We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always comforting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Meldrum Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meldrum Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Meldrum Bay Inn
Save
You added The Meldrum Bay Inn to your Saves list
25959 Hwy 540, Meldrum Bay, Ontario P0P 1R0 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Meldrum Bay B&B and Inns
Elliot Lake, Canada
2 reviews
“always comforting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

enjoy meldrum bay inn, my husband and i have been going to meldrum bay for over thirty years.
we had als parents anniversary here , with family .
this year we were there for a wedding on the island in meldrum bay the van every farm elizabeth vanevery married ory menzies, amazing wedding the island people helped in every way. and of course wouldnt have missed the oppurtunity to spend time at the inn.
so much to do, for i bike to the light house about 16 klms one way then swim in the water , spend time identifying the wild flowers along the road side, took pictures of the deer in the feilds , now kayaking is my new challenge,take time to enjoy this area , you will want to come back time after time this completes my year.the camerons

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My humblest apologies for not reviewing last year after our visit; and it was so memorable! My husband took me here for my birthday and we absolutely loved it. The staff were warm and inviting and made us feel like we were VIPs.
I usually ask for dressing on the side for my salads but the owner assured me the dressing would be light and wouldn't overwhelm, She was so right; the caesar salad was one of the best I've ever had.
We both had the whitefish; OMG, it was out of this world. A huge fillet, very lightly pan-fried, I ate the whole thing.
We shared a dessert; cheesecake with a home made fruit and liqueur topping.
Thank you so much for an incredible meal and we'd love to visit again.
We did not stay overnight (we had a cottage nearby) so can't comment on the rooms.

Room Tip: Try the whitefish and the dessert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirin G, Owner at The Meldrum Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your special day with us. We wish you great years ahead. Happy Birthday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My travel companion and I spent a wonderful night at this fine old Victorian Inn in Meldrum Bay. Our Host greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room. The room is decorated in the very old style. It is a spotlessly clean hotel and the room was very comfortable. The bathrooms are "down the hall" and there are two of them. Very clean and modern. The food was a wonderful experience. One of the best meals we have ever had and the very best on the Island for sure. The choice of wine was also excellent. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirin G, Owner at The Meldrum Bay Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Jim, We have been blessed having wonderful guest like you. We truly enjoyed your company and look forward having more chances to be your host. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Regards, Shirin & Bob Grover
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynden
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at the Inn for a couple of days. The whole atmosphere is completely relaxing and unique. The room was very comfortable and the decor was perfect. We dined at the Inn both evenings and had fantastic meals all served and prepared by our wonderful hosts, Shirin and Bob. The breakfast Shirin served us each morning was plentiful and the fresh fruit bowl was delicious! I would highly recommend staying here as a perfect place to unwind and in my case reconect with my spouse leaving the hectic world behind.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #1 which looked out over the water and the upper deck which was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirin G, Owner at The Meldrum Bay Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Brenda,
It was a great joy being your host. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days there and just returned home today. We were warmly welcomed at the door by the owner Shirin. It was the most relaxing and enjoyable stay we have had in a long time. This place is cozy and spotlessly clean. The beds were perfect in comfort. The food was outstanding in taste, quantity and presentation. Sitting on the porch with a glass of wine and looking out over the North Channel and Meldrum Bay will be an expeirence you will not forget. Shirin and her husband Bob are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirin G, Owner at The Meldrum Bay Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It was a great pleasure being your host and we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My fiancée had a simply wonderful stay here, the place is flawless and tastefully decorated with antiques the inn keepers have locally sourced as well as from all over the world.

The room was very comfortable, and spacious. The renovations the owners have made were well executed with thoughtful upgrades. Make it a point to check out the marina building as well.

The poppy seed bread is great for breakfast, but the whitefish for dinner is not to be missed. Don’t stay indoors the whole time; the inn is situated in a very beautiful corner of the world.

Room Tip: Just say you saw the reviews on Trip Advisor ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I had a lovely weekend here. We enjoyed the outdoors and had a great time hiking and biking (we didn't expect to have such lovely weather so the hosts were kind enough to lend us their bicycles). It's a great place to get away from it all, while still having the comforts of home. The hosts were very welcoming, the food was excellent and the views were spectacular. We will be recommending this spot and will be returning every year for sure. Thank you Shirin and Bob.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Meldrum Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meldrum Bay Inn

Address: 25959 Hwy 540, Meldrum Bay, Ontario P0P 1R0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Meldrum Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Meldrum Bay
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Meldrum Bay Inn was build in 1870's and is located on the most western tip of Manitoulin Island it offers you all the amenities while you can step back in time & enjoy the wonder of nature. We offer a fully-licensed dining room, parlor and verandah where you can share the ambience of a tiny maritime hamlet with our resident hummingbirds. Enjoy fine dining and a panoramic bay view This historic Inn build in 1870's is located on the most western tip of Manitoulin Island and offers you all the amenities while you step back in time & enjoy the wonder of nature. We offer fully-licensed dining room, parlor and verandah where you can share the ambience of a tiny maritime hamlet and panoramic view of North Channel with our resident hummingbirds. Visit us at the end of the rainbow in one of those rare and beautiful Ontario Villages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Meldrum Bay Inn Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Meldrum Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.