We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach holiday with a baby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Lav Split

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Lav Split to your Saves list
Le Meridien Lav Split
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Grljevacka 2A, Podstrana 21312, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
London
1 review
“Beach holiday with a baby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

We stayed with our baby for two weeks.
On the good side were the total refurbishment, full pram accessibility, great spa facilities and closeness to beautiful Split.
On the downside – God, the personnel needs training! Everybody is quite friendly, but they seem to have problems following even the simplest routines. There was not a single day the housekeeping would not forget something – we eventually started placing bets on how many towels would be in the bathroom everyday.
Some tips:
-for massages ask for Alma, she’s goooooooooooooooood
-for those traveling with babies: do not bring nappies and jars with you. There are two supermarkets (Tommy and Discont Mikanovitch) and a 24/7 pharmacy (PrimaPharma at Stobrec) nearby stocked with Pampers and Hipp Organic.
-Family suits are really on the small side, you’d be better off booking a room facing marina – they are the largest, the quietest (so far, before the shopping arcade is not launched) and have sofa-beds in addition to double beds.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    293
    96
    32
    24
See reviews for
221
386
34
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

I am a fan of 5 star hotels. I love extravagance and this place has it in bucket loads. Marble floors, modern lounges scattered throughout and A very trendy looking bar overlooking the sea.

The rooms (we had a sea view - which is a must) are modern and large with especially big bathrooms. The rain shower was magnificent.

This hotel is massive but has a number of short comings. The spa was booked out for our entire stay so it is clearly under size.

The restaurants are good, but not great with no real ambiance. It's main restaurant, spalatum, feels like you are eating in the lobby. Try for an outside table.

As for service, well this is Croatia. Anyone who has travelled around Croatia would realise that service does not exist in any form. They just can't be bothered. So I won't hold it against Le Meridien. It did take 30 minutes to check out so keep that in mind.

Be aware that this hotel is not in or even near the main town of Split. It is a 30 minute drive. The hotel has a shuttle bus but it takes a maximum of 8 people and leaves every half hour. So you could miss out. A cab will cost about 15GBP each way.

One word of warning is STAY AWAY FROM THE CASINO. It looks like a gangster's lair. They even have a sign indicating NO GUNS. The women at the reception desk of the Casino make Russian weightlifters seem pleasant. Just don't bother basically.

At the end of our trip we returned to Split and stayed next door at Hotel San Antonio. This hotel is just as good, but smaller. It cost half as much, so check that out as an alternative.

  • Liked — The view from the room
  • Disliked — Full of kids, in the middle of nowhere and rubbish service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

We are a young professional couple (29, 31) that have traveled many places with a taste of 5 star food and hotels. On this trip we found a good deal on expedia and overall had an enjoyable trip to this hotel. Let's start with the positives: there is a casino on site (a plus for me), a very good spa (a plus for the mrs) with professional staff using professional decleor therapists, the main hotel restaurant served overall excellent breakfast, lunches and dinners (in particular we enjoyed a "black & white risotto", the free salmon or tuna pate, the triple chocolate creme brulee dessert, a tiger king prawn caesar salad, and a good wine selection). Our well presented and large room faced the bay and we liked the fact that the hotel is only a 10 minute cab away from the town of Split (an easy hour's walking can have you easily see all the highlights).

In terms of negatives, we thought the pool was very small for the size of the hotel and many people were frustrated at the lack of number of sun loungers. Also, although the main restaurant was very good as described above, we felt slightly let down by the pizza restaurant that had a limited selection and closed quite early in the evenings. We also found the bar lounge had musicians that were much too loud - distracting any ability to chill in this area.

At the time that we visited, the hotel was very new and as expected there were a few teething problems. Nothing too major worth noting, but one could sense a "bit of sterility" - many shops and restaurants have yet to be fitted out and opened.

Overall we felt this was definitely a decent 5 star despite it's negatives, and we would consider returning (although there is still much more of Croatia to see!).

  • Liked — 5-star quality & spa
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

I've been travelling to Split frequently on vacation and personal business for the last year. The city is quickly taking off as a destination and can certainly support some new upmarket hotels. Watch out for the renovated Marjan coming near the Riva.

The Lav hotel complex is too large for my personal taste but it has been refurbished to an exceptionally high standard - although there is little distinctively Croatian about the feel of the place. One advantage of its size is that it never felt particularly crowded, except maybe in the breakfast room. If you want a one stop "destination resort" close to a major city, this fits the bill.

Like previous reviewers, I was very pleased with the quality and comfort of the rooms (but pay for a sea view or you will likely end up looking out over the car park). The terrace bar is great and the indoor/outdoor pool and sport facilities are excellent. The casino is technically operated by another company but is efficient and well run. I didn't use the restaurants except for breakfast, which was perfectly good.

A few niggles; reception can be overwhelmed at peak periods for check-in/out especially as the hotel is a major conference venue. Some of the retail units on site haven't opened yet, so there is a lack of shopping for a resort of this size. Service at the bar and pool can be slow and it was irritating not to be able to order even an ice cream with a late drink on the terrace one night. On the whole though, these are probably teething troubles rather than anything worse. The staff were generally friendly and helpful.

