We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restia Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Restia Suites to your Saves list
Restia Suites
Almyros, Acharavi 49100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a great week here. The staff were all lovely and the room (sea view) beautiful. We would most certainly go back. Guests were of all ages from young honeymooners to older couples.

Points that might be helpful to note:
1. Bring and use stong insect repellant - I got bitten a lot!
2. If you have sensitive feet, you might find the beach, especially the point where you walk into the sea, a bit sharp / pebbly so consider beach shoes. On windier days the sea was a bit choppy - good fun but perhaps a bit too rough for cautious swimmers.
3. The walk to Acharavi we found a bit long for comfort in the sweltering heat.
4. We stayed half board and were really happy with the lovely variety of food on offer. We ate a couple of nights in the Gourmet (upstairs) restaurant and 3 in the downstairs, slightly more informal place. We also enjoyed the BBQ night. If you decide to go to the Greek night make sure you don't eat much beforehand - there is a lot of food!
5. I had a couple of spa treatments - these were great and there were some very good discounts.
6. The prices for water etc in the hotel shop are very reasonable
7. If you are looking for peace and quiet, with really attentive and helpful staff, this is the place for you. If you want lots of activities, shops, restaurants etc on the doorstep then maybe it isn't.
8. The library is great - plenty of choice of holiday reading!

We really appreciated the fact that the atmosphere was so laid back. No competition for beds by the pool, plenty of room and no rush at mealtimes, excellent wifi and air-con, with reasonable prices for drinks / lunch. Yes the location may be a bit isolated, but we were very glad indeed to get back to the calmness of the Restia Suites after our one and only trip into Acharavi.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were happy with our sea view room as we swam in the sea and pool. I guess the private pool rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    14
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
247
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HERTFORDSHIRE, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first visit to this hotel and we were very impressed with the property and the professional approach of both the management team and the staff. There is really very little that I can add to add to previous reviews, this is just such a fabulouis place to stay and relax. We chose a sea view room which had spa bath, steam room, four poster bed which was great.

We found all the front of house staff brilliant from Wendy and Mario at breakfast, Marie, Anna and Nico in the bar all first class and are a credit to themselves and the Hotel.

The management team of Zafiros and Joanna are always on hand to ensure things run smoothly and take time to talk to all guests irrespective of whether they are repeat visitors or like ourselves 'first timers'.

If you are looking for a total relaxation holiday book this hotel you will not be disapointed

Room Tip: All rooms are great - its just what budget is available to yourselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We returned to Restia Suites in June to celebrate our wedding anniversary there again. We were previously there in June 2012. We were greeted like old friends with a "welcome back" from Zafiros and Joanna, owners, and throughtout our 10 days stay, as with every guest, you were made to feel completely welcome by everyone. With some 30 small villa style rooms, Restia is intimate, quiet and extremely relaxing. All the staff have fixed shifts and work non stop for 6 months on these shifts so you get to know them all very well and vice versa.

We had a problem with our pool. Within an hour of mentioning this, maintenance had been to inspect it and had fitted a new part to the pump/filter. The water needed to filter continously thereafter for a few days to ensure it cleared. This was arranged with us in mind so as to avoid too much noise. We have nothing but praise for the efficiency and speed of the maintenance team. Throughout all this, Zafiros and his reception team were aware and were involved in ensuring minimal noise and inconvenience to us. The pool actually cleared within 24 hours, but the increased filtering programme continued discreetly throughout our stay. Fantastic. Be assured Restia's maintenance team are excellent and so efficient, if you need them.

The chef is new this year. We didn't think it would be possible to improve on what was excellent before, but it was utterly fantastic. Delicious food, fabulous evening choice in either restaurant along with an excellent wine selection. The Greek Night was wonderful again, but one tip, if you have a small appetite just have a taster of the numerous starters that arrive over the first hour because you won't survive to try the main meat dishes! Traditional greek dancers entertained towards the end of the evening with no insistence on guests getting up and dancing around tables which for us is always the anticipated nightmare!

We did not use the beach area during our 1st visit, but it was so hot whilst we were there and with little breeze around our private pool we decided to head down to the beach for the sea breeze. Yes, you do cross a narrow rural road from Restia to the beach area, but there is very little passing traffic so it is peaceful with a wonderful sea view. There is now decking and discreet sectioning plus a pathway. Zafiros continues to be present during breakfast and dinner and will often chat with guests without being intrusive. He advised us how Restia has owned the beach area for many years but has struggled with the greek version of local authorities and planning to develop the area. The decking has taken years to achieve, but it is great to learn that they didn't give up and continue to have other improvement plans in mind. It is not the best beach area, there is no denying that, however it should not be missed as what is there has been cleared beautifully to create a delightful area. There are ample beach beds and umbrellas and the staff pop down throughout the day to take orders for drinks. Beach shoes or flip flops are needed to walk down to the water. As you enter the water, there are large but very shallow flat rocks to walk over initially with fine, almost confetti sized seaweed pieces at the edges. Then you reach soft sand. At 5ft 5" I could still stand easily when 15-20ft out and whilst the water is not crystal ice clear, it is clear enough to see your feet and the sand below and was very warm in June.

