We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunce

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunce to your Saves list
Hotel Sunce
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Grljevacka 146 | Podstrana, Split, Podstrana 21312, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Podstrana B&B and Inns
zg
1 review
“very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Lovely beach hotel, with fabulous sea view from the balcony. Very close to city of Split (cca 10 min. by car). The staff is very friendly and helpful. All rooms have free wi-fi connenction. Food is also good and you have various choices. All in all you will get excelent accomodation and much of a luxury for relatively little much of money.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    11
    6
    11
See reviews for
9
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel is very clean and has great fresh decor appropriate to a beach location. The sea view rooms with balconies are fabulous, with plenty of room and great views. Food in the restaurant was great, fresh and quite reasonably priced compared with other restaurants. Breakfast had a number of choices depending on your preferences, but the previous reviewer was right - the coffee could be stronger! The hostess was lovely, very friendly and helpful - but she speaks little or no English, so if you have some German it is helpful. I imagine you could get through with some sign language, but its not a bad idea for Croatia generally to take a German/English phrase book to assist.
We didnt get to test the beach, as there was a huge thunderstorm the night we were there, but it certainly looked clean and lovely, though smallish. The hotel is near Split in a satellite town called Podstrana. Public transport is easy enough, but make sure you get good directions before you go, as Podstrana is quite big, and the bus stops dont have numbers.

Room Tip: See if you can get a sea view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Although the hotel is not in Split (it's in Podstrana) it is still a great place to stay while visiting Split. There is a bus stop not 60 meters from the hotel where you can either catch the city bus or a van ride to the city center.

The hotel is literally ON the beach and has a nice bar where you can enjoy a drink while sunbathing and swimming. It makes for a very relaxing atmosphere after a day of sight seeing. The view from our room was spectacular.

There is a restaurant on the hotel and also a handful of others along the beach within walking distance.

The staff is very helpful (and very funny!). I would recommend this hotel for holiday makers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean. It's really beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundbyberg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This is an excellent 3-star hotel right on the beach at Podstrana (Split).
We were welcomed on arrival by Ita Carminatti who is a very service-minded lady willing to help and advise at all times. She made our vacation a special event and our big thanks to her.

The location is about 8kms from Split town with good transportation possibilities. We used the local bus service without problem. There are two bus companies operating, Promet and Dalmatinac. Promet uses normal busses of varying standard but Dalmatinac is preferable as they are vans rather than a bus, air-conditioned and more comfortable.
We found that they charge the same price, 12 kuna single trip. (September 2011)
The bus stop for Split is to the right from the hotel, across the road and about 60 meters to walk. At the bus stop is a newsagent/tobacconist and in the square behind is a Konzum supermarket, very useful for buying water, fruit, etc.

First impression of the hotel was the cleanliness which we have as our first priority. The room was big enough for the two beds and the bathroom with shower and useful shelves for our toilet bags was well equipped with a hair-dryer, shampoo and soap and electrical outlet. The wall-rack for hanging bath towels was very useful.
A tip is to bring your own beach towels as these are not supplied and room towels are not permitted to be taken out of the rooms.

The balcony we had (room 104) was very large with two chairs and a table, ideal for sitting outdoors with an evening drink watching the beautiful sunsets. Also, two excellent sun-loungers which we could only use in the early morning and late afternoon as there is no shade on the balcony during the day. For light-skinned north Europeans, the sun is very intense and shade is essential to avoid burning but for visitors with darker skin this may not be such a disadvantage.

The hotel built on a slope from the main road down to the beach so there are stairs to the different levels. There is no lift/elevator but staff is able to assist if requested.

Breakfast was quite sufficient with hot food, eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. plus cereal, bread cheese, ham, jam, honey. Tea, coffee and juices are also available. A tip for Scandinavians, who like their coffee strong, is to bring some instant coffee along to add to the breakfast coffee.
To sit outside the restaurant on the terrace in the early morning sunshine to enjoy breakfast was a lovely start to each day.

