We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort in a historic location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Resina 296, 80056 Ercolano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Ercolano
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great comfort in a historic location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for ten days in June, and enjoyed it very much. The hotel occupies the Villa Aprile, one of the great eighteenth century villas built along the coast below Mount Vesuvius. It is set in some ten acres of grounds, mostly laid out in a formal fashion and with a large swimming pool. We had a luxury-grade room on the third floor, overlooking the park, and found it spacious, comfortable and attractive. This being June, there were a number of weddings and First Communion parties, but these did not disturb us. The food, of a hotel style, was very enjoyable, though the service was erratic.

The hotel is less than five minutes' walk from the ruins, which allowed us to make several visits; follow-up visits in the late afternoon are particularly enjoyable because there are so few people around. The Royal Palace of Portici is just 15 minutes' walk away, and there are a number of other eighteenth-century villas nearby (Campolieto should be visited). Pompeii is easily reached by train, though Ercolano station is a 10-minute uphill walk. Ercolano, and the whole area, is poor and dirty, but at no time did we feel it unsafe and it is full of life.

Room Tip: The luxury grade is very good value. Park view is best, preferably from an upper floor (we were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    71
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
49
76
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Touffailles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 days in May .Had the most amazing room ,the biggest that I have ever stayed in with wonderful views over the back terrace and garden .
Very friendly ,helpful staff who could not do enough for us . Several very good restaurants within walking distance ,train 10 mins walk away so very convenient for site seeing. Although in a busy district ,it is safe and quiet with secure parking .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel for a great price. The rooms and bathroom are large and comfortable. The view was very pleasant...our room over looked orchards. This is a wonderful romantic get away or even just a lovely place to be pampered. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I intend to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed just the one night to visit the ruins but now wish we had stayed longer. We stayed in room 206 on the first floor. A huge, oval room about 8x5m, tastefully furnished in black, white and grey and with the bed set 1.5m from the end of the oval, with a massive bed head that was also a screen to hide the clothes hanging space and suitcase storage, so that it was possible to keep the room looking elegant for the whole of our stay rather than the tip it usually becomes. We loved our first taste of film star living. But there is more - the bathroom is equally amazing. About 5x3m, white marble everywhere, a huge two person shower, and with a balcony overlooking the park.

Inevitably this built up our expectations. Breakfast was OK, but not wonderful - it had the usual wide range of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, cold meat, fruit juice, breads, tea and coffee, BUT the coffee was the worst I tasted in Italy (felt like it had stewed all night), and the fruit was canned peaches and pineapple, which was a bit of a let down.

Lots of spacious public rooms with comfortable seating and good Wi-Fi signal strength but only near to the reception desk.

Out the front door, turn right, and the entrance to the Herculaneum ruins is about 200m along on the left hand side. The hotel's park is also well worth exploring.

TIP if you are arriving by car go to the front door first, unload your suitcases, then drive around to the back of the hotel to the car park entrance whose gate is opened remotely from reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a park view, best of all ask for room 206.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you decide to stay in Ercolano to visit Herculaneum (or for any other reason) I doubt you could find a better place to stay in this city. For starters, it is located about a 5 - 10 minute walk from the site entrance - albeit a walk through a pretty dodgy area of town. It is also about a 15 - 20 minute walk from the train station (mostly downhill) which means the return trip is a bit of a challenge especially if you are pulling suitcases. Taxis are available.

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and were quite pleased. Professional front desk staff, a room that was large and clean and had great views and a buffet breakfast that was excellent. The hotel also has extensive grounds that provide a tranquil environment for walking or sitting.

The place is showing its age however, and a broken shower fixture and a slow drain detracted from the otherwise impressive bathroom. A further annoyance was the lack of wi-fi in the room. There is a good signal in the lobby, but a four star hotel should have wireless connectivity throughout.

We did not venture out too far in the evenings but there are a number of delis/takeouts close by to choose from and the hotel has its own in-house restaurant.

Herculaneum really made the trip to Ercolano a worthwhile experience and we have no hesitation recommending this hotel should you choose to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The only reason to stay in Ercolano is to visit the ruins at Herculaneum. Even then, you can stay in Naples and come out here on public transportation or taxi for a day trip to the ruins. Ercolano itself is an unattractive, run down neighborhood on the outskirts of Naples.

The hotel itself used to be a palazzo and it is a popular location for weddings. The rooms are clean and quiet, but a bit antiqueated, and have improbably high ceilings with garish chandeliers. We slept well and were appropriately taken care of, but, if you have a choice, stay in Naples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is definitely nice but it's in a bit of an interesting neighborhood and it's also quite a hike from the train station (much further than they make it seem on the website.) I would definitely not recommend staying here if you are taking the train unless you don't mind walking - it just wasn't that fun with a 50lb suitcase and 20lb backpack. From the train station down to the hotel is ok since it's all downhill but we decided to take a taxi from the hotel back up to the train station b/c it's about a 10 minute walk and the hill is pretty steep (it was 6 euros each to take the taxi but totally worth it to me.) If you have a car obviously this isn't an issue. Just something to consider if you don't. The hotel is right down the street from Herculaneum which is a definite must see!

One other thing about the hotel was that they only have wifi in the lobby and we couldn't even get on it. I don't understand why hotels don't offer wifi in the rooms... it's so annoying to me. A pretty common occurrence in Italy it seems but something to note in case this is important to you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel

Address: Corso Resina 296, 80056 Ercolano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Ercolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miglio d Oro Park Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.