We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of I Papiri

Save Saved
You added I Papiri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
I Papiri
Corso Resina 81, 80056 Ercolano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Ercolano B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Modest but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed only one night. Ercolano is a place to visit only for the excavation of Herculaneum. However I Papiri is a haven compared to the modern city. A nice terrace where you can relax with a bottle of wine. The room is big, but the bathroom is small, but just adequate. The landowner offered to drive us to the train station when we where leaving. An offer we happily accepted.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
22
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Once you get inside the lovely old doorway, you are in a beautiful old building but with a clean and modern finish inside. The owners were very friendly, even though we did not speak Italian, and they even gave us a lift to the station early in the morning, as getting a taxi would be difficult. The breakfast was good by Italian standards. And the view from the terrace was breathtaking. It is within easy walking distance of the ruins of Herculaneum, the station (Circumvesuviana), the bus for Mount Vesuvius, a really good virtual museum and many restaurants. We stayed for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We would not be in a rush to return to this B&B, despite a good central location close to train stations and the Scavi at Ercolano. The breakfast was a let-down, done on a tight budget with no fresh bread or worse still bad coffee. Having lived in Italy I am well used to Italian breakfasts and like them but this was of poor quality. We had to leave at 7.30am on the last day and there was no offer of breakfast, not that were sorry to miss it but the offer would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I Papiri is run by Leo and his wife. They make an excellent effort to help and service you. Though their English is rather poor, we got along quite well and they were always willing to advise.

The Village of Ercolano is like most southern Italian villages: the very good opportunities to create a little paradise are suppressed by the daily economic needs and of course the typical noise and dirt. Once used to that we even got to like Ercolano. And every doubt disappears when you have entered Scavi Herculaneum: what an experience of life 2.000 years ago.

By train or metro you can easily reach Napoli, Sorrento and many other destinations in the beautiful area around the Vesuvius. From metro-station Ercolano Scavi there are several daily tours to the Vesuvius 'cono'. From the top you have a beautiful sight on Golfo di Napoli and Pompeii.

There's a friendly rent a car lady somewhere close to Villa Favorita. She gives you discount when asked for. Don't expect the latest Alfa Romeo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We only stayed one night at this hotel as it was a whistle-stop tour of Ercolano (the ruined part :).
We arrived at the big green door but no one answered the bell but after a couple of phone calls a very friendly lady appeared and let us in. She was very welcoming and bade us onto the balcony for refreshments which was very nice.
The room is very basic but clean with free wifi. The bathroom looked like it had been renovated very recently.
We were leaving very early the next morning (7:15) and the lovely lady got up early to make us breakfast which was much appreciated.
Would recommend this hotel for friendly service and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

This is a difficult property to review.

There's an initial shock when the taxi drops you in front of a huge green door in a pretty run down neighbourhood. Going into and up the first two flights of steps doesn't relieve this, but once through the front door, recent renovations reveal a depth of old world charm within.

The proprietor greeted us warmly and generously changed the room we had initially booked when he saw that one of us was struggling with stairs. We were invited out onto the rear deck looking out to the Island of Capris and offered orange juice and despite the language difficulties we began to feel at home.

Our bedroom was huge and featured several large, ornate pieces of walnut furniture. The bathroom was very compact, with a very thick, heavy door, suggesting it used to be a strongroom in a warehouse. There was a new digital TV but despite the abundance of channels, none were English language. A day into our stay we discovered by accident that the property does have free wifi - this allowed us to listen to English language newscasts on the internet using our iPhone.

Strangely, there were no drinking glasses in the room, but we had retained the disposable plastic cups from our welcome juices, so we used these. They were not replaced during the first three days and disappeared after our second last night.

Breakfasts were somewhat disconcerting. Disposable plastic cups and plates prevailed, although tea/coffee were provided in china versions. Each guest was served with a fresh, sweet croissant or cake, and additional food was available on a nearby table. Much of it comprised additional pre-packaged pastries and sweet biscuits, as if just brought in from the supermarket. Water was self-serve from a large plastic bottle that lasted us three days. There was also packaged yoghurt most days, plus cereal, although the cornflakes ran out and weren't replaced until two days later when more guests arrived. This continental breakfast was adequate, but was suited more to sweet palettes. Overseeing the breakfast table was another walnut cupboard full of china cups and saucers and real glasses. At our final breakfast on Day Five, several bottles of wine had been placed in it, presumably for sale? There was a hint of Fawlty Towers here, without the humour.

The property is well placed for visiting arcaeological sites. Ercolano (Herculaneum) is just ten minutes walk away, while 15 - 20 minutes will see you at Ercolano Scavi railway station that provides very easy rail access to Pompeii and bus access to Vesuvius, as well as rail access to Sorrento.

We did sleep comfortably and managed the compact bathroom OK but overall we didn't feel at ease in this property. We're not sure why, because we have previously enjoyed similar older properties elsewhere in the Mediterranean where there was no English spoken at all. We would hesitate to stay here again, not because there was anything substantially wrong, but because of our unease with the general environment.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I Papiri is an excellent find for staying in Ercolano/Portici or traveling around the Napoli area. It's a straightforward and easy 15-20 minute walk from the Ercolano Scavi stop on the Circumvesuviana. The B&B is on the floor above street level of an older building (probably a villa at some point in its life). It is newly and very nicely done—very clean. We had the O Solo Mio apartment, a real deal in terms of comfort--full kitchen and dining area. We spent much of our time on the big terrace in the back that has a beautiful view out to Capri and the Sorrento Peninsula.

I Papiri is literally 2 blocks from the entrance to the Ercolano archeological site and 8 blocks from Villa Campolieato (go there--I kept saying wow several times when I walked out on the terrace). About 4 blocks from the University--ultra convenient for working there.

The immediate neighborhood (2-3 blocks in either direction has several Salumeria (small grocery stores) and a wood-fired take out pizza place—but little in terms of restaurants (although Boco…(can’t remember exact name) on Corso Resina has excellent pizza). Walking a couple blocks down to Via IV Novembre brings you to a major shopping street with a lot more going on. Restaurant recommendation: Viva Lore. Restaurant definitely NOT recommended: the Pizzeria/Spaghetti place just up on the right from the archeological site. Café del Angolo (approx. name!) on the corner of Via IV Novembre and Corso Resina is friendly and fun. Go to MAV on Via IV Novembre—it is amazing. Walking in the other direction about 8-10 blocks brings you to a main piazza in Portici. Gallo gelateria is superb.

I Papiri is an excellent place to stay in a real Italian neighborhood. The proprietor Leo and the staff were very friendly and helpful. So much nicer than staying in a hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to I Papiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Papiri

Address: Corso Resina 81, 80056 Ercolano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ercolano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Papyri, Herculaneum property located in the center, overlooking the famous Golden Mile,100 meters from the archaeological site of Herculaneum and the Royal Palace of Portici. There are three types of stays: Bed & Breakfast, Bed and ApartHohel-Residence. The property is located on the first floor of a century, with a lift and private parking. It consists of rooms, suites and apartments with private facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your I Papiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Papiri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.