On the beach there are plastic sun-loungers but no cushions/mattresses for the beds.
Good to lie down on but a bit uncomfortable after a while when sitting up reading. There are four big sunshades which can be a bit difficult to raise in the mornings but provide sufficient shade when open. This is not a sandy beach but is stony and swimming shoes with good soles are desirable. The water is clear and salty, just as it should be and taking a dip now and again was refreshing.

Along the beach to the left, there is restaurant Jure which we used a number of times. The food with pizza, spaghetti, fish was good and reasonably priced. The waiter, Mario, was efficient and spoke English.

In the other direction on the beach there is a 30 minute walk to the big hotel Le Lav Meridien with all the big private “yachts” moored in the basin. Take this walk and smell the money!!

Room Tip: Room 104. Twin-bedded room with huge balcony, sea-view and great sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Hotel is located straight on the beach, so close to the sea that you feel almost immersed in the Adriatic. Great views to the islands and bypassing yachts make it really a relaxing stay.
Big, sunny terraces help you to enjoy the landscape.

Clean, modern rooms. Good breakfast. Firendly and helpful staff.
Free wi-fi all over the place.
Indoor swimming pool and sauna for free for the guests.

Hotel parking might be challenging due to small space..

The gravel beach is suitable for children.
Entry into water easy even without swimming shoes.
Sunbeds and umbrellas free for the guests, but if the hotel is full the selection might be limited (still, we could always find a palce for us).

Hotel manager always smiling and making your day 8-)
Really good family hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you get the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Hotel has a good scenery, Split is very closed and also Brac Isle.
The Hotel has 16 rooms but on the beach there are only 4 beach umbrellas so you have to wake up in the morning early at 6/7 a.m. in order to place the towels on the sea bed under the beach umbrellas , during our holiday we had to find another beach nearby because someone else took all the available places on the beach during the morning rise. No beach service, they could clean the beach from the seaweed... but nobody do it. The bar opens at 11.20 a.m., restaurant service is really bad you have to wait 1 h and 15 minutes to start to eat, you have to pay in cash the dinner, the owner and her daughter are not so friendly, the owner speaks only german and croatian language. there's not an elevator and nobody helps you with the luggages, we had a double room on the third floor and it was not comfortable for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsunce, Manager at Hotel Sunce, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
There are some things, that hurts very much the feelings of the staff, when the review is based on half mentioned facts.
It is true there is no elevator, which can be seen on every site we're in.But no guest isn't left with the baggages to lift them up to their rooms by their own. They are always helped.
There is no see weed on the beach, I don't know where our guest has seen it, and for the beach service, all our guests are getting all info on the arruval, among that is the fact that beach bar opens around 11.30 am, but in the mean time they can get whatever they want from the rstaurant above.
It is true that owner doesn't speak English, but she is elderly lady, who at least tries with mimes to get to comunicate. All other staff speaks at leat English, some of them Italian, Spanish, and there is always someone of those people around.
So with this review, I feel personaly touched, and I'm very sorry that we are not 5 stars resort, where the mentioned guest would have all he was dreaming about, on three times higher price then ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Sunce for 4 nights and thought it was great. The hotel is modern, very clean and the staff are very friendly, especially the receptionist who spoke very good English and had a good sense of humour! Our room had a balcony probably only 10 metres away from the sea. The hotel has its own section of beach which has sunbeds, umbrellas and tables which are free to use. Breakfast was a buffet style with a good selection. The only minor negative comment is the coffee left a lot to be desired...The hotel is quite a way out of Split city centre in a place called Podstana, therefore you would need to get a bus or taxi into town. The bus stop is about 100 metres from the hotel. I would reccommend getting the Dalmationac minibus as it is had aircon and the radio is playing! It stops at the same stop as the bus...There is very little in the way of things to do or see in Podstrana so if you are looking for a lively time you would definately need to go into Split. I would reccommend getting the ferry from Split to Brac Island. We also got the bus the Omis which is very pretty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunce

Address: Grljevacka 146 | Podstrana, Split, Podstrana 21312, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunce 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sunce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunce Croatia/Podstrana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.