Distance by car to the Riva is 15 mins door to door, so the out of town location is not a major drawback. Incidentally, the new look Riva is grotesque. This unique boulevard has been disfigured by Berlin Wall style floodlights and the attractive parasols replaced by uniform brutalist awnings. Too bad!

I would certainly return to Le Meridien.

  • Liked — "Just opened" feel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Le Meridien, Lav in Split. The hotel is brand new, beautiful and well equipped with great facilities. We had a deluxe sea view room. The room was very large and had a great balcony, a walk in closet and nice view of the ocean over the tiny marina next to the hotel (normally I would prefer not to be looking over a marina, but this one is very small and only had a bout 5-7 boats). From what we could tell, standard rooms were about half of the size.

Breakfast was included in the room and was very well laid out. Eating lunch and dinner at the hotel can get to be very expensive..... hamburger and fries cost 120 kuna (~$24). Since the hotel is about a 15-20 minute cab ride ($20) to the city, one tip for lunch if you just want to get out of the heat for a while, is that if you walk out of the hotel driveway and turn to your left..... About 50m down the road on the other side of the street is Fabio's Pizza. Rather than pay the hotel prices and to get a break, we would go there for lunch almost every day where a medium sized pizza, salad and drinks would come to about 70 kuna ($13). Also, for those interested, there is a small grocery store (Konzum) also down the road from the hotel the same way after about a 20 minute walk.

The only negative thing I would say about the hotel like other comments I have read.... they are lacking a bit on the service. And rather than just rant, I'll just give a few examples of what I mean.

We arrived at the hotel at 7:30PM (at night) to be told that our room was not ready and that it would be 30-40 minutes. They offered us a downgrade to a park view room, which I was not interested in since we should be there for 7 nights and was asked to wait in the lobby. Now, this is not anything to ruin a vacation over except that we were travelling with our 1 year old daughter and had just gotten off of a 6 hour trip from Moscow. She was getting fussy and we were needing to feed / change her and it was already passed her bed time. The woman who helped us at reception said there was nothing they could do, but basically seemed like she just wanted me to leave her alone. We got a more sincere apology from the luggage porter who helped us with our bags once we got in the rooom.

Second thing. Be prepared to have to go find your waiters. Breakfast is a buffet, but to get coffee / tea, you have to either flag down the 5-6 waiters huddling together in the corner talking or go over and interrupt their conversation. Again, nothing to get overly riled up at, just one more thing.

Third thing. We had to make it an early night each night since we were traveling with our daughter. My wife and I would finish off the evening with a drink on the balcony watching the sunset... and being American, I like ice in my drinks. We called to room service and ordered a bucket of ice which never showed up. I called back after an hour and they said they must have forgotten. Again, an easy solution was to take the elevator one floor to the lobby bar and ask for some ice (took 5 minutes tops). Which we ended up doing every night from then on.

Like I said, all things individually are no big deal. Maybe it's because I live in Moscow now and am used to poor service. It just would have been a nicer trip if these things hadn't happened. I still recommend the hotel if you are easy going and have a fair amount of patience.

The city of Split is beautiful and would definitely recommend the hotel it if you want a beach holiday in July / August somewhere other than the scorching temperatures of Spain / Greece / Turkey.
Plus, great hotel if traveling with small kids. There were many families with children from 3-5 months old and up.

  • Liked — Hotel Rooms / Facilities
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

We were booked into this hotel for a conference held there by our client. Probably one of the worst 5-star service I have experienced. We had to constantly remind them of the level of service. The hotel itself seemed quite new and was quite stunning, unfortunately the service was not up to the 5 Star mark.

They definitely had problems handling such a large group as ours were with all its associated details of hotel bookings, housekeeping, food, etc etc. While the staff were quite willing to help where they could - some basics had to repeated on a daily basis.

Was very glad to leave and go to a smaller hotel after the event and hopefully not go back the next year!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Lav Split? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Lav Split

Address: Grljevacka 2A, Podstrana 21312, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Lav Split 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of coastal discovery. Found on a pristine part of the coast and featuring emerald clear waters a stone’s throw away from Split, the Le Méridien Lav’s unique location invites guests to easily explore the imposing Dalmatian coast stopping every few kilometers to admire scenic towns and villages including those of Trogir, Omiš, Solin (Salona) and Makarska as well as the nature parks of Biokovo (St Juraj) and Krka – all within an hour’s drive from the hotel.MOVE! A resort like no other in the region, Le Méridien Lav Split offers unparalleled facilities for those looking for action-packed travel. Energize your mind and body with an early morning jog along the beach or play away in some of the resort's numerous sport facilities (tennis courts, tennis, beach volley, boules, free climbing wall, archery, diving, water sports, yachting, cycling, wellness club ) Large superior and deluxe rooms and family suites are perfectly sized to accommodate two adults and up to two children. The Penguin Club offers a safe, educational and entertaining experience for the kids. Club's fully qualified nursing staff will keep busy their inquisitive mind! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Meridien Lav Split reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Lav Split Hotel Podstrana
Le Meridien Podstrana
Podstrana Le Meridien
Le Meridien Lav Split Croatia/Podstrana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Lav Split, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.