We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for visiting Pompei and Herculaneum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Golden Mile

Save Saved
You added B&B Golden Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 3 more sites!
B&B Golden Mile
Corso Resina 245, Ercolano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Ercolano B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location for visiting Pompei and Herculaneum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The highlights of the Golden Mile are the staff and the location. The owner Dario gave us a warm welcome and Gianluigi provided excellent service and information. The Herculaneum was a short walk and most interesting. The breakfast was basic. Some bread would have been good. The room was of good size and clean. The restaurant across the road (the name escapes us, was wonderful)
The Golden Mile was great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
17
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed with friends in this B&B over the weekend. Accomodation was very nice, rooms and bathroom clean and comfortable. The B&B is located in a neighbourhood that some might consider a bit run-down but we personally did not encounter any problems.
My only complaint is that we had a discussion with Bianca (the owner/manager) regarding use of the kitchen. We were given keys to the kitchen, along with the room and the entrance and while not specifically told we were free to use the kitchen, we assumed it would not be a problem, since we had the keys.
So we made a coffee and washed up after ourselves when we came back one evening, but Bianca must have seen us or found something we had missed and was extremely rude in pointing out we should have asked before using the kitchen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bianca B, Direttore generale at B&B Golden Mile, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Education and respect these are the strange rules of our b & b
Cosiderando that we were all very helpful with you, and that the basis of a civil society and respect reign educations we do not believe we have strange rules ...
In addition there has been a key for the kitchen, but you have forced the door and you're entering, the same have tried to do in another room where another of our guest staying and we did this you have also tried to force the door of the his room.
Access to and use of the kitchen is allowed only after an explicit request and still use the kitchen does not mean emptying our pantry, what you have done ... our guests who want us to use the kitchen make their spending and use the kitchen ...
You do not just prepared a coffee, but ate biscuits, snacks, chocolate, took bottles of water and orange juice ..... I would say that the b & b provides a place to sleep and breakfast not empty the pantry!
That said I hope for you that started to respect the rules of a civilized society and started to be polite and respectful ... if you find a closed door does not mean you have to force it and apriela but that access is FORBIDDEN! Anyway, in someone else's house asking permission for what is not explicitly written.
VIVA LE STRANGE RULES OF EDUCATION AND RESPECT!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

5 mins walk from the historic site of Herculaneum (Ercolano Scavi) near Naples.
Large room, simple but stylish. Comfortable bed. All areas very clean. Free secure WIFI. Tiled floors. A/C. Separate private shower room opposite the bedroom with toiletries, towels and hairdryer provided. Signora Bianca made us very welcome and she is very friendly and chatty. Her directions were excellent and she met us there. She provided a very good Neapolitan breakfast (and English tea!) at the time we wanted (10am) and offered us the use of the kitchen if required. She suggested the excellent restaurant opposite the B&B "tubba catubba". Private secure parking just around the corner. A lovely terrace, secure and enclosed, locked gates, safe for children. Steps maybe a problem for people with walking difficulties. Grazie Bianca!

Room Tip: Just tell Bianca what you need and she will be happy to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

For some reason, our reservation with Hostelworld did not reach the B&B but fortunately there were no other guests so there was no problem accommodating us. Our room was large, nicely furnished, very clean, with a comfortable bed and good-sized ensuite bathroom with shower. There is air-conditioning and, apparently, free WiFi though we did not use it. There is also private parking in a lockable garage. The B&B is a short walk from the Herculaneum site. Three negatives: first, the B&B is on the main road and though our room was set back from the road we still found it quite noisy, especially in the morning. Second, Ercolano itself is quite run-down and unattractive. Third, we were disappointed by the breakfast - we had to make our own coffee with a capsule machine (no capuccino) and there was not much choice (though this may have been because we had arrived unexpectedly and were the only guests). For the price I would say the B&B was good value, but if we were doing this again we would stay in a nicer area and go to Herculaneum by train.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This B&B is perfectly located between Naples & Pompeii and was very good: clean, quiet, close to restaurants and the owner Bianca was very sympathetic. She was giving us advices regarding our trip every day and tips to avoid losing time and/or money.
Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Emerald Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This B&B is really great. My room was very big, very clean, very stylish with everything in red (curtains, bed sheets, pillows) and red towels in the bathroom as well. The bathroom is in the hallway but not a problem and also very clean. Good shower with good pressure. Bianca, who runs the B&B is very nice. We stayed in touch per text message for my arrival and she let me in when I got there.
Breakfast was on the terrace with delicious Italian - and I was told especially Nepalese :) - coffee, a hot croissant filled with custard and jam, the Italian packed chocolate waffles and some other packed sweet cake things. There was also toast, jam, Nutella and ham. The bread wasn't toasted so you'd have to ask. There was also a microwave for use. I felt very comfortable and it was so relaxing having breakfast outside with the blue sky above me.

The B&B is a 10 min walk from the station. You just walk straight out of the station (Ercolano Scavi) and down the road until you see the entrance to the "Herculaneum" ruins. (It doesn't go any further anyway.) Then turn left, walk another 5 min, pass a big pink hotel on the left (something ... D'Oro) and the Golden Mile B&B is across the road on the right hand corner. Its vicinity to the ruins is the reason I picked it and it was very convenient.
Thanks a lot Bianca and I hope a lot more people will come and stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Oberosterreich, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

this recently opened B&B is very cosy and clean. the owners are friendly and helpful, always prepared to give useful tips about where to go, what to do. additionally, they offer unusal services like using the fridge, printing timetables for the train, etc.
Parking spaces are available in a private yard which is locked during the night, free wifi is provided.

it is located close to the circumvesuviana train (about 10 minutes' walk) which takes you to all the important sights and cities in this area (e.g. naples, pompei, sorrento). The historic site 'ercolano' is just a 10-minute-walk away from the B&B. The vesuv can be reached by car within around 20 minutes, there are also buses. you can see the sea from the terrace, however, there is no direct access to the sea (which is not too bad as bathing in that area close to naples is not advisable anyway).

the breakfast is very rich and traditionally Italian with ham and cheese, jam, chocolate cream, cake, coffee, tea, juice. The rooms are cleaned daily and they are all in good condition. All of them are equipped with an air-condition.

I can recommend this B&B, it offers best value for money!

the rooms in the hotel are very clean

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Golden Mile

Address: Corso Resina 245, Ercolano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ercolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Mile Bed & Breakfast is a brand new property located on the slopes of Vesuvius a few meters from the ruins of Herculaneum and Vesuvius Villas Magnificent in the way of the Golden Mile .... For an unbeatable stay, where rest is found with the art, history and beauty of nature and beautiful places full of meaning ... Come and visit us, you'll be amazed at everything that surrounds you!Golden Mile Bed & Breakfast has 3 bright and spacious rooms with double bed, furnished in contemporary style, with a meticulous attention to details, accessories and colors in a blend that creates a warm and comfortable. All rooms have private bathroom.The Golden Mile is located in the city center, in the Golden Mile, home to the most important Vesuvian Villas like Villa Campolieto, Maiuri Villa, The Park of the Golden Mile, the Favorita Park and the pier Bourbon.Excavations are 150 meters from our hotel and the Circumvesuviana train to get there in 5 minutes.The Golden Mile is the area's cultural hub of the City and to its central position allows for the most important beauty at hand…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your B&B Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Golden Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.