We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food-best around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle George's Taverna

Uncle George's Taverna
Andreas Papandreas st, Amoudara, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Amoudara
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: iT IS THE RESTAURANT IN UNCLE GEORGE'S HOTEL.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food-best around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Good food, good portions at very reasonable prices. Costas and family very friendly.Once you have been once you'll keep going back. I did and I am hard to please.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    10
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice friendly taverna with great food, lovely clean surroundings and reasonable prices. They offer breakfasts, lunch and dinner that will suit all tastes

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-mare
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“A really warm welcome - and Mama's delicious cooking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We visited this restaurant four times during our week's stay and enjoyed the welcome and service from the owner Costas, and the delicious food cooked by Costas' mama. The tzatzikiwas particularly tasty - and during our week on Crete we tasted tzatziki in lots of different restaurants.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Best Taverna in Amoudara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Simply the best! The food is traditional, all cooked to order, all locally sourced and excellently cooked - you are in for a treat if you there. The service is incredibly friendly and fun and you are made to feel very welcome. Fresh, traditional, friendly, fun and very good value. Do not bother eating anywhere else in Amoudara - this is the best by far.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Amoudara Crete!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

The first time We went to Uncle George's Taverna was in 2004. I come to Greece every year now and they are a regular stop for dinner and drinks several times every year.
The food is delicious and the service was even better. Kostas ans Artemis are the best. They go above and beyond to give you the best service. They make you feel like part of their family. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle George's Taverna also viewed

Amoudara, Lassithi Prefecture
Amoudara, Lassithi Prefecture
 
Amoudara, Lassithi Prefecture
Amoudara, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Uncle George's Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle George's Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.