We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kostas I

Kostas I
707 La Ronge Ave, La Ronge, Saskatchewan S0J 1L0, Canada
306.425.2322
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in La Ronge
Restaurant details
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great view and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This restaurant has an exceptional view of the lake. The menu is broad and has something for everyone. They have some specialties with local fish that looked great but I was eating light. The food was tasty and plentiful with good portions You're in a small town so the nice restaurant isn't going to be decorated like a New York bistro. Prices were decent. The covered, screened outdoor patio looked like a great place for a cold beer on a summer evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wallaceburg, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Finally a good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went here with another couple. We had the bacon double cheeseburger pizza. My only complaint was that they cut the pizza funny. Thanks other couple had burgers and seemed to enjoy them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“tries to be "fancy" and fails”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Kosta's is one of the older restaurants in the town and it is very old and worn out. Kosta's is the "fancy" restaurant in town but the food is all of the frozen / deep friend variety. The view of the lake is nice but the service is lacking, the food is boring and I worry about what goes on in the kitchen.

Not many other options in the town is the only reason this place has survived.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very poor< go to eddies accross the street.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

terrible terrible service, 2 hr plus wait most nights for your food, food is ok, but not worth the wait. staff takes lots of smoke breaks, drinking on the job is the normal there, shots with patrons was observed.. laughing and joking around... no food, no drinks, terrible terrible, i do lots of businees around laronge, will never go back to kostas,,

eddies accross the street has never let me down... very surprising once you get in there, nice place good food and service..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Get me to the Greek!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Good Greek food and very pleasant and efficient service. Strongly recommend this for the traveller. Wonderful lake view from some tables.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kostas I also viewed

La Ronge, Saskatchewan
La Ronge, Saskatchewan
 
La Ronge, Saskatchewan
La Ronge, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Kostas I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kostas I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.