We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of luxury in Ercolano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Villa Signorini

Save Saved
You added Relais Villa Signorini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais Villa Signorini
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 41-45, 80056 Ercolano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ercolano
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A bit of luxury in Ercolano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Villa Signorini offers luxury near to the ancient remains of Herculaneum.

Herculaneum is about 1 km away (~15 minutes walk) and Pompeii and Naples are both within 20 minutes drive. Vesuvius is also quite close, but don't let the threat of it erupting put you off.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was good.
The hotel has secure car parking.

Room Tip: We got an upgrade, so difficult to comment on the other rooms. The suites near reception are excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    35
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
42
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent a night at the Villa.
It was very good. Good food, although we arrived a bit late by UK standards.
A free upgrade to an excellent room.
Really nice garden which comes as a surprise in a tight packed urban space
15 mins walk to the remains. Bit hard to find, but highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Villa Signorini has a 19th century glamour. We were received by the staff very warmly and they went out of the way to help us even giving us a lift to the station. The Villa has amazing gardens and our room was spacious, clean and quiet. We highly recommend if you will stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this villa for only 4nights out of the seven that we had booked. For a wedding this villa is ideal. However not good for a holiday maker. The villas is about 20 mins from the railway station,not 10 mins as stated. The location is not great for those wishing to tour.There is not much to do in the area. The staff were friendly but it was obvious that the villas is geared up to weddings as we infact were kept awake by one which finished about 2am. The bar didnot have beer or wine and we had to ask for milk for cereal in the mornings. Saying that, by our last night we did have milk! Hope this is still occurring for those new guests. No swimmimg pool. Just a conference room and spectacular gardens. Did hear the peacocks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near to the reception or you will hear the telephone ringing all night. Make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Villa Signorini. I was worried when we first got there. The place had a run down feel that was foreign to me. Needed weeding on the grounds, places needed painting here an there, what painting had been done was sloppy. We were shown to a room that was actually in the garden among the lemon and grapefruit trees and not the hotel. The room was nice, clean, roomy for Europe I'm told, but we needed 2 beds not one and I had requested that. That wasn't what was ready. With that negative start everything changed. They apologized and got one ready for us immediately. The villa carried it's old elegance with the mantle of a grand dame. The grounds were comfortable in that early spring kind of way. They will be amazing in another month.

What really made this trip was how kind and even solicitice the staff were, they did everything they could to make our stay as best that they could. I was impressed with that. We got back late one night and the chef made soup, special for us. Thanks to you, the staff at the Villa Signorini, you enhanced my trip immeasurably.

It is within walking distance of Herculaneum excavations and the Circumvesuviana train depot, (short ride to Pompeii, or Naples) making getting to other places easy even without a car, yet you can stay out of the bustle of the bigger city.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed for seven nights in the Villa Signorini and recommend the hotel. We did not stay in the main building (the palais), but in one of the smaller buildings located in the garden where there are a number of lemon and grapefruit trees, which were full of flowers and fruits. Very nice for a small walk after dinner and from the terrace you can even get a glimpse of the sea.
The breakfast and dinner are good, but take a little getting used to - main minus from the stay is that the TV in the breakfast / dinner room was nearly always switched on, which is a bit weird for an otherwise very nice restaurant with silverware and nice tablecloth. But my spaghetti with clams and prawns were so delicious that I did not really notice the gameshow in the background. The wine list is not too large, but nice wines for very reasonable prices.
The room was clean and quiet - the only noise came from the peacocks kept in a (for our feeling way too small) cage in the garden.
The people at the reception were very helpful and friendly with giving us tips and directions for our sightseeing program and for the bigger part did speak English.
A plus is that the archeological site of Ercolano is within walking distance. The public transport to Naples and Pompei (Circumvesuvio) is within 15 minutes walk - we had a car, which was nice for transporting our luggage, as with a number of large bags the walk would have been challenging. The general train station would be within five minutes walk - but it is difficult to buy a ticket as the ticket counter seems to be permantently closed.
In summary we can recommend the Villa Signorini and would book it again if we get the chance to visit the area one more time. There would still be a lot of sights to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at villa signorini, not in the main building but in a side house. The room was nice. The hotel building and gardens are beautiful, with caged peacocks! The staff was extremely nice and helpfull! The area surrounding the hotel however, is pretty run down. The reception closes at 10pm, so eating out is difficult. There aren't that many places to eat nearby anyways. Getting to the historical sights is easy as the circumvesuviana (station via della liberta) is 10min away by foot. This should be your reason to pick this hotel if you're not hosting a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Villa Signorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Signorini

Address: Via Roma, 41-45, 80056 Ercolano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ercolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Signorini 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the magical scenery, including the wonderful Royal Palace of Portici, the 'Villa of the Papyri arcane and the sea, rises Villa Signorini, a real gem of eighteenth-century architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Relais Villa Signorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Villa Signorini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.