continues :).
3. The room we stayed in was basic but does have electric blankets which was good. There was no kettle to boil water (we had to ask or get the hot water flasks), and the room was a bit dusty and cold.
4. The shower was a problem as it only allows one person to have a hot shower and the next has to wait for over an hour before the boiler heats up the water to a decent temperature. You will need to use the slippers provided as the floors are freezing.
5. Toilet got clogged up despite us following yet another warning sign posted to not put paper into it as "chinese plumbing can't handle it".
6. The breakfast / lounge area is extremely cold in the morning. We had to light up the fire to keep warm, and the uncle was nice enough to help for this.
7. The staff we encountered when we arrived were the uncle (?) and helper lady, both of which were quite friendly at first, but upon our return leg we did see the owners (we think they are since it was a tibetan woman and a white guy) whom were quite angst about things and didn't really greet us or any guests. There was clearly something wrong between the owners and the staff and that just made the whole atmosphere very tense there.
8. There was an electricity cut when we arrived and this only got fixed after 9pm, which meant we had to wait for the boiler to heat up water.
9.The whole place shuts down after 10pm (total darkness outside) and all the warning notices posted everywhere together with the owner/staff debacle makes the place seem a bit like auschwitz at times.

Overall we would advise travelers to look around, we did check other places in town and there were others offering a lot more in terms of comfort, location and friendliness for the same or lower price. We also got to know a few travelers who stayed there and they too had the same complaints.

Most importantly the owners could have done better rather than being aloof about guests. Whatever the fiasco they had with the staff there should have been kept to themselves and not affected guests. After all, a big part of what makes a great place to stay is the feeling you get from the people there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Kersangs was by far the best guesthouse I stayed at in Yunnan, and one of the best in China. The place is oozing with character and the view from the roof is pretty spectacular. The beds were cozy and comfortable and the shower was amazing! Super hot water and great water pressure with enough room in the bathroom that the whole floor didn't get wet every time you took a shower.

The staff were very friendly and made some great recommendations for things to see and places to eat, and when we were stuck inside due to cold rain one afternoon, we had a great time chatting with them over drinks. The location is perfect, as you can walk to the main square of Old Town in less than five minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a wonderful time in Shangri-La due in large part to the stay at Kersang's. We stayed 3 days, 2 nights at the Guesthouse. The manager, Tenzin (she's Tibetian) and her boy-friend, Hendrick (he's German) were extremely hospitable and helpful with all of our needs. The accommodations are clean and comfortable, the facilities are attractive and more than adequate. A chauffered car service is also available through Tenzin's uncle.
Their webpage is at http://www.kersangs.com/
Contact number is : +86 (0) 887 822 3118 Mobile: +86 (0) 139 8878 9193

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kersang's Relay Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kersang's Relay Station

Address: No.1 Yamenlang Jinlong Street, Old Town, Shangri-La County 674400, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Shangri-La County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Shangri-La County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kersang's Relay Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kersang's Relay Station Shangri-La County, China - Yunnan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kersang's Relay Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.