We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pounda Paou

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paou
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pounda Paou
Save
You added Pounda Paou to your Saves list
Paou Argalasti | P.O Box 5050, Paou 37006, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Paou B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quirky and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We loved our 2 weeks on the Pelion Peninsula staying at Pounda Paou. We do not usually buy package holidays and for this reason will probably not return due to our own reservations and prejudices about this kind of holiday being confirmed. However, all that apart, this hotel has a glorious setting and our room was perfectly adequate (room 11). We did not use the a/c much at all - had lots of air and light in our room. The service was very good, and friendly, and the food perfectly adequate. There is a feeling here that the hotel are happy for people to explore and do what they will (within reason of course) in the grounds and hotel; it is easy to relax and feel at home. We met some lovely people whilst there too.
On the downside - There is a dire lack of information in all areas at the hotel - eg, no info about the local area, no info about the hotel menus so very difficult to plan where to eat.
Not all the rooms are so open and light and others struggled to feel cool and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The best thing about Pounda Paou is the amazing views - but that said it is a really relaxing place to stay, so lots of time to admire the views.
We stayed for a week, having transferred from a week at Agios Ioannis. It was a great contrast - the mountains and beaches further north were superb - it took a little while to get used to the gentler scenery of the Gulf. We drove a lot - down to the end of the Pelion and Trikeri Island - and along the Aegean coast with its waves and turquoise sea. We didn't have a boat - and didn't miss it.
We mainly ate out in the evening - eating in was excellent but expensive. This is a place that has a lot of "returners" and we felt the atmosphere was a bit exclusive compared with our first week. We don't speak Greek and found explaining some things to the staff was occasionally difficult. However it has the most beautiful view we have seen anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: The best room is No 1 - good bathroom - double basin + bath/shower - really big terrace with amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Everything about this holiday was perfect. The hotel is situated on a cliff overlooking the sea and mountains. The pool was devine with the most spectacular views.

The home cooking was very authentic with plenty of variety.

If you are looking for an exclusive and very romantic holiday, away from the more typical tourist resorts in Greece, I strongly suggest this place. If you are looking for a lively holiday with plenty of bars and restuarants then you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had never been to this part of Greece before and we decided to have a week and then go on to Skiathos. The Pounda Paou is in the most beautiful setting you could imagine. The home cooking was amazing and the other couples were great fun to be with (no kids, wonderful) all different ages and backgrounds. We had such a good time. The boat is worth hiring even if you've never done it before. Its good to have a car some of the time and then the boat or both .You get lessons and if we could manage it then anyone can. The rooms are basic and we are used to going 5 star everywhere but somehow it just didn't matter because everything else was so fantastic. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We have just returned from a two week holiday. We've stayed in various places in the Pelion over the past seven years, but this was the best in terms of location and vista. The Pagasitic Gulf is truly breath taking, especially at sunset. The owners are very friendly and we loved Harry the dog. The dining area is beautiful with bougainvillea, cacti and grape vines. Ok the bathrooms are small and typically Greek, but you don't come out here for 5 star luxury. If your idea of a perfect hol is unspoilt Greece, staying with friendly guests, experiencing the outdoors, nature and outdoor living and dining then this is the hol for you. You are paying for the location, exclusivity and ambience not for a consierge desk. You have an infinity pool and plenty of sun loungers and hammocks, garden swings, chairs etc hidden away in alcoves. You can go and have a nosy around the owner's veggie patch and see what they are growing. There is a plentiful library of books to borrow.

In terms of what to do, you will be spoilt. We rented a boat for the day and moored up at Milina. The sunsets are fabulous and lunches slow and leisurely. You can poodle around a couple of small islands and coves. There are loads of unspoilt beaches, you can have them to yourself. Ok so they are pebbly (bar Mikro beach), but the sea is beautiful and clear. We recommend Potistika beach which has a fantastic restaurant called Climax (sounds a bit Eurotrash but the food is tasty - French influence and makes a change from Greek food). Marathias beach is also v good for swimming.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Just come back from a two week holiday to remember at Pounda Paou. The hotel was great, the staff went out of their way to be helpful. The food was excellent and our particular dietary requirements were well catered for. Our rooms (we had two) were very clean, room 7 was a little small but the views were breathtaking, room 6 was very spacious and surrounded by lush green tree's and plants.

The gardens were beautiful, the pool and the sun deck were great.

It is a good idea to get a car and a boat to explore the surrounding villages and for eatin g out. To ensure we were able to use the boat safety we all had a lesson and made familiar with the safety equipment, the boatman was fantastic and made 'departing and mooring up' very easy.

This hotel is highly recommended. BBQ a must!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This really is a fantastic place, the views are unbelivable. We found the staff very approachable, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms (we stayed in two) were very clean, one had awesome views, the other was larger and surounded by lush green tree's and beautiful plants and flowers. A car is a good idea if you want to eat out at night, a boat is also a must. We had a lot of fun with the boat, which was helped by the training session we received and the guidance of an excellent young man who ensured we all 'took off' and landed safely. If you do eat in the food is fantastic and they were more than accomodating to our dietery requirements. I would recommend the BBQ night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pounda Paou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounda Paou

Address: Paou Argalasti | P.O Box 5050, Paou 37006, Greece
Location: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Paou
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paou
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Pounda Paou Hotel Paou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pounda Paou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.