We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunce to your Saves list
Hotel Sunce
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Grljevacka 146 | Podstrana, Split, Podstrana 21312, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Podstrana B&B and Inns
Domzale, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was here in this place after 25 years and I am really surprised. This is small hotel ON the beach, just few minutes from Split. Beautiful and clean. The girls are very friendly. We had room with bathroom, tv, wi-fi, telefon, mini bar and breakfast. The beach is private and you feel just like in own house. The sea is clean and we were swinmming on 20 th May!! I did not expect something like that - we will come back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
9
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I spent a nice weekend at the Hotel Sunce. Very, very friendly and helpful suff, good breakfest, nice location, by the see. We stayed in a apartment, with large bedroom, small living room and spacious bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms with see view or apartments are good cohoice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This little hotel in Podstrana is a great find - if you want to stay at the beach, but be close to split, this is the place to stay. the staff is very friendly and helpful - it feels like a real family business. the rooms are modern, and clean - nothing fancy, but with nice balconies facing the water.

be sure to rent a car as it's really your only mode of transport in and out of split, and it also allows you to take trips for the day further down the coast or to the islands.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My friends and I spent 4 nights at the Hotel Sunce. I had a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean and nearby islands. My room was equipped with a double bed and the bathroom had a very nice tiled shower. The room was also equipped with a safe for storing valuables at no extra charge. I can't say enough about our hosts Eta and Anna; they were great and very helpful in providing information and looking after our needs. The restaurant served a nice breakfast buffet. My only complaint was the coffee.....which was too weak for my taste. The restaurant had a diverse dinner menu, but we chose to eat at several of the local restaurants near the hotel. The hotel is located about 5 miles from the center of Split, but is very accessible by bus or shuttle van service that operates within 100 yards of the hotel. I would recommend taking the shuttle van as its air conditioned and doesn't stop as frequently as the bus. It is relatively cheap; 12kn or about $4.00 for a one way ticket into Split city center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I have just had a furious argument with the owner / chef. First, I was made to wait over two hours for a simple meal because there were 10 other guests eating. Second I was charged extra for vegetables when one of their menus clearly stated that veg. was included. Having refused to back down on this it transpires that the poor waitress has to bear this cost!!! To top it all we were charged for bread which we didn't have and when questioned, we were told it was a cover charge. Why don't they say that in the menu??? The poor waitress was a gem and she kept apologising for her boss' behaviour. This is NOT about the money, it is the principle of it and I cannot abide people who are willing to stake their reputation for the sake of 25 Kuna, yes 25 Kuna! or 3 Euros. Unbelievable. I would not stay here again if it was the last hotel on earth.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podstrana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel Sunce is a reflection of the great experience that Croatia has to offer. Frankly, we just wanted a weekend break and decided to go to Split for a change. What we found was much more than we expected. On Sunce, the place is very well kept, comfortable and cozy. Location was nice, quiet and had a beautiful Adriatic beachfront. But most of all, the staff was very warm and service was superb! Typical of Croatian small town hospitality? And the food was fantastic -definitely worth coming back to. :D
BTW, we are frequent travelers who always thought that Europe could use some improvement in quality of service - not in this case. Croatia is a gem!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

No complaints about employess except one and she was called the Director or owner of the hotel. She only spoke GERMAN and was impossible to explain anything to her. My last night there she was only person working in the restaurant as she was both hostess and server and the service was the worst I had ever seen anywhere in the world. After seating us we must have waited and hour before she took our order and then had to wait 30 minutes to get the wine we had ordered. Another hour later we finally got the meal. They need a bilingual server as she had no clue as to what was going on. She seemed partial to German customers as spent more time talking to them than talking orders or concerned about the service. The employees that served the breakfast were excellent and were bilingual and service was the best. The German director has to go before she ruins her own business. She needs to take a back seat away for the restaurant!

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view but you need to ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunce

Address: Grljevacka 146 | Podstrana, Split, Podstrana 21312, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunce 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sunce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunce Croatia/Podstrana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.