Vivienne on reception arranged car hire for us before we arrived. A note here, contacting Restia directly by email before you arrive is welcomed. The car hire company, Green Motion, delivered to and collected from Restia, but we chose to drop it back to Acharavi and finalise the paperwork as we did a bit of shopping. We did not have to walk back however, one of the car hire staff drove us back! The rates were competitive at 30E per day. We had researched ourselves and hadn't found anything less than 40E so we recommend asking Restia to organise if you would like a car. Apart from joining friends over a couple of days in Corfu town to do some sailing from Govia Marina, we didn't actually do as much sightseeing as originally planned as we were just so relaxed and chilled at Restia again. Our friends introduced us to a fantastic family run taverna called Glyfa Taverna just on the outskirts of Corfu town where we enjoyed a lunch and an evening meal there. Set low down from the road, the taverna has spectacular sea views and the most delicious choice of tapas style dishes and seafood. We can highly recommend the taverna if you have a car and head out that way to explore. We had planned to find more tavernas for evening meals, but apart from those days with friends, Restia's menu, the chef and the choice of wine found us wanting to stay and enjoy both lunch and dinner at Restia!

It's always a concern that if you return to a previous fantastic destination that you'll be disappointed. It didn't happen at Restia for us and judging by the number of return guests, it is extremely unlikely to ever happen.

Thank you so much to everyone at Restia. We had a fantastic 10 days and we very much look forward to seeing you all again very soon. Donna & Tony.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I am sitting on the patio of room 111, it's 11-30am and another perfect day. This is our fourth year at the restia and has there been any changes? Yes indeed.
Joanna has returned which has made zafiras look a lot less stressed, but there are also other changes.
We have a new decked area by the beach which looks 100 per cent better. The restaurant has lost its old chairs and have been replaced by newer models together with partitions which at first I thought looked odd but give the place a spacier feel.
At this point I would ask all reviewers that have been here before one simple question. Why has nobody mentioned the fact that Charlotte has gone. She has been part of restia for the past 5 years but as of July last year is living and working in Surrey, England, a significant fact that no one has decided to pass on. Charlotte, we miss you.
This year has seemed a lot quieter without the Walsh family in room 108 although the present occupier did find herself locked in by the gardener and was found dehydrated hanging over her back gate looking for help. She has since been released.
There has obviously with the loss of Charlotte been 2 New members of staff.
Firstly we have Maria. They say good things can come in small packages and Maria certainly fits the mold. Always a friendly face behind the bar and nothing is ever too much trouble.
The other new face we have is the gorgeous Anna. Strangely enough Anna is in a relationship with Charlottes brother. It may also be helpful to know Anna during the winter months is also training to be a nurse, so if you find you have a medical problem and cannot get to the hospital you can always try Anna at the bar. As well as being charming and helpful Anna really loves her job and we hope she is here for many years to come.
The rest of the staff are much the same. The cleaners and gardeners work tirelessly to keep everything up to scratch as do the cooks and the other kitchen staff. The ladies in reception are always on hand with a friendly smile.
My wife this year having arrived totally stressed out is gradually working her way through every massage the spa has to offer and says Vicky is lovely and after a week is almost back to her old self.
Just to go back a bit. It would be helpful if the management could arrange a set time for the cleaners to do the private pool suites as times change greatly on a daily basis and this is the second time they have almost caught me naked in the last 4 days and after the spa charges I cannot afford to pay for them to have counceling. Just a small point.
Back to the rest of the staff that you see on a daily basis.
Wendy as always is in charge of breakfast, and may we add what a lovely job she does. In case you don't already know Wendy is the mother of Nikkos.
We then have Mario. Always alive and cheerful providing he has had at least 10 hours sleep although you may want to be careful if going out the back gate towards the beach around 9am as he may be arriving in one of his many cars at the speed of light.
Carlitto or Costa. Professional at all times and a perfect gentleman.
Finally we come to Nikkos. A legend in his own lunchtime. Some people thought that with the departure of Charlotte that nikkos would go to pieces, but not this man. After several months in rehab and finally managing to get in touch with his true feelings he has found religion. This has nothing to do with visiting the emerates stadium or the fact that last year he was calling himself Nick almighty. He can now be found most mornings with his prayer mat facing Mecca on Roda beachfront. It is also rumoured he is looking for alternative lodgings as Wendy badly wants his room to convert into a walk in wardrobe.
Finally, we would just like to thank everyone at Restia for another perfect holiday and would only add that the rumours of our eating with Anna's mum each night because we are skint are totally untrue.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Whilst.not stayed at the suites themselves, I have just returned from.my 5th visit to this wonderful restaurant. The food is sublime and the service is second to.none. They even allow non residents to book .If you want perfection choose the Restia Suites.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We returned to Restia Suites for the fourth time in June and our stay was fantastic. I won't repeat all the details from previous reviews as I think that everything has been said but I would like to confirm the comments about the staff who without exception are brilliant and are so helpful. Having travelled extensively I can honestly say that the customer service here is the best that we've ever received.

If you want a relaxing chill out holiday then you would struggle to find anywhere better than Restia Suites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here in early June for 2 weeks. We had a fantastic time and could not fault the hotel. To all the staff thank you for making our holiday so special we really enjoyed ourselves so much, the rooms are gorgeous and grounds maintained to the highest standard

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Restia Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restia Suites

Address: Almyros, Acharavi 49100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Acharavi
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Acharavi
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly located near Acharavi village, along the three-mile stretch of Almiros bay with white sand and a sea of crystal blue water, lies “Restia Suites” Exclusive Resort, the epitome of simplicity, elegance and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Restia Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Restia Hotel Acharavi
Restia Suites Acharavi, Corfu, Ionian Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restia Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.